We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“top floor” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel D'Angleterre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel D'Angleterre
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Arras
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“top floor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

We booked into this hotel as it is convenient to travel to thiepval war memorial, which my husband wanted to see,his uncle is remembered there,after losing his life in the first world war.The hotel is situated opposite Aras train station,trains do not disturb your sleep.very smart hotel & large clean room,queen size bed,loo separate from main bathroom which was good,hairdryer etc.No tea or coffee fascilities which seems to be the norm in france.Only one draw back,having smokers amongst us it was annoying having to go up & down 4 floors in the lift & stand in the wind and rain,our fault i know,but thats the drawback of no balcony.
Breakfast was a bit hit & miss the 1st morning,the water for the eggs was hot the second morning,mostly continental,but filling.A descent hotel that provides parking & set in a lovely architectural town,lots of shops & eating places.

Room Tip: if you smoke ask for a lower floor,otherwise no preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peacheswolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    52
    29
    12
    11
See reviews for
28
32
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arras
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

Enjoyed our stay in this hotel, very friendly and helpful staff. Nice position opposite the train station. Our room had a very large bed and was very comfortable. Had the breakfast in the hotel and it was plenty.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Kay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

We were well received and the rooms were large and beds comfortable (I had a group of 8). Breakfast typical French fayre, which means you will have to stop for lunch!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have the view over to the station, but pick up the morning noise as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with innstant.com

Helpful?
Thank SgtBilkoWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

stayed at this hotel in March after reading other reviews and was not at all disappointed. Had a very spacious double bedroom overlooking the front of the hotel. Very large king sized bed and very comfy. Friendly staff. Didn't eat breakfast there at 9 euros as there is a huge choice of cafes in Arras at 6.5 euros or less. Loved a little cafe on the grand place. Used the little bar/cafe 2 doors down from the hotel for drinks as it so lovely and warm whilst there, very firiendly and spoke good english. Would def stay at this hotel again .

Room Tip: large rooms at the front, dont worry about the train station opposite - can't hear trains in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tarrant2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

I very nearly cancelled this booking the closer it got to getting to Arras on our recent holiday in northern France. I'd decided the close proximity to the station was going to make it very noisy - I couldn't have been more wrong. We had a wonderful large room on the fourth floor and, with the window shut, there was absolutely no noise from the street. The bathroom was large and clean and the separate toilet was a luxury we've never experienced in any other hotel in all our years of travel!! The reception staff were extremely friendly and helpful. It was also very easy to find if travelling by car, with plenty of space to park and offload bags right outside, then underground parking a very short distance away.

The only drawback, and I hesitate to mention it because I don't want to deter people from staying here, was the restaurant. One night we were simply too tired to go walking to find somewhere to eat so ate at the hotel. We were the only ones there so had the undivided attention of the lovely barman Teesh (sp?) who couldn't have been more friendly. However, the food was average to dreadful! Teesh was so lovely we lied and said it was great! Maybe because we were the only ones there the chef didn't bother putting the effort in or maybe he's just not that good! Teesh did say there are two chefs so we must have drawn the short straw and got the not so good one!

Don't let this put you off staying there - there are plenty of restaurants all around.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gindog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale
Level Contributor
341 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

If you want a chain hotel don't stay here.

I have stayed here in excess of 20 times and keep coming back. I prefer it to any of the other Arras options.

The rooms are huge if furnished in a dated style. There is a large desk, coffee table, sideboard & the beds would sleep 3 comfortably. Also the 2 suite rooms are massive if there are 3 or 4 of you.The staff are a little quirky but friendly and helpful. I think all rooms have a separate toilet.
I have never been when the hotel is busy and the buffet style breakfast is quite sufficient. It is usually easy to park on street within 100 metres of the hotel and Arras has more places to eat than it is possible to review: either within 1 minute walk from the hotel or the 5 minutes it takes to get to the Grand Place.

Room Tip: All rooms fromt onto the square so no choice there. Top floor has weakes (free) wi-fi connection. So...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeylandAtlantean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

Stayed here as family of 5 in Oct 2010. As others have mentioned, it is a dated hotel and not the cheapest, but, despite that, we rather liked it. We were given two large interconnecting rooms, with furniture that I would describe as "English bed & breakfast". But it was clean and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Public parking is just across the road and has to be paid for - it could be tricky to find a space when the town is busy. Plenty of restaurants within a ten minute walk, especially on the large town squares, which must be seen.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arinley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arras hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mercure Arras Centre Gare
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Arras
0.2 mi away
Ibis Arras Centre Les Places
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel de l'Univers
Hotel de l'Univers
#6 of 14 in Arras
3.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Les Trois Luppars
0.0 mi away
Hotel Moderne
Hotel Moderne
#9 of 14 in Arras
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel D'Angleterre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel D'Angleterre

Property: Hotel D'Angleterre
Address: 7 Place du Marechal Foch, 62000, Arras, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Arras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Arras
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel D'Angleterre 4*
Number of rooms: 125

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing