We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leave this one off your list”
Review of Hotel Moderne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Moderne
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Arras
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Leave this one off your list”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This hotel came as group tour package, but I did pre book the night before the tour commenced at $200 AUD for one night. I make my comments based on the value commensurate with cost.
This hotel is an old building therefore I have made allowances in my comment for this but generally the service is quite poor.

There's is no shower curtain or screen, therefore the shower floor and attached basin are flooded with water every time one showers. Excess water on the floor must cause havoc with maintenance, not to mention the towels used to mop up the excess water. Every other day I had to ask for a very small packet of soap, other toiletries were occasionally provided. On one evening I needed to ask for fresh towels, other members of the group did not have their rooms serviced.

There's is no safe - readers will say this is Europe. A safe is a basic necessity for travellers today and is expected, I expect a safe in my room. No safety deposit box was offered.
The is no ventilation ,fans or air conditioning. On one of the days we were there the temperature was 28c, making the room very uncomfortable during the afternoon and evening.

A continental breakfast is included in the tariff. This is basic and acceptable, however, the fruit is tinned, when the only hot dish (scrambled eggs) runs out, that's it no replenishment. Similarly, when the toasting bread is gone so sad too bad for other residents. Same for the sliced ham and cheese. However, restaurants near by serve wonderful breakfasts.

During the late afternoon, the reception was staffed only by a university student studying (reception). I understand that students gain work experience, but on this occasion he was the only available person and had no grasp of English.
The hotel is in a good location, close to the train station and many good restaurants. There are many other hotels in the same area, it may be worth looking these first.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
modernearras, Directeur général at Hotel Moderne, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Following your stay at the hotel Moderne and to your comment posted on tripadvisor's website, We read your opinion and remarks about the hotel's services.
We thank you for your impressions. We struggle to welcome well our customers, but apparently you didn't like our hotel and I am sorry that your stay in our hotel was so bad.
I hope you will visit again Arras a next time.

With Best wishes

Jean-Marie CARON
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    54
    35
    20
    2
See reviews for
10
49
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rosewood Australia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

We have just spent 5 days at the Moderne hotel whilst touring the area for Anzac day. Staff are friendly and helpful and the hotel is directly across the square from the railway station. Easy 6 to 8 minute walk to the town centre, restaurants etc. breakfast was ok. The usual French croissants, fruit salad, yogurts, cheese, ham, toast, jam (and if you are amongst the earlier risers) scrambled eggs. The rooms are bigger than some hotels but very basic. No coffee or tea making facilities, fridge or iron etc.
We came home one day and found our room had not been cleaned and we had to take some toilet paper from a cleaners trolley in the hallway the following morning. The hotel certainly has potential and with some initiative cold be a lot better. An average 3 star hotel which meets basic standards.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Leon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englefield Green, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the moderne as part of a large group visiting the battlefields, the hotel staff worked very hard to accommodate us and were always friendly and polite. Rooms are clean with plenty of towels provided, we had a nice view over the square, with French windows that open. Bar area nice. Breakfast nice, more than adequate.The Moderne is perfect if you just want somewhere to lay your head at night. Arras town is so quiet though, I don't know where everyone's gone, it's a shame as I can see some businesses were struggling.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mooncat_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW England
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Arras makes a good base for visiting a number of important and interesting WW1 sites, and the Hotel Moderne provides a comfortable no-frills base.

The room was bright and airy and bed and bathroom adequate and clean.

Breakfast buffet was very good; cereals, fruit, juice,croissants etc. with hot drinks and and a hot dish available. Very good value for this level of accommodation.

Room Tip: My room overlooked the large square, but it was quiet at night time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DSmithSWEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Spent 3 nights in Arras visiting Wimy, Beaumont Hamel, and the Commonwealth Memorial sites one day, Calais, another day as well as Arras . Arras is a beautiful site full of historyand interesting restaurants. Enjoyed food on slate dishware which was flavourful in this area.Found we appreciated and needed our GPS in the rental car to get around, would have been lost otherwise! Enjoyed the use of our free interenet service in our hotel. Breakfast was basic but with good personal service.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OttawaLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We had a spacious, comfortable room with wide-opening windows and a big bathroom. Everything worked well and was immaculately clean. We wondered if noise might be a problem as it's two minutes from the station and adjacent to several bars/restaurants. No problem whatsoever and we slept well. The staff we encountered were all friendly and helpful.

The corridor outside the bedroom (room 212) was very dark - a light switch close to the bedroom door would have been helpful. Breakfast was good so long as you were early - things ran out if you arrived 30 minutes before the end of service. We were a little concerned about the bath, which was very slippery without any anti-slip area, so you had to take great care when taking a shower.

You can park right outside or very close by for only 4 Euros per day. It's an easy walk to the city centre with museums, shops, eateries etc. If I return to Arras, I'd have no worries about staying at the Moderne again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scribbles-in-Lincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leduc, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We only stayed at Hotel Moderne for one or two nights (April 2010) on our tour of France. It's conveniently located across from the train station, which was great because we were on foot with all our luggage. The hotel seemed a little cramped, and it was honestly kind of like a maze..We were in the halls a bit trying to find our friends rooms, and I have never seen so many fire doors in one building. It was a little confusing. The rooms were a little small. It's definitely not the newest hotel out there, but it was very quaint and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Shawna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arras hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Les Trois Luppars
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mercure Arras Centre Gare
0.2 mi away
Ibis Arras Centre Les Places
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Arras
0.3 mi away
Hotel Diamant
Hotel Diamant
#8 of 14 in Arras
176 reviews
0.4 mi away
Najeti Hotel de L'univers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moderne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moderne

Property: Hotel Moderne
Address: 1 boulevard Faidherbe, 62000, Arras, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Arras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Arras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Moderne 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Moderne is located in the city center of Arras, opposite the train station. At 5 to 10 minutes walking from the historic center, with Grand'Place, Belfry and all the shops in the town center of Arras. Opposite the hotel and nearby, you have many public parkings, often free for the night, and you will also find many good restaurants and café. The hotel features 50 rooms with all conveniences, all equipped with bathroom, toilet, flat screen TV, telephone, wireless internet access. We serve a full breakfast in the morning. You can have a drink in our Bar. The Hotel Moderne is a central place to stay in Arras. The urban network allows you to access many services located nearby. The Hotel Moderne is an ideal base for exploring the heritage of the town of Arras, visiting the museums in the area (the Louvre -Lens) and visiting the Battlefields 1WW. Going on vacation or you return: stop in Arras. We are a perfect step on the road to the Alps, South of France, Loire Valley, in both directions. Short break in North of France : come to discover our heritage. Belfry, flamish main square, Cathedrale, Museum, cave, in a pleasant atmosphere; and also near Louvre-Lens museum. By train: we are located about 35 minutes from Lille center (car boot sale), 45 minutes from Amiens center (Cathedral), and 50 minutes from Paris center. Enjoy a short trip under ideal conditions! We offer packages with accommodation, breakfast For groups visiting the area (minimum 25 pax), we organize the diner (on-site or in a nearby restaurant). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Moderne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inter Hotel Arras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing