We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Atmosphere”
Review of Le Carnot

Le Carnot
Ranked #85 of 179 Restaurants in Arras
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The restaurant efficiently dealt with the large party we were in and served good food in comfortable surroundings. Found it quicker to walk downstairs and order drinks from the bar instead of the suggested waiter service, as they were far to busy. Good range of beers!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    82
    29
    25
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent French Food”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We were recommended to try The Carnot while staying at a near-by Hotel. We are glad we tried it.
The staff were polite and friendly.

While being English speakers, ordering from a French menu is always an experience in itself, we were very happy with the food that we received. Delivered in good time and very tasty.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WackyDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bletchley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“I love this place”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Been here many times. Food is excellent and very reasonable. Like to try something new and am never let down. We shall return

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mailly-Maillet, Picardie, France
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“My favourite Restaurant”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Great decor, good menu with something for all budgets, good food cooked by a proper chef, staff are friendly, helpful and attentive

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The land of The Sabbath and of The priest
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Busy, busy, busy!”
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Visited on a Sunday night when many of the restaurants in Arras are closed. It was rammed; a party of 50 schoolchildren added to the ambience.

However, the staff coped manfully, and considering how full it was, the service was acceptable. In addition to the a la carte menu, there were 3-course menus at 20 or 28 euros a head; we plumped for the latter. There are no concessions for the non-francophone tourist on the menu, so the working out what the dishes were was a challenge; but also fun. They also seem to serve local dishes - hence the surprising addition of a chunk of marrowbone to those of our party who had a steak! My swordfish was very nice, with pink spaghetti.

And if it wasn't busy to begin with, the cup-winning Arras female basketball team decided to hold their celebration in there...

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John_txic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Carnot also viewed

Arras, Pas-de-Calais
Arras, Pas-de-Calais
 
Arras, Pas-de-Calais
Arras, Pas-de-Calais
 

Been to Le Carnot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing