We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Arras
Post
Inbox
Search
Open today: 10:00 AM - 12:30 PM, 1:30 PM - 6:00 PM
  
Ways to Experience Carriere Wellington
from $181.90
More Info
from $654.83
More Info
Reviews (1,420)
Filter reviews
1,420 results
Traveler rating
966
380
59
9
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
966
380
59
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews audio guide new zealand well worth a visit short film surprise attack french and english tunnel system front line first world war allied troops below ground the underground tour interesting visit these men excellent guide visiting arras tourist office
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,420 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Really interesting and very well set up. Wearing the “tin hats” was good fun, but necessary. A very important insight into the range of experiences in WW1

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank PollySibyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

A must see! Visited here on a quiet Sunday in September after a visit to Point Du Jour cemetery to see a grave of a relative who fought in Arras in the first world war. We came here after wanting to experience a little of what they went through during that time. We were not disappointed. We had a friendly greeting upon entering, reasonably priced and waited 20 minutes for the next tour, and was then set up with a helmet and audio guide in the desired language. Were were then greeted by our excellent tour guide who flicked between French and English to accommodate the group and took us 20 metres underground listening to the audio guide and tour guide which worked perfectly. It was a great experience, very informative and would definitely recommend.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Apfm141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2019

The caves beneath Arras are recommended to understand the history and the sacrifice of WW1 in Arras.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2019

We visited here as part of our ww1 battlefields tour. The tour was conducted in both french and English, with headsets for certain areas within the tunnels. I felt that the tour in areas was a bit rushed and once the guide had spoken in both languages, moved us on to the next section, more often English was spoken last, by the time I knew what we were looking at it was time to move on so didn’t feel like I could take many pictures.
At the end of the tour we watched a short film, the film was in French whilst we kept our headsets on to listen to it in English, this was quite hard to follow as you could hear the film in french, it would have been better if the film was silent and everyone wore headsets to listen to it.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank O8379ULclaireh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2019 via mobile

I have visited Arras before and know the history well but never managed to visit Wellington before. Spent the weekend on a guided tour of other subterranean fortifications and tunnels systems and the scale and endeavour of the New Zealand tunnellers is worth the visit. This is a well paced accessible tour and a must for all those interested in the history of Arras in WW1.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Stuart_Away_Again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews