We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what I was expecting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Bowling de Millau
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Millau
Cornebarrieu, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not what I was expecting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

This hotel gets a lot of hits when looking for hotels in Millau and, at the time of writing was highly rated. This maybe a reflection of the general standard of hotels in Millau - I cannot confirm but I hope, for the sake of Millau, that this is not the case. What it is is a clean and simple motel. As the name suggests, there is a bowling alley in the adjacent building. There is plenty of parking, some of which is secured with a key code gate after 10:00pm. When I arrived I was surprised to find that it is out town - I found no mention of this in the various web sites. I also found myself in a dormitory with 7 single beds to myself, no bedside tables, no light switches (apart from the one by the door) and the cleaner's room were among the room's less attractive features. Breakfast was basic but plentiful - but since everything was wrapped in plastic going back for more was not a tempting option. Overall, if you are only passing through it is OK but completely forgettable.

Room Tip: Avoid the dormitories.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Husky31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    80
    22
    9
    7
See reviews for
32
76
8
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

Stopped here for one night on the way down to St Tropez, specifically to be able to see the Millau viaduct.

The location is good, a few minutes off the Motorway, and easy enough to find, although it is located in a slightly straight place...imagine a UK leisure park with a Travel Lodge or similar, and you get the idea.

The room was very basic with the double and two single beds practically up against ech other. The bathroom was almost as big as the main room, with a 'wet room' like style, although not luxurious.

Not somewhere to stay for more than a night, I'd suggest, but as a stop-over, it's ideal.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RPT70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epernon, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2011

Uninspiring setting, but the room was modern, light and functional with a large, comfortable bed (seemed new) and spotless fresh bedding. Plenty of room to move in the (also spotless) shower room, too. Perfect for an overnight break, at a very affordable price.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Chryse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2010

Given the price (39 euro including breakfast and parking) and the concept of being next to a bowling alley I didn't expect much from this hotel, but for an overnight stay it was absolutely fine. Clean, spacious room, quiet, modern decor, proved ideal for us.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pavel-34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2010

Title says it all. The nearby bowling alley bowls till 5 a.m. but didn't bother us. Inside, the soundproofing is effective, linen is clean and crisp, WiFi good, Breakfast certainly overpriced at 6 euros for croissant and bread. Parking OK. Roomy room, almost a real bathroom, and a table/desk with 2 chairs. Handy bar in Bowling Alley, supermarket close by. Easy to get to by car. Remember, it's cheap and cheerful, not the Ritz.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brianinfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2009

Hotel Bowling, check in was the most interesting I have ever experienced! shared with shoe hire in the bowling Alley. We were concerned enough to ask to view the rooms before paying in advance in cash! however the fear was totally unjustified all three rooms our party of 6 occupied were spotless, with lovely white linen, the bathrooms were also lovely. Downsides (and there have to be some in a 2*) no toiletries are provided (1 sachet of shampoo shower gel per room) The TV has limited channels and there are no shower curtains The noise of the pins can be heard all over the hotel, but they are not open 24/7 so its not really an issue, although the walls between rooms are quite thin which could be more of a problem, we were well aware of our neighbours presence. 24 hours of Free WiFi (wee fee) more than made up for any shortfalls for our teenagers.
There are no facilities to make a hot drink. common in French hotels anyway, there is a pricey drinks machine. Meals other than breakfast are taken in the bowling alley, which had a limited menu, and apart from a pizza shop in the supermarket across the road we could find no other restaurant within walking distance. Millau town centre (drive necessary we feel) however has plenty of nice places to eat, even Mc Donalds has a spectacular view of the bridge from its outside terrace. Breakfast buffet, at 5 euro's was overpriced. A better option a trip to the Casino supermarket and purchase fresh croissants and juice.
Secure car parking - wasn't, there were CCTV cameras and fence but the gate was missing!!! still the area was well lit and as in many motels it was possible to park under the bedroom window.
This hotel served the purpose for us, somewhere comfortable and clean to sleep after a long day on the road travelling through France, it is in a convenient position and standing on tiptoe leaning out of our window we could see the bridge! Do not expect 5* luxury this is a budget motel which does just what it says on the label.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJ565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Millau hotels
0.5 mi away
Deltour Millau City Hotel
1.2 mi away
Citotel Jalade
Citotel Jalade
#9 of 17 in Millau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hericlea Hotel Sport
Hericlea Hotel Sport
#11 of 17 in Millau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Cevenol Hotel
Cevenol Hotel
#2 of 17 in Millau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.1 mi away
Deltour Hotel Millau
Deltour Hotel Millau
#10 of 17 in Millau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.0 mi away
Campanile Millau
Campanile Millau
#14 of 17 in Millau
3.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bowling de Millau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bowling de Millau

Property: Hotel Bowling de Millau
Address: 33 Chemin de Salelles | Centre Commercial Cap du Crés, 12100, Millau, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aveyron > Millau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Millau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bowling de Millau 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bowling Hotel is based in Millau, near the Millau Viaduct. Free private parking, free internet access (Wifi), restaurant. Enjoy the green touch, solars panels, recovery of rainwater, heat pumps.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bowling de Millau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing