We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nightmare”
Review of Liselund Ny Slot

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Liselund Ny Slot
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Borre
Granada, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A nightmare”
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Well, no wonder the price is so high, I don't think anyone ever wants to come back!

When we reached the hotel no one was even there, we had to call someone and it took them 10 mins to get to us. It was a rather unpleasant welcome, we did not get shown to our room so had to find it ourselves. Our room was dirty, with lots of mosquitos. The bathroom was small and had no soap. Breakfast was terrible as we didn't get given a choice, it was just given to us and definately didn't look freshly made. It was something you would have expected for a much cheaper hotel- I think the description and reputation of the hotel were very deceiving. I would definately recommend a different place to stay if you are going to visit this area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank angel_libra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan K, Owner at Liselund Ny Slot, responded to this review, January 28, 2012
Dear Angel_Libra,

We are terrible sorry to hear about your bad experience at Liselund Ny Slot which stands in stark contrast to all our everyday enforced values, goals and ambitions.

We only wish that you had made us aware about these problems during your stay - we would have gone out of our way to solve this. We also welcome you to contact us now so that we can talk about how we can welcome you back to Liselund Ny Slot and give you and your family the wonderful experience that you deserve.

Kind regards,
Krista Steffensen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    24
    16
    17
    9
See reviews for
18
51
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Odense, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Maybe a nice place but the hotel is already a disaster! Ugly rooms, bathrooms, small and neglected. Food just awful. Terribly expensive. I do not recommend and advise against.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maxel1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Borre hotels

Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Went on our wedding day to have lunch. The place is very romantic location wise. However the food is terribly basic and poor quality. The beer was not cold and the menus done in cheep plastic rappings. Only go there for the nice walk in the romantic park.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrunoVinther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We booked this for two nights, taken in by the pictures and the promise of perfection. However, it was NOT perfect - just hugely overpriced and disappointing. The grounds are nice, but do not make up for it.

We stayed in a "suite", which consists of 2 adjoining rooms. The bedroom was nice, but the beds are two narrow single beds pushed together - not great. And the "living" room had 2 sofas but nothing else, so lots of room for suitcases, but no feeling of "home" here. Not even a hook or coat hanger to be seen, and certainly no TV, just a window where the rain leaked in.

The bathroom was small, with a shower behind a curtain, and no bath. Two small, thin towels were just about adequate, but certainly not luxurious. No prizes there either.

No lift, nor anyone to help with luggage; staff just looked while I struggled It is a long way up all those stairs with a heavy suitcase.

The internet/wifi did indeed work most of the time, but only in the common area - not the room.

Staff was friendly but from Poland - they tried their best, but spoke little except Polish. Not Danish, or German, or English, or French. Very frustrating to try to order anything or ask for anything at all.

Dinner was sold as a 700DKK/person all-inclusive gourmet event, and was anything but. Poorly cooked potatoes and dry chicken accompanied by wine from 2010 - acidic and just too young to drink. No wonder it was "all you can drink" :-(

The inclusive breakfast was also very basic. No pastries, and just one boring type of bread - no crusty rolls, no interesting jams, no hams. Just standard juice from concentrate, some scrambled eggs, some muesli, some rolls, and some cheese. Considering how great a Danish Breakfast can be, this was terrible.

In summary, stay anywhere else, just not here. There are lots of lovely B&Bs where the hosts try their best to make you feel at home - the opposite of Liselund Slot, where it feels like the owner is trying to run it on a shoestring to make more profit - not a good feeling for an expensive hotel :-(

Room Tip: Book somewhere else, even though the pictures look nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amertner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2011

I spent one night at this B&B to relax and visit the Mons Kllint. The owner (Krista) had leased the business to somone else who ran it poorly (you may see some bad reviews). She told me that it took a long time to clean and repair, but when I arrived it was spotless and looked like new.
The service was great, food was excellent, and people were very friendly. It is in a beautliful rural location among fields and stone walls with only a short drive to the visitor center and 948 steps down to the white cliffs.
The nearby town of Stege is picturesque. I found an excellent steak restaurant. The drive from CPH airport takes less than two hours on scenic highways. It's well worth the visit.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CellDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2009

The location of the "castle" is magnificant but there is no fair relation between the quite high price and the very poor level of service, quality of rooms and servings

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weekendtraveller26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2009

Liselund is situtated in a beautiful park and is a pretty little castle. Unfortunately it is rather run down, the rooms are small and the bathrooms unacceptable small. The hostess is not very pleasent, the food is uneatable, and the wine is bad beyond description. All together a bad - but rather expensive - experiense. I canonot recommend Liselun to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KPanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borre
6.8 mi away
Hotel Praestekilde
Hotel Praestekilde
#1 of 5 in Stege
53 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hotel Residens Moeen
Hotel Residens Moeen
#2 of 5 in Stege
48 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Elmehoj
Hotel Elmehoj
#4 of 5 in Stege
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Hotel Frederiksminde
Hotel Frederiksminde
#1 of 1 in Praestoe
128 reviews
21.0 mi away
Slangerupgaard Hotel
Slangerupgaard Hotel
#1 of 1 in Faxe Ladeplads
14 reviews
1.9 mi away
Klintholm Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liselund Ny Slot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liselund Ny Slot

Property: Liselund Ny Slot
Address: Langebjergvej 6, Borre, Moen 4791, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > South Zealand > Vordingborg Municipality > Moen > Borre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Borre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Liselund Ny Slot 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Liselund Ny Slot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liselund Ny Slot Denmark/Borre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing