We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Opal'Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Opal'Inn
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Boulogne-sur-Mer
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Popped over to France for a couple days and decided to stay in boulogne, picked the Opal and we were not disappointed. It is only a three star and although it only has the basics it is a great hotel. The bedrooms are very clean and the beds lovely and comfortable. The breakfast room was bright and clean and a lovely continental breakfast was served. Would definitely return for another visit, if there was a down side I would say that room 12 where we stayed does have the sign outside the window which is lit all night but I was so tired it did not really affect me this time but may disturb some people. Apart from that it was great.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room without the sign outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nasam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    158
    69
    7
    11
See reviews for
73
155
11
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

We travelled to France for one night with our 6 month old son and this hotel was perfect. We travelled on the euro tunnel and the hotel was very easy to get to and we would recommend taking the coastal route which takes a bit long than the motorway but is well worth it. The views are stunning.
Upon arrival at the hotel the staff were very welcoming. The hotel was spotlessly clean and we had a sea view room which was very spacious and had everything you need including free wifi.
It is about a 15 minute walk into boulogne but is a lovely walk and boulogne has many lovely restaurants and bars in the old town and new town that we were spoilt for choice.
We had a great stay and will definitely return in the future. Value for money is superb!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walshy03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed here very recently and agree with other comments. The hotel is comfortable and the breakfast excellent. The only problem for us, two couples traveling together, was the lack of nearby open restaurants out of season. We did not want to drive and had hoped to find a nearby bistro. The Area must be wonderful and lively in season, but on a cold February day a little drab.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back as the main road is quite noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinaCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Very comfy beds and very clean. Choosing the sea view room, however, was a mistake. The view is not worth it and because the rooms front onto a busy main road they are noisy. Go for a cheaper room at the back of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miffer319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honesty100
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed here for one night on a shopping trip to Boulogne. The hotel was very good for the price. The room was quite small, but had a decent bed and shutters at the window to keep noise and light to a minium. It is located about a 40 minute up hill walk to the old town and about 15 minutes from the nearest shops. There is a large free car park opposite. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. For a small cost of 8 euros breakfast had a good selection which is served until 11:00am. Great for a lie in as the hotel is relatively quiet. Would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honesty100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Nice place with see view. Excellent breakfest for a good price. A little remote from the center. You can see the white cliffs of dover from your bedroom. The isolation of the windows are perfect so no noise from the boulevard

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wotton-under-Edge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Booked at the last minute as a stop over for a short weekend shopping break, the hotel surpassed all our expectations. We were warmly welcomed from the moment we arrived and nothing was too much trouble. We were upgraded to a 4th floor room with sea view and balcony as our 3rd floor room was not ready when we arrived. Great views and an added bonus.
The rooms were spotlessly clean and all very modern. Breakfast was very nice and plentiful and offered a wide choice and was good value.
We plan to return on our next visit and will recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chic0s_Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boulogne-sur-Mer
0.1 mi away
Hotel  La Matelote
Hotel La Matelote
#2 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ibis Boulogne sur Mer Centre Cathedrale
Ibis Boulogne sur Mer Centre Cat...
#3 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ibis Boulogne Sur Mer Centre Les Ports
Ibis Boulogne Sur Mer Centre Les...
#4 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#9 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel de Londres
Hotel de Londres
#6 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Atlantic
Hotel Atlantic
#1 of 5 in Wimereux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opal'Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opal'Inn

Property: Opal'Inn
Address: 170 boulevard Sainte Beuve, 62200 Boulogne-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Boulogne-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Boulogne-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Opal'Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Opal'Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing