We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice beach hotel”
Review of Opal'Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Opal'Inn
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Boulogne-sur-Mer
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed there for one night on June 2013
Clean hotel. Close to the beach - just over the street. A lit bit load on beach side since it faced o road
Breakfast is good
Stuff is friendly and English speaking
Overall I would say that it pays to money it asked
I would guess that there more comfortable hotels but that question of price and destination to the beach

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexey2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (361)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 362 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2013

You get what you pay for, by and by. This is a very inexpensive hotel in an excellent location with access to the old town and the sea front. Free parking opposite the hotel makes it very convenient if you're driving. Rooms are small but beds are comfortable. We were next to the lift and it didn't disturb us (it was late revellers returning to their rooms that woke us at 2am) and neither were we disturbed by traffic noise. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank WingcoNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Clean hotel, friendly staff, limited public rooms/facilities. We had a small room on 5th floor next to lift, with thin walls/floors. view to beach, sea and industrial port. no air con so window open to enjoy noise from very busy road outside, which is also used as biker race track/gathering place for youth group till early hours (sun night). Moved to different hotel where we enjoyed a much better night.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OccasionalWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Took a little trip to France for our anniversary and decided to stay at the Opal again. Had stayed there in February and were very happy so thought we would book again. Hotel is only a 3 star but was very clean and staff are very helpful and friendly, a lovely continental breakfast is provided with plenty to choose from. The hotel does not have a car park but there is a free public car park just in front of the hotel so this is not really a problem. If there was a downside to this trip it was the noise outside of the hotel. The car park is right next to the beach and seems to attract youngsters and their cars all hours of the night, Saturday was absolutely unbearable even though we had our window closed we had virtually no sleep. The road outside is used as a race track for cars and motorbikes and the youngsters were continuously blowing car horns and shouting all night long. The hotel staff said that they did call the police a few times but they finally turned up at 6am and by this time the youngsters had gone. I would use the hotel again but not in the summer I think we would find somewhere a little quieter.

Room Tip: Maybe don't choose a sea view room choose a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nasam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

stayed here for one night in one of the back facing rooms, still nice green view of the hill behind the hotel. Room was perfect and clean, the bed was soft yet firm. It was on the 5th floor and didn't notice any problems with the lift.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nick w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Diane and I took a "package' which included admission to the Nausicaa attraction just over the road - we were lucky to park in the free public car park (the hotel has no parking). I've never experienced such small, slow lifts (essential when staying on the 5th floor!) and this frustration was echoed by a fellow guest with a pram who had been passed by the lift 6 times in both directions! Hotel facilities were otherwise adequate, more 2 star than 3 star in my opinion and nowhere near 4 star, uninspiring breakfast included (we didn't fancy the Room Service food on offer - microwaved for sure). Service was again adequate and in fairness the place was clean & tidy. As I said much nearer 2 star overall, would't choose to stay here again.

Room Tip: Avoid a room next to the lift!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Opal'Inn, despite it's slightly ugly exterior, is a clean and friendly little hotel. We chose one of the better rooms (with sea view and balcony), and whilst we didn't get to use the balcony much, it had a lovely aspect overlooking the beach. The rooms aren't huge but for a night of 2 in Boulogne (without a pile of luggage) we were very comforable.

The road outside is busy enough but with reasonable glazing and shutters it's not intrusive and certainly didn't prevent us from sleeping. The hotel is slightly out of the centre, but a pleasant 10 minute walk into town.

The staff were lovely and very forgiving of our less than perfect French.

Only thing I'd fault is the towels in the bathroom. They are a bit flimsy and didn't get changed. I don't mind the latter if they let you know (just a polite notice in the bathroom would do) - we were only there a couple of nights.

Otherwise it certainly merits being at the top of the list of hotels in Bouldogne.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malc02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boulogne-sur-Mer hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel  La Matelote
Hotel La Matelote
#2 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
410 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ibis Boulogne Sur Mer Centre Les Ports
Ibis Boulogne Sur Mer Centre Les...
#3 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
536 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ibis Boulogne sur Mer Centre Cathedrale
Ibis Boulogne sur Mer Centre Cat...
#4 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#8 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
148 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel de Londres
Hotel de Londres
#5 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
170 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#7 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opal'Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opal'Inn

Address: 170 boulevard Sainte Beuve, 62200 Boulogne-sur-Mer, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Boulogne-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Boulogne-sur-Mer
Price Range: $83 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Opal'Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Orbitz so you can book your Opal'Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing