We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Le Chatillon

Le Chatillon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Le Chatillon restaurant in the heart of Boulogne’s Capecure attracts everyone in town for the freshest of fish and great atmosphere. The bubbling ground floor dining room will remind you of the interior of an antique fishing vessel with wooden bar, pictures of old Boulogne and copper detailing, while the first floor space is more serene, though prices go up a notch too. M. Baude was a fish dealer in a past incarnation, so he only serves the highest quality fish and crustaceans. This atmospheric restaurant gives the true flavour of the old fishing port.
Farnborough
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

On a weekend break by motorcycle and wanted to grab lunch not too far from the ferry in Calais before heading off into France, so chose this based on the reviews. What an excellent choice, it's a bit hidden away so I'd used streetview to find and then put the coordinates into my satnav. It was absolutely rammed when we arrived around 13:00 (always a good sign), didn't have to wait long for a table although very busy the staff seem very organised. Went with the waiter's suggestions as I really didn't know what to choose, food was great and reasonably priced, service quick and efficient. Definitely one I'll be back to under similar circumstances.

Doesn't open late, I think the last food is served around 16:00 but it does open very early in the morning around 05:00 but not usually on Sundays.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank millhouze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    380
    221
    22
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kent
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Cannot be faulted”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We only went to Le Chatillon following a failure to book a table at Chez Yann in Wimereux where we had twice eaten previously and were impressed on both occassions
Tripadvisor’s reviewers recommended Le Chatillon so we decided to try it.
Four of us all chose from Le Menu du jour at 19.90 Euro which comprised an entrée, a plat and a dessert. Without exception all dishes we tried from the Amuse bouche to the Crème brulee were very well cooked and well presented and served.
I had the Beignets de poisons desaretes followed by the Filet de poisons du jour desarete et sa sauce and the selection of local cheeses all of which were excellent.
The house white wine complemented the fish very well and was great value for money.
We will all go back to Le Chatillon when we next visit Boulogne

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KentTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Best kept secret in Boulogne Sur Mer”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Hidden in the centre of Boulogne Sur Mer’s port is this very busy, fabulous, rustic, characteristic Restaurant which serves good wholesome food. Get there by 12, midday, and try and book as it is that busy with local diners. Thoroughly recommend the cote du Rhone white wine. You will not be disappointed by quality or price

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Inxent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A welcome return for us!!”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Always enjoy this place for its honest and well prepared food. The dishes are exactly what is written on the menu, no fancy overprepared plates with garnishes larger than the main ingrediant or endless main courses served with various sauces to enlarge the selection. Good solid cooking with a limited wine list and an ambience to warm the heart even on the coldest day. Booking if on a limited schedule is a must but the staff always try to slot you in, they work hard and show what a disaplined team they are under the watchful eye of the owner. The carte is 20E for 3 courses with the odd suppliment which usually never amount to more than 4E. Excellant place to be!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cherryplum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hay-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Excellent service, top quality fresh fish, decent wine and great value. Not a place you find by just passing by - it's in the Port area. Foodies like it here. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zirconia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Chatillon also viewed

Boulogne-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
Boulogne-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
 
Boulogne-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
Boulogne-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
 
Wimereux, Pas-de-Calais
Boulogne-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
 

Been to Le Chatillon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing