We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Characterful, quality hotel.”
Review of Hotel La Matelote

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel La Matelote
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Boulogne-sur-Mer
Reading, UK
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Characterful, quality hotel.”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I enjoyed my stay in La Matelote. I was there for 4 days right at the beginning of August 2012. I appreciated being able to rent a parking garage and the great humour and friendly attitude of the vast majority of the staff.

Mais, Tony, votre personne qui travail sur reception dans le matin est pas un bonne ambassadeur pour chez vous. C'est dommage - tout les autre personnes sont fantastique.

I happily recommend this hotel. Sure there are cheaper hotels in Boulogne - but the quality in La Matelot really shines through. Clean rooms, high quality bedding and the great staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank talibragg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    160
    80
    23
    16
See reviews for
57
242
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
755 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

There should be two different reviews,one for the hotel one for the restaurant,with the hotel rating only average and the restaurant top rating.
Starting with the hotel we were originally assigned a ground floor "Superior" room with the view on a wall.
Second try was with the sea view but the room reaked smoke as apparently the hotel allows smoking virtually everewhere.
Finally ended up with a top floor non smoking room with sea view but had to pay an extra charge.
The interior lay out of the hotel resembles a labyrinth and the elevator did not reach our floor
Wifi was OK
On the other hand the restaurant was excelent,though expensive.the white Sancerre wine was outstanding and fairly priced.lots of amuse gueules along the way.
Service appears to be in slow motion,may be deliberately so to give you time to savor the meal.
They overdid it though.

Room Tip: If you want a non smoking room,make sure you request it,same for the view towards the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MILOUW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashtead
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed at the La Matelote Hotel in Boulogne a couple of days ago. We found it expensive for what it was 195 euros for what they described as as Prestige Room without breakfast, The room was not large and the balcony was only one chair width. I t is overlooking the sea but the noisy Naussica centre is in the way, half an hours walk to the old town which apart from the beach is the only part of Boulogne worth seeing. The pool in the hotel is small on the first floor and the lift only goes to the first floor for a large part of the hotel so if as we were you are on the third floor it is a long walk. No porter on this 4 star hotel. Nothing was really bad but for the price it was disappointing

Room Tip: Very noisy overlooking the sea as motorbikes go up and down all night
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We visited for a night with 2 children, the room was lovely and spacious, even with 2 fold up beds in, staff very polite, and reasonable priced for the quality. Can't wait to go back. Also the restaurant was wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isismcbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
346 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

The rooms are nice and we really appreciated that parking was made available, though if you arrive after 18:00 and only intend to stay the night you can actually park outside for free.

The hotel is bang opposite Nausicaa and so is well located for that but far from the town centre. The staff was very helpful; the only issue is that the breakfast is quite basic for the cost. We liked the unusual home made marmelades and jams but to be frank you get a better buffet at Ibis hotels for far cheaper.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OYP-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Been here several times, always found it immaculate and efficient, not cheap but the quality is worth every penny. Great for a winter break as the spa area is equipped with sun beds to lay back in the heat and dream of Summer.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billcro90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We enjoyed a wonderful night at La Matelote. The premiere room we stayed in overlooked the beach and was nicely appointed. At 190 Euros it should be!
My wife and I enjoyed a happy evening in Tony Lestiennes's restaurant with a bill of around 300 Euro with wine. The London restaurants with a Michelin star are more expensive but this is Boulogne! (My wife an I enjoyed our stay but the service from the staff needs to be reviewed.)
Worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VincentsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boulogne-sur-Mer
0.1 mi away
Opal'Inn
Opal'Inn
#1 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
326 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ibis Boulogne sur Mer Centre Cathedrale
Ibis Boulogne sur Mer Centre Cat...
#3 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
675 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Boulogne Sur Mer Centre Les Ports
Ibis Boulogne Sur Mer Centre Les...
#4 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Atlantic
Hotel Atlantic
#1 of 5 in Wimereux
591 reviews
0.7 mi away
Les Gens de Mer
Les Gens de Mer
#7 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
159 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel de Londres
Hotel de Londres
#5 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Matelote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Matelote

Property: Hotel La Matelote
Address: 70 boulevard Sainte Beuve, 62200 Boulogne-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Boulogne-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Boulogne-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Matelote 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Côte d'Opale,La Matelote profits by this unique landscape. A few minutes from the town center and the beach. The hotel is composed of 35 air conditioned rooms, each with its own style and a secure parking. Wellness area at your disposal for a relaxing moment during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel La Matelote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Matelote Hotel
La Matelote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing