We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More than adequate”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mercure Millau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Millau
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Millau
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“More than adequate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

We stayed for 1 night and were upgraded to a club room. This hotel is good value for money. There is a decent bar downstairs and the room had tea and coffee making facilities.
Good sized rooms with a comfortable bed. Friendly staff. Nice view of the viaduct. good neighbourhood for socialising.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view of town and the viaduct
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    131
    104
    26
    8
See reviews for
52
154
15
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

Having stayed in this hotel last year I anticipated another wodnerful night but ws disappointed with the service and quality of food at dinner. Next time, I would find an alternative restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian_di_Bolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2011

What a complete surprise! Millau was a last minute idea on my way to the Riviera and the Mercure was the only hotel left with any rooms. I wasn't expecting much but wow, what a complete treat! The rooms are very clean and fresh with a very summery feel and pastel colour decor. Service was second to none. Especially Julie. She was very patient, extremely helpful and could speak English very well which was a bonus for me considering I only know a few sentences. She gave me a map, drew directions, booked a restaurant and was generally just kind and pleasant overall.

And my god you should see the sunset from floor 7...
An absolute must stay in the beautiful little city of Millau!

Room Tip: I was in room 711
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wild_nothing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
162 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2010

I stayed here on September 21 2010. I booked it in the hope I would get a viaduct view - alas not and I am a Accor Platinum card holder. The room I got was basic but functional, we spent as little time in it as possible. Internet was included in my rate and was good, breakfast was also included and was fairly basic.

Parking is down the road a little, it is secure and very good. The hotel is in a great location and has some nice places to eat around it. The rate was also good for the room, but I would not stay there again.

If it was a Ibis, it would be fine, I expect more from Mercure.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drew Jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2006

Boring - average - basic
Great location for exploring Millau and the viaduct

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — views/ sterile surroundings
  • Tips/Secrets — go somewhere else unless you just want a stop over motel
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank THP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Riding, UK
Level Contributor
100 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2006

This hotel is bang in the centre of town, which is thick with traffic, so where do you park ? Fortunately the hotel has its own garage just behind and at 10 euro a day it's worth it. We were also pleasantly surprised at the size and quality of the rooms which had comfortable chairs and plenty of room for a table - as well as a balcony overlooking the viaduct. The hotel is in a nine storey structure, but the first three floors of rooms are dedicated to the Ibis brand (about 15% cheaper) which is approached through another entrance. Street noise is minimal and the rooms are air conditioned. Dinner is bistro syle but the quality is reasonable good and the quantity enormous. Breakfast is international buffet syle with a good selection of cold fare.
Millau has no special tourist magnet apart from the viaduct which is spectacular beyond words and well worth seeing. The visitor centre is also worth a visit and if one looks very carefully at the exhibitions you might just be able to see that the bridge architect was British ! We were interested to learn that in Roman times Millau had 600 potters working to supply the entire empire with red clay pots - a few hundred of which are on display in the museum. Its also still an important glove making centre with some excellent gloves to purchase.
I could certainly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting the area or the bridge.

  • Liked — Central with view of viaduct
  • Disliked — Smokey bar
  • Tips/Secrets — Request bridge view
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ibadan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 643 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2006

Until recently, the provincial town of Millau was a notorious bottleneck. No longer. The new towering Viaduc de Millau not only speeds traffic towards the Med and back again, it does so in the most beautiful, technically awesome way imaginable. This is a 21st structure to marvel at, to drive over, to compare with some of the greatest architectural accomplishments of the modern era. The best views of it are from the west, along the road from Saint-Affrique, and you can admire it, too, from some of the rooms at the Mercure Hotel.

This town centre lodging is well nigh unaccceptable in 2006. The building is clearly badly maintained and everything looks tired. It is a bog standard chain hotel for shower curtain salesmen and their ilk. Anyone used to staying in upmarket hotels will be in for a shock. The room (510) did offer a nice view of the town and bridge but everything else about it was fully functional yet dispiriting. Breakfast was awful, served in a room of epic tackiness. A pity because the staff seemed very pleasant.

I can best some up this place as reminiscent of Romanian hotels of the 1980s. We checked out the other places in town and decided that Millau itself, though quite charming in many respects, is best avoided as far as hotels and restaurants are concerned. See the bridge, drive over it, and move on.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pausanias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Millau hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Millau hotels
0.3 mi away
Cevenol Hotel
Cevenol Hotel
#2 of 17 in Millau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ibis Millau
Ibis Millau
#6 of 17 in Millau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Chateau de Creissels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Causses
Hotel des Causses
#3 of 17 in Millau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
1.3 mi away
Campanile Millau
Campanile Millau
#14 of 17 in Millau
3.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
1.2 mi away
Domaine de Saint-Esteve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Millau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Millau

Property: Mercure Millau
Address: 1 Place de la Tine, 12100, Millau, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aveyron > Millau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Millau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Millau 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fully refurbished, airconditioned hotel is located in the heart of Millau, looking onto the Viaduct, close to shopping and only 800m from the SNCF train station and bus terminal. This 3 star Mercure features rooms between the 5th and 9th floors withviews of the Viaduct or the limestone plateaus known as the Causses. Guests receive a warm, personal welcome at the Au Bouchon de la Fontaine restaurant and the Bar a vin de la Tine. Little ones are welcome in our Childrens Corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Millau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing