We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brasserie or fine dining - enjoy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chez Jules

Chez Jules
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Brasserie or fine dining - enjoy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Overlooking Boulogne's market square, a spacious and impressive building, offering a Brasserie at Ground floor level with Fine dining upstairs. As a group of 6 we ate upstairs and really enjoyed our dinner. Star dishes were my simply fried and large sole and an excellent fillet steak au poivre. 3 chose to eat from one of the set menus and we drank carafe fines of good quality. Preceeded by aperitifs and followed by coffees our bill was circa 55 euros a head which we thought value for money

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank BirthdayBoy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    245
    70
    44
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
268 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“v.good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is a really good pizzeria/ brasserie well situated on the Place Dalton.

I had a crab starter and "pot au feu" as the main course ... excellent starter and even better main!

They also have a very respectable cellar; we had a lovely Montrachet.

Thriving, buzzy place with extremely attentive service and at a reasonable price.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank slimboy2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pleased yet again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We have been to Chez Jules on various occasions when visiting Boulogne and have never been dissapointed,a great atmosphere and very friendly staff , I think that we were the only English upstairs when we were there,We both opted for the 3 course set menu,my wife started with crab and I the Oysters,and for main courses the Duck and Seafood Tagliatelle,followed by a desert each then coffee a thoroughly enjoyable meal and evening,and would not hesitate to recommend Chez Jules

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chaswhig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We were recommended this restaurant by our hotel, so went in confidence for good classic brasserie food. The positive points first, good location on the main square and good service.
But the negative is the standard of the food, we chose from the 'specialities' of the restaurant, the paella and the marmite de poisson (fish stew), both were so bland that no amount of salt and pepper improved the taste, the cooking skills were just absent. Both dishes were watery and tasteless. This is where French cooking is often these days, lack of skills and reliability. I have had too many disappointment all over France... And I am French so feel this is a very depressing trend. The cost was 71 euros for 2 people with 2 1/2 litre of decent wine and no other courses.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gerardhcollet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good Food Good Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Chez Jules is a traditional Brasserie on place Dalton. We were using Boulogne as a a stopover on the way down South, so we were looking for a quick but decent meal and back to the hotel to rest for the journey next day. I expected the restaurant to be full of tourists but on the contary, the only English accents we could hear were ours. There was a great buzz to the place and the locals were clearly enjoying the food, whch ranged from Pizza to some fantastic looking fish dishes and an extensive choice in between. As we really only wanted something quick my daughter and I ordered Calabraisie pizzas which had plenty of topping and a crispy base all cooked in the wood fired oven. My partner ordered moules au bleu, which were mussels in a light subtley flavoured blue cheese sauce.The mussles arrived with a large potion of chips and were declared to be excellent.The foods was washed down with a perfectly o.k pitcher of house red . All in all it was a good meal, good value, good service, in a restaurant with plenty of atmosphere. It worked for us and we will certainly return and try something more adventurous off the menu

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aubin68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Jules also viewed

Boulogne-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
Boulogne-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
 
Boulogne-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
Boulogne-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
 

Been to Chez Jules? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing