We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much better than you think!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau-Musee

Chateau-Musee
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Much better than you think!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

We first went here a couple of years ago and decided on another visit. It has lots of collections nothing grand but many are very interestingly set out and the building itself is worth walking up to and through the old town. The art is interesting (mostly for the story of the main collector & beneficiary) and there are some good abstracts as well as paintings of Boulogne. It's only €5 so good value and there is plenty of space in the building to enjoy the exhibits

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Graeme347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    70
    13
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A couple of gems in the Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Excellent Egyptian artefacts - a mummy, some tomb paintings and pottery, also interested in the Homo Erectus skull. 6 Euro is probably a little expensive.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Bizarre, but worth it for the catacombs!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

At only 3 euros a ticket you can't complain, but the exhibitions are a bit of an odd mixture of Greek, African, Egyptian, Alaskan artefacts and a few nice pieces of French art. The best bit was the underground exhibition of Roman foundations. A good thing to do to occupy an hour or so if the weather's not great.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Bigjake33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cradley Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
303 reviews
140 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
“A little known gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2011

Chateau Musee is in Boulogne Old Town Walls so if your planning on walking the walls which I recommend for great views you will come to this museum. My children especially liked walking over the bridge to access courtyard with the moat making it quite romantic.

The museum has 3 floors and a basement but 1 floor is empty. I think the staff should put a sign or barrier to stop visitors making the un necessary trip to the third floor. My children 3,7 +9 enjoyed the childrens trail looking for pots, masks, eygptian text and it filled an hour on a rainy day. Their favourite part was of course the mummy. The route is bit arkward each floor has only one entrance so you have to double back on yourself, but I found there was enough of intererst.

Its my 4th time to Boulogne and Im sure lots of people like me dont even know this place exists. Even walking past admiring the building many times I didnt know there was a museum there.

We visited on the first Sunday of the month and were delighted to find that this day is free entry, so if you can plan to go on the first Sunday of month.

The accompaning gallery was displaying artwork drawn by children and was a bit dull to be honest ( I have three budding artist in the family and have seen lots of childrens 'art') the visit concludes in a little room where tables and chairs are out with pen and paper. Great I thought I would let my children have a go at an eskimo mask , sadly the rude man said not allowed so why on earth conclude the visit in that room !

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
8 Thank DebraZebra_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chateau-Musee also viewed

Boulogne-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
Boulogne-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
 
Boulogne-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
Boulogne-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
 

Been to Chateau-Musee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing