We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, good location for skiing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Madame Vacances Residence Cami Real
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Just returned after spending New Year in St Lary.
Having been skiing in the Pyrenees before, we were really pleasantly surprised at how friendly and welcoming the staff were. They couldn't have been more helpful and went out of their way to ensure we had a great stay. The location is ideal for a short walk to both ski lifts.
There were six in our party and we booked the apartment that slept 8 which worked out well, it would be a bit cramped and without enough privacy for 8 people.
The communal areas of the residence are pretty jaded but the accommodation is more than adequate for the price paid. Let's face it, there aren't many ski resorts where 6 people can stay for less than 400€ per week and they have a pool to boot!
The town itself is charming with plenty of shops, great Boulangeries and some nice ski wear boutiques. The evenings can be as quiet or as lively as you like, whether you prefer a good meal or bar hopping till the early hours (5am), most tastes are catered for.
We found the nightlife to be quite a young crowd who are overall welcoming and good natured but it definitely helps if you speak some French. The resort itself is fantastic, We were a party of mixed abilities and every one of us had a brilliant time.
There was only one 'fly in the ointment' as you might say, a couple of our party needed hire kit so we booked ski hire online at Sport 2000 Loc Aventure, unfortunately, from the moment we walked in we realised we weren't welcome, from the rude surly woman on the desk to the poorly trained fitters, it was a debacle. Whether it was due to their ineptitude or their sheer unpleasantness is debatable but they only fitted 1 boot and ski then handed the other boot and ski to our fellow skiier and pretty much showed them the door. The other person was hiring a snowboard which they set up completely wrong for them, had we not been experienced enough to realise the problems, it could have cost them both a days ski lift pass 34€ each, and a wasted trip up the mountain. There are lots of far better hire shops available, my advice is don't go there unless you enjoy being insulted and badly served.
Despite this we really enjoyed our time in St Lary and we're all looking forward to our next visit and would happily stay in the Cami Real again. Thank you Flora for your kindness!

Room Tip: Book a larger apartment than you think you'll need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thatsagoodname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 350 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2011

Travelled for a week in March and stayed at the Cami Real.
There were 2 couples and we were looking to get away from just the ordinary ski resorts that are full of Brits.
St Lary did this very well for us - it is in the French Pyrenees but it gets a lot of Spainish coming over and the week had a mix of French and Spainish sounds and cultures going on.

The accommodation was very comfortable and the skiing was excellent - despite the ropey conditions in the Northern Alps, the snow here was just fine - the British press failed to report this but hardly a surprise.

All in all - lovely place and we will certainly consider coming back in the summer - Zenith Holidays offer some rafting options with St Lary as a base and that looks tempting

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steviet272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serviceclientele, Responsable relations clients at Madame Vacances Residence Cami Real, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2011

Dear member of TripAdvisor,

We would like to thank you for your time and the comments about your stay in our residence.

Be ensured that your comments will be passed on to all teams concerned as it motivates us to do even better.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in one of our residences.

Best regards,

Customers Relations Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2010

We booked for one Week in MArch via Skill Collection. They were great and arranged all the transfers, ski pass , lessons for the kids etc.........
we arrived after a long trip at about 3.00pm to not be able to get into the building at all. Luckily some guests who knew the code let us in! Reception was completely shut and whenwe knocked on the door to the reception we were basically tlod to come back at 5.00pm.!!
So we went for a walk around Sant Lary, which was beautiful and had a nice cold beer!
When we got back it was bedlam!- Millions of French and Spanish Holiday makers checking in. HUGE queue's. We managed to get a turn to find out that we had to wait until 6.30 pm for out bedlinen as we had to make our own beds up.... not ideal.

The next day was lovley- Skiing great- the ski schools were fantastic and everyone really friendly. The kids loved it- they were first time skiers and despite having no other English kids in their groups they were fine. It is a very Frnch/Spanish resort- which we loved however my parents who were non skiers found it difficult. Nobody was really up for helping- giving them advice of things that they could do during the day. There was very little.

It was expensive to buy food and drink and we took our own up the slopes for lunch.

The main dissapointment of the holiday was having to pay 140 Euros to have our apartment cleaned at the end of the week!!- Most of the other people there- seemed to be aware of this and been as though they had driven in their cars had all the stuff to do it. We didn't and also were being picked up at 8.00am in our transfer to come back so it was virtually impossible. This was NOT GOOD.

All in all- great holiday and the skiing was fab- ski school brill and apartments nice enough. However was a bit quite if you aren't skiing.....and not many English Speaking People at all!

Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
1  Thank bectruc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank flo b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, traveled with friends
Thank Gottleeway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, traveled with family
Thank Celine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Elo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Lary-Soulan
0.2 mi away
Mercure Saint Lary Sensoria
Mercure Saint Lary Sensoria
#1 of 10 in Saint-Lary-Soulan
532 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lagrange Prestige Residence l'Ardoisiere
Lagrange Prestige Residence l'Ar...
#8 of 10 in Saint-Lary-Soulan
89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Rives de L'Aure
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les ...
#2 of 10 in Saint-Lary-Soulan
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Pergola
La Pergola
#5 of 10 in Saint-Lary-Soulan
106 reviews
4.5 mi away
Residence les Jardins de Balnea
10 mi away
Residence Mer & Golf Pic du Midi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madame Vacances Residence Cami Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madame Vacances Residence Cami Real

Address: Rue Du Chemin De Sailhan, 65170, Saint-Lary-Soulan, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Hautes-Pyrenees > Saint-Lary-Soulan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Saint-Lary-Soulan
Price Range: $58 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Madame Vacances Residence Cami Real 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Madame Vacances Residence Cami Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing