We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must See for People who appreciate technology” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Millau Viaduct

Millau Viaduct
Ranked #1 of 25 things to do in Millau
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Paulhan, France
Level Contributor
156 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Must See for People who appreciate technology”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

Spend time in the visitors' center and take the time to watch the video of the bridge's planning and construction...

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JPDeA-43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,650 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,155
    424
    52
    12
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
233 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Stunningly Beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

In our recent trip to Italy and France, this was a site that we had on the must-see list, and it didn't disappoint. Driving through the area without seeing this viaduct is like going to San Francisco and not seeing the Golden Gate Bridge. Be sure to stop at the museum for a short film on the design and building of this work of art. We also went through Millau, and it looked like a great place to spend a day or two.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank nancysid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

It's the tallest bridge in the world. Simply remarkable. You can learn how it was built and how long it took by watching a very short film inside.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank D380rahL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
247 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Astonishing construction”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

We first saw it many km. ahead, when descending one of the hills in our A-75 journey from Clermont Ferrand to Barcelona. Impressive at this first sight but getting better when getting closer. Highly recommendable to exit the motorway and take some photos.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Toni3452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Ontario
Level Contributor
186 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 381 helpful votes
“The Marriage of Technology and Art”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

We decided to travel out of our way to see this bridge, based on the great reports we had read. I am so glad we did. We crossed this bridge on the same day that we visited the Pont du Gard. It was our "Salute to the Great Bridges of France Day". We were advised by a young man at a service centre to take an exit and view it from the bottom before crossing it. It was excellent advice. The view from below really provided a total view of the structure while the views crossing it were interesting but limited due to speed and perspective. I am sorry that we didn't have time to visit the information centre to learn more about it but at the same time, I am glad that we did not leave France without seeing it. Just beautiful!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Pokieman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Millau Viaduct also viewed

 

Been to Millau Viaduct? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing