We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Stay at Cental Hotel with Parking” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de l'Univers

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel de l'Univers
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Arras
Worcester, UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay at Cental Hotel with Parking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

We found the hotel without any problems and, having 'phoned the day before, had a parking space already reserfed for us. We were upgraded to a superior room which was spacious with a good bathroom - everything was spotlessly clean and in working order. As it was our wedding anniversary we treated ourselves to an excllent dinner in the hotel restaurant - the staff were very friendly. The breakfast buffet was varied and, again, staff friendly. Checkout was painless and receptionist pleasant. We will definitely stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MuggleB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    145
    84
    22
    13
See reviews for
30
190
7
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
porthcawl
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Situated yards from the town centre yet hidden away fom the traffic noise in a discreet courtyard. Parking ,at 9 Euro, is available and essential if you have a vehicle but you must book beforehand as it is limited. An old building with character and internally well decorated. Friendly. helful staff and the Restaurant food good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mervyn j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walmer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Arras is very difficult to drive round - all one way and few signs. But the people in Arras were fabulously friendly - one lady drove us to the hotel and another couple of ladies went out of their way to help us when we got lost.
But the hotel was a disappointment. We pre-booked parking but when we arrived they told us to park in a space that was occupied then told us to use a different one that was also full when we returned with the car. No system at all! The receptionist couldn't have cared less.
At dinner there were two harrassed waitresses. We wanted to have an aperitif so waited in the bar area but had to ask several times for the drinks then for the menus. Everything was too much trouble! The food was good but spoiled by the poor service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sallyWargrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Arras hotels

England
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Stayed four nights for a business trip. General state of the building is a bit tired. The service was friendly enough, although we had to specifically request milk repeatedly for the room, and they also took away the kettle we requested for the meeting room.
Interesting-looking building, but poorly maintained on the whole, with peeling paint outside and faded carpet inside.
Dined in the restaurant on the first day, was pleasant enough with well-presented food.
Nothing terribly wrong with it either, so if you get a good deal it might be worth a look. Definitely not worth the rack rates of €140!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jonnyboy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Stayed here in Oct 2012 with my spouse for one night. Nice looking on outside, historic, in downtown close to restaurants shops and market square. Rooms spacious and clean. Bed Ok. Stayed as a stop over to start our Normandy WWI and WWII trip, so all we wanted was a place to rest. Windoes in room opened. We had the lowest category room.
Reasons for low score:
1) Requested parking at time of booking (extra cost) and when parked in courtyard was advised no more parking available and had to park car elsewhere. They did allow us to bring lugage to the room first. Went in town could not find a parking spot anywhere, all signs stated max 2 hr parking. Went back and stated this and reply was "it is now just 6 pm and then rule does not apply....Ok good to know. Found parking then a few minutes from hotel
2) TV did not work. We really wanted to see weather forecast. Called front desk, they did sent someone up right away but person stated we should push ON button on remote or TV....Duhhh...he tried same and offcourse nothing happened. He mentioned he didn't know what was wrong and left. We did manage to get the TV woking by removing cabinet on which TV was standing and found out a loose connection.
3) Check out was very bad. We had a long day ahead of us and wanted to check-out at 6:30 am. No one at front desk. Went in dinning/breakfast room and foudn someone. Although he was very nice and tried to help he stated we didn't pay for room (which we did) and demanded my credit card again and deucted room charge. He gave me receipt (after 3 times trying to print), but took several weeks to get payment sorted out.
Note I speak basic french but no one I encountered could speak english, which could be an issue if you experience problems

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

As part of a travelling car club the hotel was highly recommended and looked to suit the car and travelling public with safe parking and a great location to scout the town of Arras.
Sadly the hotel pretty much screwed up 11 of the 14 bookings and ignored an email that I had sent in advance! This leaving us to scramble for parking in the courtyard.
With the receptionist screaming 'get out' as the group tried to enter it didn't really start that well.
After probably half an hour of us all explaining the situation it was no nearer to being sorted and the hotel receptionist neither wanting to assist or even acknowledged that 'they' may have made a mistake or finding a way to rectify the situation. Even with people showing their print outs it was not going to change the mind of the receptionist!!
The hotel is a great location to make your way into the town of Arras and enjoy the places around the squares. Our room which should have been upgraded by Best western was possibly the smallest in the hotel but for one night you can survive. Breakfast was very standard and certainly nothing to be excited by. Checking out was quite painless and not a word was said about the night prior!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gwp12c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here for two nights recently - first night was fine but there was a wedding on the second night and bar and restaurant completely taken over by wedding guests so had to go out for a drink and meal. Loud music kept us awake until after midnight and when we phoned reception we were told it would go on until 4 am! No manager was on duty and when we went to pay our bill in the morning not even an apology. Would advise checking that there is no wedding taking place before you book!! Complained to Best Western on our return and they wrote to the hotel with our complaint but embarrassingly the hotel did not even reply to Best Western! We did receive some extra reward points from Best Western but would rather have enjoyed our stay in the first place.

Room Tip: Make sure they don't have a wedding reception!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arras hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mercure Arras Centre Gare
0.4 mi away
Hotel Les Trois Luppars
0.3 mi away
Ibis Arras Centre Les Places
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Arras
0.4 mi away
Hotel Moderne
Hotel Moderne
#9 of 14 in Arras
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Diamant
Hotel Diamant
#8 of 14 in Arras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Univers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Univers

Property: Hotel de l'Univers
Address: 3 Place de la Croix Rouge, 62000, Arras, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Arras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Arras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de l'Univers 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, Orbitz, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel de l'Univers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western l Univers
Best Western Arras
Arras Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing