We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A French country experience”
Review of Hotel Diamant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Diamant
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Arras
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A French country experience”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

W stayed with Phillipe for a night after a WW1 Battlefield Tour In September. Located in a cobblestoned square in the centre of town it was well appointed and quaint. Its a small hotel with a very obliging proprietor who made sure he was ready to welcome us in at about 10pm after the tour. We had a neat little room and a nice French breakfast. Everything's nearby and the tourist centre is in the town hall building alongside. You'll enjoy this taste of country France

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PJSec0nd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    83
    27
    13
    7
See reviews for
33
89
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

My wife and I, our baby and our dog, all spent a wonderful weekend in the hotel's apartment, located right next door to the hotel. The apartment was spacious and clean, with two bedrooms, a living room and a kitchen. The manager made us feel very welcome, and added a baby bathtub to the apartment as well as a bottle warmer and a thermometer. Other appreciated amentities included an espresso-machine with capsules, all kitchen tools and utensils. The apartment was clean and the view from the front window onto the Place des Héros is wonderful. We shopped at the market literally at our doorstep and used the kitchen. The bedrooms are located at the back of the apartment, and so are quiet.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 373 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed for one (Friday) night so we could go to the Saturday market. This is not a great hotel but it is an acceptable 2 star. Our room (no 2) was quite small but was well appointed and overlooked the Place des Heros and the Town Hall. We didn't spend much time in our room, except to sleep, so it was fine for us. The market is the best in northern France and there are some splendid restaurants and cafes in town.

Room Tip: There is no lift so a room on the 1st floor (2nd floor for Americans) is a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RLP50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I really can't understand the good reviews for this hotel. It was awful. The location on the square is good, but Arras is such a small place that all the hotels are well located.
We thought the hotel would be quaint, French, maybe a little quirky. We were sorely disappointed, this is shabby crusty, not shabby chic. The carpets are threadbare, wallpaper peeling on the stairwell. Our standard room was tiny with no place to put suitcases.
There were blood marks on the walls where mosquitoes had been swatted. We could hear the snoring from the next room and the sheets on our bed were itchy. The bathroom had a sticky floor and mouldy tiles. I don't mind humble, but I do mind dirty.
We paid Euro 81 so it's not exactly cheap cheap either.
The owner was surly and unwelcoming. The most he said to us was on departure when he tried to punt his own website to us to avoid him paying commission. Not a chance in hell we'd be back. We stayed one night and that was too long.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BananaLamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We spent a week in Arras, using it as a base to explore Flanders. The Diamant is located in the historical center of the city next door to the Hotel de Ville, a UNESCO World Monument. It lacks an elevator, but makes up for it in the outstanding location; everything in the city, including the train station, is within walking distance. Numerous restaurants and cafes are close by, and the main shopping district is a short walk away. The management was very friendly, and the room with a view of the Place des Heros was quite comfortable with a good bath and shower. Widescreen TV was a plus. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting northern France.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a room facing the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room had everything we needed, the Patron was extremely helpful and friendly. The hotel is right on the square and couldn't have been more convenient for bars and restaurants. We would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had booked two double rooms, when I emailed to say we would be a litttle later than planned tthe owner, Phillipe asked if we would prefer a self contained apartment for the same price. This was ideal as we were travelling witth our two teenage sons. The apartment is right next door to the hotel and the living room /kitchen looks right on to the square. The bedrooms are at the back of the apartment and are very quiet. The location is great is it is right on the square with lots of places to eat. The apartment was very well equipped. It was very clean with lovely crisp sheets on the beds. Parking is a little bit tricky and it is difficult to park very near the hotel but there is parking in the adjacent square.
Phillipe was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arras hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Arras Centre Les Places
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Trois Luppars
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mercure Arras Centre Gare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Arras
0.2 mi away
Najeti Hotel de L'univers
0.3 mi away
Hotel Moderne
Hotel Moderne
#9 of 14 in Arras
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diamant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diamant

Property: Hotel Diamant
Address: 5 Place des Heros, 62000, Arras, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Arras
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Arras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Diamant 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you at the heart of the city of Arras on the Heroes Square and City Hall , an exceptional location , a listed building , and overlooked by the belfry, classified UNESCO. What a beautiful view from the window of your room or apartment ! For your business trips or leisure : - 12 rooms including 6 with an exceptional view of the Heroes Square , - A Hotelier apartment of 72 sqm for 6 people, - A Hotelier apartment of 55 sqm for 5 people. Small and cozy , the Hotel Diamant has everything is a real guest house ! Welcome buffet , free wifi, 2 bikes available ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Diamant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamant Hotel Arras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing