We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth seeking out as a base to explore a part of south west France” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Villa De Mazamet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Villa De Mazamet
Ranked #1 of 10 Mazamet B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Worth seeking out as a base to explore a part of south west France”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We celebrated our 30th anniversary at the Villa. Expectations were high after reading the reviews but we were not disappointed! Our room was comfortable with beautiful views and the meals were delicious and good value. Mark and Peter were warm and helpful and went out of their way to make our anniversary very special.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryandMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villademazamet, Owner at La Villa De Mazamet, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to add a review after your stay with us, we really appreciate your kind comments.

We are so glad that the reviews on Trip Advisor led you to book with us for your 30th Anniversary and we are equally glad to read that we lived up to your expectations on this special milestone.

Appreciating it's a long way from Australia to visit SW France, perhaps you might plan spending your 40th anniversary with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
43
457
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
119 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

La Villa de Mazamet is without question the best B and B that I have ever stayed at, and I'm 78 years old! Owner Peter and Mark have lovingly restored the handsome, 1934 building adding only updated amenities such as heating, bathroom facilities and free wi-fi in the rooms. They have also thought of everything a guest might need from toiletries to beautifully printed guides for guests wanting tours of the area. Moreover, Peter is an extraordinary chef, and most nights, he offers a prix fixe, four course menu that is reasonably priced for the area and much better than most you'll find anywhere. Try as I may, I can not think of a single thing to qualify my recommendation except that it set a standard that all the B and B's I've stayed at since have not begun to measure up to.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank forsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villademazamet, Owner at La Villa De Mazamet, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to add a review after your stay with us, we really appreciate your kind comments.

It is, indeed, a wonderful comment to say that 'La Villa is the best B&B you have ever stayed in' - this is so heartening for us to learn and makes what we both do and love very rewarding.

Having travelled extensively ourselves before opening La Villa, we like to feel that we have a good understanding of what makes for a comfortable stay and an eye for detail in providing everything a guest may need to make them feel relaxed and "at home" too.

We hope the remainder for your holiday in France was as enjoyable as your time in Mazamet and that you returned to the USA safely.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us when there are such a vast (6,000 +) B&Bs you could have chosen in France!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Souterraine, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Impeccable styling, both inside and out, exquisite attention to detail, warm and charming hosts make La Villa De Mazamet the finest chambre d'hôte you will ever have the pleasure of visiting in France. Mark's discreet but genial service in the dining room made ever meal a pleasure and Peter made food that one just wants to eat. Thank you guys, you made our 6 day stay into a memory worth keeping.

Jan and Keith Barratt

Room Tip: All rooms are beautifully furnished and offer excellent value in your chosen price range.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keithbarratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villademazamet, Owner at La Villa De Mazamet, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to add a review after your stay with us, we really appreciate your kind comments.

It was our pleasure to have welcomed you both to La Villa and it is nice to read that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay.

As you appreciate, living in France yourselves, each region is so varied and interesting in its own right and we are glad that you were able to explore a little of the Tarn and our neighbouring Departments during your six days.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your spring break and we look forward to seeing you back in Mazamet in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

My husband and I have just enjoyed six days at La Villa- I had stayed with my sister two years previously and he finally gave in to my badgering to make a return visit.
This time the weather was kinder and we had a wonderful walk through the woods to Hautpool, with day trips to Albi, Carcassonne, Lautrec and Minerve amongst others. Our trips out were guided by Mark and Peter who have an in depth knowlege of the local area and who have gone to the trouble to organize printed guides and route maps.
The villa was as splendid as ever and we had the treat of an upgrade to the deluxe double with a huge and luxurious bathroom.
Thank you to Mark and Peter for all you did to make the stay so enjoyable- from helping with the organisation of transport from Toulouse, giving us a lift to Castres to collect our hire car, boooking restaurants for us in the evening and always being friendly, helpful and approachable.
The standard of the rooms is as top quality as ever with luxurious touches like crisp linen, gorgeous toiletries,fabulous shower and bath,fluffy towels,-I can go on and on!.
And the food, especially the evening meals, is of an exceptional standard.
We appreciated how much work it must take to run a place like La Villa with such care and meticulous attention to detail. Mark and Peter thoroughly deserve all the plaudits heaped on them.
Best wishes to you both for the coming season and we hope to return one day.

Room Tip: All the rooms are of a very high standard. Room 6 upstairs (deluxe double) has a bathroom bigger tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harassedmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villademazamet, Owner at La Villa De Mazamet, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to add a review after your stay with us, we really appreciate your kind comments.

We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your six days with us - you certainly managed to fit a lot into your stay from walks in the Montagne Noire to visiting some of the spectacular medieval villages dotted around our area.

In less than 12 months of us producing the self drive day tour maps & guides we have had to reprint three times, this shows just how popular they have become... and this past week we have taken delivery of a new guide for things to see and do on foot, bike, bus & train (ready for your next visit!)

Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next journey across the Channel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I found La Villa de Mazamet here on Tripadvisor. I always do a good amount of research when we travel to new places. We were very taken by the reviews and looked to their website. It is beautifully done, with the look of a very high end small boutique hotel. Everything promoted and promised on the site was as described. We ended up here during a very cold spell in early April. Both Mark and Peter were great at their posts. Mark at the front of the house hosting, and Peter doing his magic in the kitchen. They seem to be very hard working committed inn keepers. I would recommend this spot as a great central base for exploring the area. They helped us with a couple of day trips. All the information was printed out in great little pamphlets, which they can detail with a wealth of knowledge. The two nights we ate at the hotel were wonderful, with small quiet tables of locals and hotel guests. It would have been great to have warm sunny weather, but we will remember Mazamet and the Villa, not the rain.
Doug L
Boston, Massachusetts

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DougL776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villademazamet, Owner at La Villa De Mazamet, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to add a review after your stay with us, we really appreciate your kind comments.

We are glad that your research and our website made La Villa a base for your holiday in SW France and that our day tours gave you a flavour of our region. Albi & Carcassonne remain the top two favourites for our guests and, given our location, both are 45 mins away from Mazamet.

Thank you for dining with us also, we are glad to read that you enjoyed our cuisine and the atmosphere too - having a mix of guests from different parts of the world always makes it an international affair.

Although we can't promise the sunshine, there will always be a warm welcome ready for your return stay !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

A lovely stay at this well run b&b. Beautiful rooms serviced by excellent hospitality in an idyllic spot where attention to detail is evident in all quarters. If only all B&B’s could follow their example. Eating locally is average though, so investigate where’s good before you arrive

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villademazamet, Owner at La Villa De Mazamet, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to add a review after your stay with us, we really appreciate your kind comments.

Thank you for commenting on our hospitality and attention to detail - these are aspects that are very important for us (and our guests) and we strive to maintain and improve these all the time.

Naturally we are a little disappointed to read that you found eating locally 'average' as there are so many great local places to eat that we, ourselves, enjoy during the quieter winter months (ranging from bistro to Michelin Star). We do ask guests prior to arrival (should they choose not to dine at La Villa) if we can help with restaurant reservations and recommendations.

Hope that we may welcome you back to try our own table d'hôte dinner or perhaps some of our local favourite eateries.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Let's just say that the word “luxury" in hospitality has suffered from excessive usage to the point where it can raise expectations a bit too high. And when it's used to qualify a chambres d'hotes in a small French town rather than a super expensive hotel in a large city, the stakes are raised rather high indeed. But take two hard working English ex-pats with a serious dedication to detail, an exquisite sense of taste, superb hosting and cooking skills, have them renovate a lovely maison bourgeoise in the South of France and you have a recipe for success, even in France, a nation of complainers. Mark has perfected the tricky and delicate art of hosting with an impeccable sense of discretion. Peter delivered a table d'hote dinner that could have been competition for a single Michelin starred restaurant in Paris or Lyon. At every single level they have thought seriously about this endeavor, from the custom monogramed bed linens and bath towels to the goose down pillows, along with a sweet personalized letter you find in the bedroom. Our room and en suite bathroom were spacious, well appointed and decorated. Mark treated us to complimentary drinks upon our arrival in the first floor parlor room and the following evening, had a warm and inviting fire going in the fire place on a cold and snowy night. So bravo to these two Brits for raising the stake so high and delivering true luxury on every level!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villademazamet, Owner at La Villa De Mazamet, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to add a review after your stay with us, we really appreciate your kind comments.

It is very humbling to read such glowing praise - it was our pleasure to have welcomed you both and we are so pleased that your experience at La Villa was a very positive one.

We completely understand (from personal experience) that expectations are often raised by a property's website - and so we took great care when designing our own site to ensure that we reflected the reality of what guests will find here at La Villa, Mazamet and in the region.

Thank you once again for staying and enjoying La Villa and we hope you may return when your travels bring you back to our part of France.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mazamet
10.4 mi away
Demeure de Flore
Demeure de Flore
#1 of 1 in Lacabarede
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
8.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Castres
Ibis Styles Castres
#1 of 11 in Castres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
6.9 mi away
Le Caussea
Le Caussea
#6 of 11 in Castres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Les Jardins de Mazamet
Les Jardins de Mazamet
#2 of 10 in Mazamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
19.9 mi away
Carcassonne Bed and Breakfast
Carcassonne Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 58 in Carcassonne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa De Mazamet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa De Mazamet

Property: La Villa De Mazamet
Address: 4 rue Pasteur, 81200 Mazamet, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Occitanie > Tarn > Mazamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Mazamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Villa de Mazamet is a stunning 1930’s property located in the Tarn department of SW France providing the highest quality Bed & Breakfast accommodation.Overlooking the Montagne Noire (Black Mountains), La Villa provides five sumptuous guest rooms all with ensuite facilities and amenities normally only found in high standard hotels.Other guest facilities include a table d'hôtes restaurant, TV lounge, small library, private walled garden with swimming pool and sun terrace. Le Petit Spa at La Villa provides a sauna, jacuzzi and a choice of massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your La Villa De Mazamet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Villa De Mazamet Hotel Mazamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing