We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An all-too-short but pleasant stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Mercure Arras Centre Gare
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Arras
UK
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“An all-too-short but pleasant stay.”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed just the one night in Arras - but could easily have stayed two or three. Arras is a fine city and the Mercure is a fine base for exploration. It’s barely a 5-minute stroll to the central squares, and half that to the railway station. The en-suite room was clean, large, well-equipped and very comfortable and the staff were cheery, pleasant and informative.
The underground car parking entrance was just outside the hotel entrance and the cost (about 10 Euro per 24-hours) was added to the hotel bill
We didn’t dine in so can’t comment on that - but would be happy to return to the city and the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JakTarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    362
    138
    30
    11
See reviews for
85
271
58
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The Mercure is located a few minutes walk through mainly pedestrianised streets to the medieval historic centre of Arras that was rebuilt after it was largely destroyed in the first World War. The Mercure is in a modern building called the Atria Centre just a block from the main station, almost next door to the Holiday Inn Express. Its proximity to the station makes for a lot of train noise in rear facing rooms during the night so this may be irritating to some, it certainly irritated me but not the hotel's fault I guess! There are plenty of local car parks (opposite the front and also to the rear but both cost extra and are payable direct to the car park operators). The one at the rear has access directly into the hotel's banqueting entrance but this is not always left open so you may have to locate keys for the door to get out. The rooms themselves were OK but the one we had was definitely in need of a refurbishment. It looked very tired and battered but otherwise clean and functional for a short stay. I was surprised that the bed had no valence just a visible bed base that didnt look too appealing. The staff at reception were however charming and helpful and we enjoyed a good breakfast offering the following morning. We also had an enjoyable and reasonable value dinner the night before.

Room Tip: Go for a room facing the front otherwise be prepared for a lot of late night train noise from the ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GastroInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale
Level 6 Contributor
363 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The room was clean and the bed comfortable but I do not find the rooms appealing at all. I think they had a cheap make over a few years ago. The style is minimalist - prison cell came to mind. The mini bar just sits on its own somewhere near the desk??
Breakfast service was OK and the staff helpful. Bar service was poor. I had to ask the receptionist on both nights to call the barman. He kept disappearing as soon as he had served a customer. Given the bar prices the hotel must loose money, never mind brass off customers.

Room Tip: Go to the Hotel Angleterre - at least it has character
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeylandAtlantean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arras, France
2 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Good location, nice rooms and mostly helpful staff. Somewhat surprised that a French hotel had no cognac (or calvados) but plenty of whisky. The duty manager didn't seem surprised - good job our complaint wasn't serious!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ndenvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on our way back from Alsace to break the journey. It is well located and the rooms are modern and airy. Free wifi is available in your room. The restaurant is modern and serves a good buffet style breakfast. Parking is provided in a public underground car park the entrance for which is immediately in front of the hotel. There is a charge of 10euros for parking which is considerably cheaper than the public have to pay. If you are not familiar with Arras it has a lot to offer. The city centre is very attractive and there are underground tunnels to view which were used in the first world war.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sevvynuneaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

we enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Initially a little difficult to find being located in a new block without the usually very obvious Mercure sign to guide us. Good food, good beds and good value. Its an ideal location for an overnight stay en route to the south

Room Tip: Turn left not right at the traffic lights and aim for the station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McGreevy03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We used this hotel as a stop en route to the Alps. It's centrally located and very handy for the main squares, with their restaurants and bars. Underground parking is available at a discount for hotel residents. The room was small but clean & the bathroom well-equipped. The air conditioning, even down at the lowest setting, was inadequate for a comfortable night's sleep. Breakfast was well-presented. There was plenty of choice & staff were cheerful.

Room Tip: A room on the back or the side will be quieter than ones on the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arras hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Arras Centre Les Places
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Arras
0.4 mi away
Hotel Les Trois Luppars
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Najeti Hotel de L'univers
0.3 mi away
Hotel Diamant
Hotel Diamant
#8 of 14 in Arras
179 reviews
2.2 mi away
B&B Hotel Arras
B&B Hotel Arras
#7 of 14 in Arras
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mercure Arras Centre Gare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mercure Arras Centre Gare

Property: Hotel Mercure Arras Centre Gare
Address: 58 boulevard Carnot, 62000, Arras, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Arras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Arras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mercure Arras Centre Gare 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Across the street from Arras TGV station, the Mercure Atria is just moments away from pedestrian streets, the historic centre and city squares featuring the belfry classified as a world heritage site by UNESCO. 30 minutes from Lille and Lesquin Airport,the hotel is ideally located 50 minutes by TGV train from the Gare du Nord in Paris. The hotel features 80 rooms including 38 refurbished superior rooms. Our conference facilities include a 300 seat auditorium and meeting rooms for up to 400 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mercure Arras Centre Gare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Atria Arras Centre Hotel Arras
Accor Atria Arras Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing