We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfectly adequate meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Parisien

Le Parisien
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
278 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“A perfectly adequate meal”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This road in Boulogne, up in the Old Town near the cathedral, abounds with restaurants, not all of which are wonderful, and it is difficult to pick the right one. This time we feel that we did. It was not over-crowded for a Friday evening, and the service was friendly. The menu was not too extensive, but we were all pleased with our choices, which were all fairly substantial and tasted good. And all for a very reasonable price.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    23
    13
    12
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Harlow, Essex
Level Contributor
211 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

A great meal. I had the mussels and a fish casserole which was the best ever. Would certainly recommend the food and service, and will return the next time we are in France.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glynis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gives French food a bad name”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The food here left a bad taste on a wonderful day trip to Boulogne and Sainte-Omer. Only good thing about this restaurant was that we did not have a starter. Boeuf Bourguignon was awful, steaks were well over done and the chips were the worse I have ever been served (cooked earlier on and then reheated, soggy and full of oil, disgusting).

Love France and can not wait to go back to Boulogne but will avoid this restaurant at all costs.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geezer65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and pleasant meal.”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We had a pleasant, simple meal at this restaurant. The food was fresh and well cooked.The coffee was smooth and a good end to the meal. The two staff we saw were very friendly and efficient even though the restaurant was quite full. This restaurant was much better than one we had gone to a couple of days earlier further up the hill.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Completely avoid - the worst french food I have ever eaten!”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We ate here after seeing lots of people sat outside on a lovely sunny afternoon. This was a mistake, as once we had taken our seats, the people disappeared inside the restaurant - turns out that they were the manager and his family!
I was extremely disappointed with my entire meal here. Gratin St Jacques turned up luke warm, cold in some places with a salad that had clearly been left out in a hot kitchen the entire day.
My Pave steak was not cooked as requested, had no flavour and was a very tough piece of meat.
I have never known a french restaurant to use pre-cooked crepe's from the supermarket, but these appear to be the piece de resistance of la parisien and signify the end of a truly terrible meal.
The experience was not helped by the gruff waitress and the small portion sizes.
Our entire party of four were left very disappointed by the whole experience, especially as the meal was not very cheap either.
There appear to be many more well visited restaurants further up the street, my advice would be to visit those instead!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scooby_d00_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Parisien also viewed

Boulogne-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
Boulogne-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
 
Boulogne-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
Boulogne-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
 

Been to Le Parisien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing