We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Class!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Villa De Mazamet
Ranked #1 of 10 Mazamet B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top Class!!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This was our second stay at La Villa de Mazamet, 8 days this time. We received a warm welcome from Mark and Peter and a complimentary drink on arrival!
La Villa is such a beautiful house with very fine decor in all of the rooms and there are plenty of places to relax inside and out. The en suite bedrooms are pure luxury, with everything needed for a comfortable stay. The new Gazebo compete with luxury seating is a delightful shaded place to sit and read or enjoy a chat with other guests. Dining at La Villa is very special with meals prepared to perfection by Peter using local ingredients and herbs from their own vegetable garden, together with Mark's excellent service everything is so smoothly mastered. One day Mark and Peter provided us with a map detailing a walk around Mazamet town. This was marked with places of interest complete with translations to English of the information boards located around the town. We found this very interesting and enjoyed a recommended stop for lunch at the Salon de Te!
There is much to see in the surrounding area.
All in all a very special place to stay!!

Room Tip: We stayed in a Superior Balcony room with a view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    646
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
48
481
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

This elegant restored villa in quiet, leafy Rue Pasteur is spacious and calm, beautifully presented by hosts Peter & Mark. Ensuite rooms are large and comfortable and attention to detail in every respect would be difficult to match. Expect fabulous food, professional printed tour guides for daily excursions, and a level of service which is friendly and attentive without being intrusive. Value for money would be hard to beat too. Other guests are lucky enough to be able to visit several times a year. Too far to travel for us - we are envious!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annabelvictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We spent 2 nights at this wonderful hotel in July 2013 and loved every minutes of our stay here. We were warmly welcomed by Mark and the complimentary glass of wine before dinner was a nice touch. Our upgrade was a lovely surprise too.

The decor is very elegant and stylish but comfortable and inviting. The Villa has been lovingly and meticulously restored by the current owners and it is obvious that much thought, care and attention to detail has gone into the restoration. The rooms are beautifully decorated with lovely antiques, gorgeous fabrics and soft furnishings and upmarket toiletries. The lounges are wonderful to relax in and the pool looked very inviting, although we didn't use it as it was raining when we were there.

The food was delicious and we had dinner on one of our two nights there. Unfortunately Mark and Peter had a night off from cooking on our second night, but there are restaurants within walking distance and Mark was extremely helpful with suggestions and booked us a table at a restaurant close by.

This is a truly special and unique place to stay, due in equal parts to the stunning villa and to Mark and Peter's warm hospitality. We really cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PandVCorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2013

La Villa de Mazamet was the perfect place to end our French honeymoon! Peter and Mark have done a tremendous job of making their bed & breakfast truly special...so much thought and attention goes into every detail to make your stay a wonderful memory and experience. We loved the location...beautiful countryside around Mazamet and we found driving around was easy. We loved the day trip maps and information pamphlets Mark and Peter have prepared for their guests and used these for many excursions. The food was fantastic and we chose to dine in 6 of the 7 days that we stayed. We loved our room...the linens and decor were amazing! Stay here if you are looking to vacation around Mazamet...you will be happy you did!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My wife and I recently had the pleasure of starting our honeymoon with 4 wonderful nights at La Villa De Mazamet.

Simply put, it is the perfect B&B. Peter and Mark, the owners who live on site and run the home, truly love what they do and have created an inn that is stylish, yet cozy, warm, and inviting. From the moment we started talking with them from our home in Los Angeles about our trip they had wonderful insights and suggestions into the region.

The hotel itself is wonderful...charming, elegant, yet still a home and not at all stuffy. The only downside is that the rooms are not air conditioned, but the trade off is that it's a wonderful, historic old mansion that has been meticulously restored. The beds are comfortable and the bathrooms are stunning...large and well appointed.

The food and drink that the gentlemen prepare is also delightful, whether their sprawling continental breakfast, or their sublime dinners. Mazamet itself is a pretty sleepy town without much great food, but Peter and Mark do a great job of preparing day trip ideas throughout the region with great tips about where to eat, what to see, etc.

Overall, the home itself is stunning, but the real gem here are Peter and Mark, who are so gracious with their suggestions, their remarkable food, and their most welcoming, lovely of ways. We adore them and are so grateful for our time at La Villa.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KRandKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We happened to stumble upon this gem by accident. We were searching for a last-minute place to sleep for the next night and they happened to have a cancellation. What was waiting for us totally took us by surprise!

Villa de Mazamet is not just a humble B&B, but much much more. The owners, Peter and Mark, have done their very best to make their business their our pleasure. As backpackers used to live under 10 euros per day in SE Asia, this luxury was very new to us, but welcomed nonetheless. From the detailed rooms to the personal service, the owners really tried their best to make us feel welcome.

As young travellers, however, we sometimes felt out of place. The other couples staying there were decades older than us, many times retired from work. I don't know if this is what's usually happening, though. Anyway, while the room rates were certainly very good value, extras like eating dinner could be a little too much for people travelling with a budget (for example, two person dinner with wine set us back with 80€). I'm not saying it's not worth it, but you will probably enjoy the experience more if you got the cash for it to do it the "proper" way. In their defense, they were very willing to help us find other places to eat, too!

All in all, Villa de Mazamet is an unique place with very much love poured into it from the owners who seem to be living their dream. It's a beautiful place to relax and enjoy your vacation and certainly worth all the praise it gets here!

(PS. We tried to write this in Finnish, but tripadvisor doesn't allow it, so here it is in English! Peace!)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wongawallan
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Mark and Peter are fantastic hosts-they anticipate their guests every need. The villa is elegantly decorated, but still has a warm friendly feeling from the moment you step in the front door. The bedroms are roomy and the beds are dressed with beautiful linen. Tea and coffee facilities are provided in the room as well as a bar fridge. The location of the villa is convenient to the train station at Mazamet and to the pretty park. Whilst the town of Mazamet itself is not stunning, there are numerous areas of interest within a close proximity to the villa and Peter and Mark are most helpful in providing detailed sightseeing routes to places of interest further afield. All round, the best accomodation that we have experienced in France.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mazamet
24.6 mi away
Cuq en Terrasses
Cuq en Terrasses
#1 of 1 in Cuq Toulza
293 reviews
22.3 mi away
Chateau de Palaja
Chateau de Palaja
#1 of 1 in Palaja
440 reviews
20.3 mi away
Hotel Le Pavillon du Chateau de Garrevaques
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Le Caussea
Le Caussea
#5 of 11 in Castres
110 reviews
8.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Castres
Ibis Styles Castres
#1 of 11 in Castres
212 reviews
20.0 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#9 of 39 in Carcassonne
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa De Mazamet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa De Mazamet

Property: La Villa De Mazamet
Address: 4 rue Pasteur, 81200 Mazamet, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Occitanie > Tarn > Mazamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Mazamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Villa de Mazamet is a stunning 1930’s property located in the Tarn department of SW France providing the highest quality Bed & Breakfast accommodation. Overlooking the Montagne Noire (Black Mountains), La Villa provides five sumptuous guest rooms all with ensuite facilities and amenities normally only found in high standard hotels. Other guest facilities include a table d'hôtes restaurant, TV lounge, small library, private walled garden with swimming pool and sun terrace. Le Petit Spa at La Villa provides a sauna, jacuzzi and a choice of massages. Mazamet provides an idea base from which to explore the region with two UNESCO World Heritage Sites (Carcassonne and Albi) just 45 mins away. Cycling, wine tasting, mountain lakes, walking, markets, the Canal du Midi, medieval villages and a host of other sites & activities are within one hour of La Villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Villa De Mazamet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Villa De Mazamet Hotel Mazamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing