We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Opal'Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel La Matelote(Boulogne-sur-Mer)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Des Arts(Boulogne-sur-Mer)
View Hotel
Hotel Alexandra(Boulogne-sur-Mer)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Hamiot(Boulogne-sur-Mer)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Faidherbe(Boulogne-sur-Mer)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel de Londres(Boulogne-sur-Mer)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Les Gens de Mer(Boulogne-sur-Mer)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (413)
Filter reviews
413 results
Traveler rating
82
211
95
9
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
82
211
95
9
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsopal innsea fronta sea view roomthree starquick stopoverlovely continental breakfastglass jarup gradefire escapelovely hotela large car parkcroissantsacross the roadnight stopold townshort stayquiet at night
Filter
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 413 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Recently stayed at the Opal'inn for one night. The welcome was warm and friendly and the single room, although on the small side, was spotlessly clean and perfectly adequate. the only downside was that the bar area was being refurbished, but worked stopped about 4pm and started again about 10 am so it was not a problem. Infact the night staff were only too pleased to serve us with drinks when we retuned from the restaurent in town.(It's a good 10 to 15 minute walk into town.) The breakfast room was rather crowded between 9 and 9:30 but soon cleared and the breakfast itself was very good being replenished qiuckly when items were getting low. All in all, it will be an excellent hotel once all the refurbishments are complete.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGBV8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

My Partner and I recently stayed at the Opal Inn as it is now called and we were pleasantly surprised. We had planned to go to Wimereux but had heard of a mini revolution taking place at this hotel and so we thought we would give it a go.

The check-in was welcoming and efficient. Our room had a balcony with a table and chairs overlooking the beach. We made the most of this balcony with champagne that evening and breakfast the following morning! The room itself was lovely and stylish with its colour scheme and the bed was extremely comfortable. More importantly it was spotless as was the bathroom!

Despite the hotel being on the road it was not noisy due to the shutters and door to the balcony. The road was quiet at night in any case. There is also a large car park opposite the hotel and so parking wasn't a problem.

The bar being open until late was welcome. It was nice having the opportunity to have a night cap on our return to the hotel.

I got the impression that the new owners had achieved such a lot in such a short space of time and if their plans for the lounge are anything to go by this trend is set to continue.

This is a good hotel representing good value for money. I will definitely stay here again .

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mark_corey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed at the newly restored and renamed Opal Inn last weekend, having previously driven past it many times and thought it a drab neglected building but what a difference new ownership and some TLC can make. The new owners Camille and Gwilliam are welcoming and efficient with good taste in decor. The grey and violet colour scheme in the corridors and bedrooms is modern and stylish. No problems with check-in and very pleasantly surprised with the view from our little balcony, we had asked for a sea view but I thought it would be just visible over the top of Nausica (as the Matelotte is) but we had a lovely view of the clean sandy beach with all the little beach huts. The hotel is on the main road and traffic is busy during the day at weekends but the car park opposite is free and the electronic roller blinds deadened any nightime street noise.

The breakfast room was light and airy with white chairs covered in bright, yellow, pink and red striped material and the choice of breakfast was very good with excellent choice of plain and seeded breads, cheese, ham, cereals, dried fruits, fresh fruit salad and yoghurts. There was a machine dispensing good quality hot drinks with chocolate, coffee, tea and expresso options.

The hote is still undergoing its refurb and there is a delightful note in the lift asking for patence during the renovation. There was also a sketch on Reception showing the plans for the new bar - again it looked nice and classy and we will definitely return - very good value and a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Rooms on 4th and 5th floor give the best view of the beach.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KerryWombourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

This hotel is now Opal Inn and has newly renovated rooms with excellent plumbing, bedding, TVs & wi fi. The new owners are polite & very helpful & the breakfast is good, the only thing missing is some boiled eggs but they are compensated for by the excellent croissants & pastries. The situation is good with a lovely outlook & good access to the free car park across the road.

Room Tip: The room we had was very small but compensated as it had a really view over the beach. I saw some larger rooms being prepared but they may not have sea views.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosemary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews