We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value B & B”
Review of Le Pourquoi Pas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arras
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Pourquoi Pas
Ranked #5 of 18 Arras B&B and Inns
uk
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good value B & B”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The B & B is in a good location, within easy walking distance of Arras centre. The room was clean, the hosts friendly and the breakfast more than adequate. It was easy to find a parking space on the street and had we stayed longer, the kitchen/seating area would have been very useful. Excellent value for the money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simbasue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
91
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here overnight at the end of a touring holiday on our way back to Calais. We used Trip Advisor when choosing places to stay and we weren't disappointed with Le Pourquoi Pas. Right from our initial enquiry Danni was friendly and efficient, and when we arrived we were greeted warmly and invited to feel at home. I had requested the use of the garage but it was so easy to park on the street that we just left the car there. The location is great: an easy walk under the railway station to the middle of Arras where there are loads of restaurants to choose from. We had been a little anxious that we might be able to hear the trains since we were so close to the station but we needn't have worried. The bed was big and very comfortable, the room spacious, the en-suite was very clean with a big shower, and the shared kitchen and seating area were well equipped and there were lots of tourist leaflets available. Breakfast was served downstairs, with a view onto the pretty garden, and the food was excellent. We wished we could have stayed longer and we would definitely return if we are visiting the area again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

After having arrived in France during a strike to find our rental car "was not available" and waiting for several hours in the airport we finally arrived at Arras and the Pourquoi Pas in quite a state (au coleur:). Danielle greeted us amicably in our sleep-deprived mood and introduced us to our calming peaceful room. The beds and pillows were great; the shower was clean, hot water immediate and towels abundant. Breakfast was substantial - home-made brioche, croissants, cheese, juices, yogurts. We parked on the street (for 2 days) with no problem. One night we ate out and the next night we went to the grocery store, which is very close to the B&B, and brought back our supper to eat in a shared kitchen/dining room...all kitchenware available. Suggest you take advantage of this aspect if you don't want to head out to eat after a long day of touring.
We found this a very easy, enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ottawachanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

After visiting the impressive WWI battlefields and monuments in the vicinity of Arras, it was every day a great pleasure to return to this peaceful and friendly bed and breakfast.
It is located in a quiet street at walking distance from the centre of Arras.
The room was new, nicely decorated, spacious, comfortable and clean. The two B&B rooms are located on the first floor and share a very nice living area with small kitchen, dining and sitting area. Books and brochures on the area are available.
Perfect croissants, baguette, a home made brioche with jams, cheese etc. for breakfast made me wish to emigrate to France at once.
Reading the all five dot tripadvisor reviews before leaving for our trip, I thought something must be wrong. But it wasn't. It was perfectly right. Danièle, Merci beaucoup pour votre hospitalité parfaite.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DutchmancalledP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

If you are in the Arras area this is the perfect place to stay. Danni & Luc are exceptional hosts who make your stay very special indeed. Homemade breads, jam and cake for breakfast in their beautiful dining room is an experience not to be missed. The rooms are beautifully decorated and are very spacious with very modern facilities. This would be an ideal place for two couples to stay also as there is a lovely room with small kitchen for sharing between the rooms ; ideal if you want to self cater at night occasionally. It is very near the train station and a short walk into Arras centre. There are lots of information booklets and they are only too pleased to help with directions, restaurants etc. we had to leave a day early because of family reasons but will happily stay again - it was a definite find and well worthy of the previous comments :-)

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Meecaff3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We have just returned from a stay at Le Pourquois Pas. Not only was the accommodation first class and the breakfast good but the hosts, Dany and Luc, were so welcoming. They were informative on what to see and do as well as restaurants to visit. The bed and breakfast is within walking distance of Arras and we certainly will return if we are back in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne543Edin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Le Pourquoi Pas is a real find. Beautifully furnished and decorated, the 2 rooms offer a relaxing and private place to spend a holiday break. It was perfect for us as 2 couples travelling together because the reading room between the 2 bedrooms provides a superb shared place to relax together. The owners Dany and Luc were excellent hosts, providing lovely breakfasts and lots of ideas of places to visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arras hotels
0.5 mi away
Ibis Arras Centre Les Places
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Arras
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mercure Arras Centre Gare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Les Trois Luppars
2.5 mi away
B&B Hotel Arras
B&B Hotel Arras
#7 of 14 in Arras
149 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Diamant
Hotel Diamant
#8 of 14 in Arras
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Pourquoi Pas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Pourquoi Pas

Property: Le Pourquoi Pas
Address: 9 rue Charcot, 62000, Arras, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Arras
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Arras
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing