We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good find”

La Cave des Saveurs
Ranked #59 of 181 Restaurants in Arras
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Really good find”
Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Great food, quality and selection. Good selection of wines and beers. Very friendly and helpful staff

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SpeckyII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    56
    28
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil, Somerset
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good food in a nice setting”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Nice blend of fixed price menu and a la carte in a very pleasant setting. Good food and wine and excellent service. We were there early so the waiter wasn't rushed and he did a very good job.

Food was well presented and tasty with the added 'amuse bouche' touches that make it all a little special. Definite recommendation if you are stuck for somewhere in Arras.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SomersetSpud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food, good staff, nice setting”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

The first thing you notice when looking for this restaurant, is that it isn't as unique as you would expect. There are quite a few places making use of what used to be cellars, to cater for tourists and locals alike. We arrived early and they were happy to seat us and take our orders. Everything we ordered was nicely presented and tasted fantastic. The restaurant is bright and well laid out, and the staff clearly used to serving English speaking patrons :-) It was mostly full of English tourists but there were a couple of locals in as well. We both had the 33 euro menu and couldn't fault any of our choices. The selection isn't huge, but there is something for everyone. The only slight con was that after we were served our very small coffee (which was also included in the price), the waiter seemed to forget we were there, and we had to get their attention to order our aperitif and ask twice for the bill. (The restaurant was full though at this point.) We would recommend this restaurant, and we would definitely go back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 2xsjgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“A pleasant restaurant but nothing special except for the fact it's in a cave”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

The restaurant itself was beautiful with stylish interior and of course the fact that it is downstairs in a cave was very special. Loved that fact. Table layout was good and you don't have anyone invading your personal space. We found the menu to be limited but did each find something which we enjoyed. The speed of the service was good as in it flowed nicely with just enough time between each course to suit myself and my husband. The only downside was the waiter, he was not really what we have come to expect from the french. Not very welcoming or friendly to be honest, although he might just have been having a bad day, which we can all have.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottery St. Mary, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
760 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
“A Grand Place to eat”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

The principal square of Arrace, The Grand Place, provides a bewildering choice of places to eat. You might like to try La Cave des Saveurs. It has outside dining and, as the name suggests, a brick and stone vaulted basement room. The menu offers a good range of typical fare that is expertly prepared and presented. English is spoken.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cave des Saveurs also viewed

 
Arras, Pas-de-Calais
 
Arras, Pas-de-Calais
Arras, Pas-de-Calais
 

Been to La Cave des Saveurs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing