We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A precious gem hidden in The French Pyrenees”
Review of La Ferme De Soulan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Ferme De Soulan
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A precious gem hidden in The French Pyrenees”
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Our stay here for only 4 nights was spectacular in every way - from the setting up above St Lary Soulan to the authentic beautiful, cozy B&B, to the charming, wonderful hosts Julia and Sylvain whose concern for every detail made our stay so special. On the reservation I mentioned being Vegan. They bought and prepared every meal especially. We ate 3 delicious dinners there, which I strongly recommend. Other guests enjoyed delicacies of the region.
Make sure to call directly if 'no room availability' shown.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lindalador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    20
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
61
153
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We spent two days at this charming B & B in October. Our room (with spectacular views of the valley below) was super-clean. The size was more than adequate. Our bed was firm, but not excessively so. We liked the little quirky things, like the walk-in shower forming part of the room, the television hidden in a cupboard, or being encouraged to wear the "slippers" provided at the entrance. Presumably this is especially necessary during the ski season .
Breakfast consisted of 4 varieties of home-made jams, bread (the two days we were there this was (home-made ?? sour-dough), but no vienoiseries, which we found slightly odd. Yoghurts and boiled eggs are also on offer.
The owners made us really welcome and, gave us excellent advice on finding restaurants etc.
All in all and address that I would recommend and return to.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank peteplum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

My husband and I spent three nights at La Ferme de Soulan in September. What a gem! The hosts were both professional and congenial, giving us suggestions for hikes on each of our three days there. It was wonderful to have dinner at the inn each night - plentiful and delicious food and wine by the fireplace. We highly recommend La Ferme as a lovely base for exploring this area of the Pyrenees.
p.s. perhaps the best shower ever!

Room Tip: Our first floor room had a fabulous view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JojoAshland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed two nights in late September. It is a difficult drive to the 2/3 point of the Col d'adet, not for the faint of heart. But, well worth the climb. Immaculate room with comfortable furnishings and an incredible view across the valley. The owners are more than accommodating and even made a light dinner on the second night, even though the kitchen is normally closed on Tuesday. Their children were sweet and the cats are very friendly as well. Their suggestions for meals and activities were very good and we loved every minute we were there.

Room Tip: There is only one room with a view, ask for that when you make your booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeff801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed in this fantastic chambres d'hotes in July for three nights to watch the pyrenees sections of the Tour de France.....and it was excellent in every way. Our rooms were spotless with great facilities, the "chill out" area upstairs was perfect for relaxing in and the sun terrace gave us a wonderful area with fantastic views to top up our tans. But what really made it special were our wonderful hosts who couldn't have been any more accommodating. Breakfast and dinner were superb and everything was freshly prepared that day, even our packed lunch was delicious. We cannot fault La Ferme de Soulan and are already looking forward to our next stay there in just a few weeks......what an amazing find!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We arrived in a surprise snow storm in May. By the time we drove to the tope of the mountain it went from rain the a snow storm. The host built us a fire in the common room and we watched from the full wall to wall, ceiling to floor window. We did not realize the only restaurant was at the bottom of the mountain. We were nervous about driving to the bottom but had no food. Although they do not serve dinner they brought us a meat, bread, cheese plate, carrot salad and bottle of wine. Although we did pay them when we left it was a unexpected kindness. Their English is excellent and kindness was unexpected but wonderful. Our room was spotless and we would love to return many times. Thank you Julia and Sylvain.

Room Tip: Our was under common room upstairs and was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonsai1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were fortunate to have a room with a picture postcard view of the valley and surrounding peaks, which we could enjoy lying in bed. The B&B also has a sun terrace, and its lounge overlooks the mountains & valley as well.
Our room was spotless. The hosts were friendly, but not intrusive, and spoke excellent English. We didn't have dinner there, but can say that breakfasts consisted of bread, home-made preserves and sometimes cake or cheeses and/or yoghurts, plus cereal.
May must be out of season as most of Saint Lary's bars, restaurants and shops were closed, as were the cable cars. The upside was that the local hiking trails were deserted.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tvjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Lary-Soulan
1.5 mi away
Mercure Saint Lary Sensoria
Mercure Saint Lary Sensoria
#1 of 10 in Saint-Lary-Soulan
470 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Rives de L'Aure
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les ...
#2 of 10 in Saint-Lary-Soulan
410 reviews
18.1 mi away
La Grange aux Marmottes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
La Pergola
La Pergola
#5 of 10 in Saint-Lary-Soulan
98 reviews
14.2 mi away
Hotel la Breche de Roland
1.2 mi away
Hotel Neste de Jade
Hotel Neste de Jade
#1 of 1 in Vignec
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Ferme De Soulan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Ferme De Soulan

Property: La Ferme De Soulan
Address: Rue Basse, 65170, Saint-Lary-Soulan, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Hautes-Pyrenees > Saint-Lary-Soulan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Lary-Soulan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charm and character Bed and Breakfast, with panoramic view on the Pyrenees. 4 Large double bedrooms. Great comfort, quiet. Sauna, steamer. Large lounge with fireplace and view on the mountains. Home cooked meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your La Ferme De Soulan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing