We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food and service”
Review of l'ilot vert

l'ilot vert
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hay-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We ate here on a Monday evening in November. Most of the restaurants in the Old Town in Boulogne were either closed or empty, except this one where most tables were full. We were recommended to try this restaurant by our hosts at a nearby Bed and Breakfeast.
The menu is small, which we both like, as it usually means everything is freshly cooked and locally sourced. The service was good and they were very helpful with translations when needed.We both had fish and it was presented beautifully and cooked to perfection. Unusually for us we both had a pudding and we are so glad that we did. Again most wonderfully presented and tasted excellent. Very friendly restaurant with good food and service.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    396
    148
    23
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great tip”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We were advised to try this place by the people we were staying with and weren't disappointed. They cook some great fish and the service is attentive without being overpowering, with friendly and helpful staff. The restaurant is quite modern with green decor (there's a clue in the name!) but compact and intimate and there were plenty of locals dining, which is always a good sign.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RobinS57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“fancy a nice lunch !”
Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

We were tip about this place by our hotel at Wimereux and it really worth it!

We had the lunch menu which is a very good value. The cook is sharp and very tasty. In addition they like wine and serve nice stuff even by the glass.

enjoy !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alexdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Recommended by local baker and one of his customers”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Asked for a restaurant recommendation and this was it. The service was A1 and the food was good. Wine was served cooler than it should have been (but it soon warmed up). There was plenty of space between the tables and it was easy to enjoy one's food, etc, without having to listen unwillingly to other diners' conversations, mobile 'phone calls, etc. Reasonably priced menu.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tobyjuggler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don t get this place at all.”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Came to this restaurant as a result of trip advisor reviews. Have to say I didn t like it from the outside or like the decor. And my instincts proved right. We ordered a bottle of wine and some starters. My starter was a curious combination of mozarella cheese, some assorted not very interesting tomatoes and 3 prawns ????? My husband had a 'chunk; of smoked salmon served with some local cheese. The flavours in these starters did not work at all. We ate them hoping for inspiration but it didn;t come. For me this menu is emperors new clothes, They are fooling people into thinking the food is good by long descriptions. We politely paid for our starters and wine, cancelled our entree and left. First time in my life I have ever done this. But after a splendid meal in les terrasses de l;enclos the night before we were genuinely shocked by this place. When we left we were dealt with very politely by the staff which is how they got a 2 from us !

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed l'ilot vert also viewed

Boulogne-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
Boulogne-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
 
Boulogne-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
Boulogne-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
 

Been to l'ilot vert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing