We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning accommodation, beautiful surroundings, fantastic hosts and simply amazing food”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gourdon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Metairie des Songes
Ranked #1 of 7 Gourdon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire, England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stunning accommodation, beautiful surroundings, fantastic hosts and simply amazing food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

We have stayed at La Métairie des Songes on two occasions and would love to visit more often.

Clare and Mark are such great hosts and so welcoming. Their farmhouse accommodation is superb, stylishly furnished rooms with great bathrooms too, and such attention to detail ensures guests have a relaxing and extremely comfortable stay.

On our visit earlier this year we took friends with us who were blown away by Mark’s culinary skills. The food he prepares for guests is simply the best we have experienced both in presentation and taste - our friends were so impressed they took photos of every course. Many of our well-travelled friends and family also plan to visit.

Clare’s hosting skills are absolutely spot-on in order for guests to feel cared for without being intrusive.

The farmhouse is in a perfect location and in beautiful surroundings. It's such a tranquil place to return to after a day of sightseeing. Then of course, if you choose, you have a wonderful dining experience still to come!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Weavers53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
230
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset U K
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Have recently enjoyed my second stay with Clare, Mark and Bramble the dog. You could not wish for better host's, truly lovely people who warmly welcome you and continue to please you for your entire stay. All rooms are very comfortable, beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean ( do not make your bed as Clare will only do it again!) and then there is the food, wonderful ingredients, expertly prepared and cooked, presented like a picture on your plate. What a shame it's not just down the road in the U K. Met some very interesting French and English guests over supper who all were of the same opinion about La Metairie des Songes. Can not wait to return for more of the same and of course all there is to see in this lovely part of France. Best wishes to you both.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank briankSomersetUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed at this B & B for one night in September. We used a GPS and ended up in a field on the other side of town. Apparently this has happened in the past. I had asked for a larger room, but only the Monet was available. It is tiny with no storage except for the window sills. My husband and I took out only what we needed for the night and the next day and otherwise left the luggage packed. Not sure why we were not given a larger room as only two other couples were staying there and I understood there were 4 rooms available, but maybe not at that time. Room was clean as was the bathroom. Both in good shape on the first floor. Other rooms appear to be on the second floor.
Two other couples were there at the same time and we enjoyed having dinner with them. Both couples had been there before and know the area well. The dinner meal at 56E for two was beautiful, delicious and filling. Claire serves and Mark cooks but we did not see much of them at any time. We had Kir before dinner and it was not as good as I expected. Wine or beer (drinks prior to dinner are an extra charge) would have been a better choice.
When we checked out the next day we learned that they only take cash. Better to know in advance as it is out in the country without an ATM in sight.

Room Tip: The Monet room was too small for a couple and we are not large people. Also people on the patio had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moretrips51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brough, UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

All the reviews are spot on about LMDS.
In 2011, we had booked to stay 3 nights at LMDS but I was rushed into hospital at Chateauroux and Mark & Clare were so understanding and didn't demand any compensation (as no deposit had been paid). My husband had less stress with their understanding.
So in 2012, we made a 2nd attemp and it was so worth it! The food was exceptional and the accommodation was a delight.
I would recommend LMDS wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudeBrough_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Mar, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We recently stayed with Mark and Claire for two nights and found ourselves quickly meeting the criteria for being French: we were discussing what we would eat for dinner early in the day! Not only do they provide a wonderful ambiance in their restored farmhouse (that should be featured in Country Living magazine), but the guests are treated to gourmet meals that were the best we had in France.

The B and B is also in an excellent central location which makes exploring both the Dordogne area and eastern villages near Rocamadour possible. If we'd booked an extra night, the Southern Lot villages would also have been within easy reach. Be sure to bring your camera to the dining room to take photos of the meals. We also enjoyed lively dinners with the other residents, who shared travel advice and stories. We stayed in several great B and B's in the Normandy, Brittany and Bordeaux but this was the best!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DelMartravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

This is my second stay at LMDS and i'm wondering why it's taken me so long to visit again. We know Clare and Mark from their days at The Wayfarers in Dorset, where we'd dine as often as we could.
My Dad (who has also stayed here before) and I stayed at LMDS for 3 nights and we can not fault it at all. Our main reason for visiting is Mark's exquisite food, it is beautiful in taste and appearance...you will struggle to find better.

Aside from the food, the bedrooms are spacious, comfortable and have everything you'd need. Clare, Mark and Bramley (the dog) are the perfect hosts...always on hand with a cuppa or in my case a G&T.

Set in beautiful scenery with a wealth of idyllic villages and places to visit around, it's the perfect place to relax and explore.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Killer10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

My wife and I chose La Metairie from previous reviews and for its location. It is an excellent base from which to tour Dordogne. Mark & Claire have a lovely home and as a B&B goes it is first rate.
The rooms are very cozy and these is nothing lacking. We had great expectations as to the food and this was exceeded in every way. After a day of touring what a wonderful convenience to come back to relax and be treated to the very best culinary experience one could hope for- quality, presentation and taste are top notch. We stayed 7 nights and are at a loss to decide which 7 meals we preferred. No wonder they are rated #1 in Gourdon!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marc g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gourdon
23.6 mi away
Hotel Le Saint Cirq
Hotel Le Saint Cirq
#1 of 2 in Tour-de-Faure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
14.3 mi away
Hotel Les Esclargies
Hotel Les Esclargies
#2 of 17 in Rocamadour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
14.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beau Site Notre Dame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Le Troubadour
Le Troubadour
#1 of 17 in Rocamadour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
13.9 mi away
Chateau de Monrecour
Chateau de Monrecour
#1 of 1 in Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hostellerie de la Bouriane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Metairie des Songes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Metairie des Songes

Property: La Metairie des Songes
Address: Lieu Dit Flagel Est, 46300, Gourdon, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Lot > Gourdon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Gourdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 'Quercynoise' stone house of the region set in 3.5 hectares, overlooking a stunning private valley with terrace, shaded gardens and woods. Select from four fully furnished and tastefully decorated, double (and twin) bedrooms, all with shower ensuite. A large sitting/dining room and free Wi-Fi connection. With nearly 14 years restaurant experience Clare & Mark Newton will be delighted to welcome you and serve exceptional evening meals in this lovely, peaceful setting.We are open from middle of March until mid-November. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing