We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food ok, but service ugh!”
Review of Le Palerme

Le Palerme
Ranked #50 of 178 Restaurants in Arras
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
360 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Food ok, but service ugh!”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Went on the evening of 9th June with husband & Australian friend. The waiters were unfriendly & really we got the impression that they do not like the English/Australians too much! All other tables were given nibbles with their pre-dinner drinks, & we had to ask twice for parmesan cheese. It eventually came with 3 of the most burnt rolls you can imagine.
The food was quite good & reasonably priced, shame about the waiting staff. Cannot recommend it!
Have been there before several years ago & it was much more friendly.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caryl1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    81
    37
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Berwick
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good quality Italian food at a reasonable price”
Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

We have just finished our meal and walked back to our room and decided that this restaurant needed a good review.
I had the penne pasta and my wife had the lasagna, both very good.
Good honest food, not 5 star, but it doesn't try to be.
Good location and good service.
Definitely worth a try, as the alternatives do not look good!

Helpful?
Thank Bryan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, UK
Level Contributor
102 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Nice Italian restaurant on the Grand Place”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

we ate in the cellar of the restaurant which had a nice and cosy atmosphere. The food was excellent and in copious quantity. the price ticket was modest, and the service very good. I would recommend this restaurant for a dinner with friends or colleagues.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne7759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
239 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Good value pasta and pizza”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Small relaxed bistro; quick, good service but we were not hurried and were asked if we wanted a break before coffee was served. Excellent pasta and pizza - you can watch chef cooking at the kitchen end of the salon - good value if you want a simple, relaxed meal. Children welcome. House wine was a bit thin - pay a bit more for a decent bottle.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank horacesmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Cold pizza, cheap wine and food that doesn't do the Italians justice”
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Of the few restaurants in Arras with an online presence, La Palerme stood out when my husband and I researched our one night stay. However, our experience was disappointing.

The white wine list had just two French options, one very expensive. We instead opted for an Italian wine, served to us without a cooler. The waiter did take our order promptly and the food arrived within 4-5 minutes, but we wished they’d taken a bit more time and care. The bread we were given – a charge we later had to pay for – was burnt and not cooked in the middle.

My husband’s pizza, a Lazio, was served cold. He sent it back and took solace in an increasingly warm bottle of Italian wine. My arrabiata pasta was served with ham, not something I'd encountered before. I picked at the pasta, to salvage something from the meal.

All in all, for 40 euros we had an unsatisfactory meal and wished we’d gone elsewhere.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joniayn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Palerme also viewed

Arras, Pas-de-Calais
Arras, Pas-de-Calais
 
Arras, Pas-de-Calais
Arras, Pas-de-Calais
 

Been to Le Palerme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing