We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (266)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveler rating
226
37
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
226
37
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews charming hotel cakes a family run hotel lots of character thermal baths pont d'espagne superior room freshly squeezed orange juice hotel experiences espresso machine trout staff were helpful food was wonderful cooked dinner few days centre of town bread
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 266 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2018 via mobile

If you go to Cauterets, a stay in the lion d’or is a must.
It is a well and very seriously kept family hotel.
Very family friendly ( we are a family of 6), nicely decorated and very spacious rooms. Extremely clean.
Breakfast is a treat with lots of homemade products and the set menu in the evenings is wonderful if you accept not to choose from a menu and eat a lot.
From Cauterets enjoy the hiking, the canyoning and other summmer mountain activities or visits and relax in the thermal baths just behind the hotel.
The owners will be helpful when you organise your activities and you will get a discount through them on more than one visit or event.
As for Cauterets, it is a lively town which takes you back to the end of the 19th an the beginning of the 20th century with its wonderful and well kept buildings. Nice little shops, nice but busy restaurants and an exceptional daily market.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
Thank Valérie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liondorcauterets, Propriétaire at Hotel du Lion d'Or, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2018

Thank you for those kind words, we are happy that you have apreciated your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

I am so glad that I booked this hotel for our GR10 hike through Cauterets. It’s conveniently located, very charming, with lovely, clean and comfortable rooms. The food is fantastic, from the amazing home-cooked dinner we had on the night of our stay to the generous buffet breakfast the next morning. The cakes, breads and pastries and home baked, and the butter croissants have to be one of the best I’ve had in France. Service is excellent as well - Thomas was so friendly and accommodating when we arrived, and helpful enough to let us know what the weather would be for the next few days of our hike. It’s one of the best hotel experiences I’ve ever had, and I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who visits Cauterets.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Angelkitana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liondorcauterets, Propriétaire at Hotel du Lion d'Or, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2018

We are pleased that you have apreciated your stage at the Hôtel du Lion D'Or. We hope that your hike through the Pyrenees by the the GR10 went well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2018

Really charming little hotel. Great location, there is a back door onto the higher road at the rear of the hotel, which was handy for accessing the carpark. The room was lovely with a view of the cute courtyard sun trap and its family of Tortoises marching around (As they do in the Pyrenees ;) It was amazing to lie in bed with the window open to the cool natural air-conditioning and be overlooked by the majestic mountains. Loads of character, with helpful and friendly owner. Cauterets is a cool town, with lots of spectacular walking right from the doorstep.

Room Tip: Room 12 was a triple, with mountain and courtyard views.
  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wawagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liondorcauterets, Propriétaire at Hotel du Lion d'Or, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2018

Thank you very much for your comment.
We are glad that you had a good stay at the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2018

We were booked into the Lion d'Or as part of our Lavedan valleys hiking tour from Pyrenean Odysseys. As with the rest of the lodging and dining bookings from Pyrenean, the Lion d'Or was excellent. The family owners do a great job on the hotel side of things, but most especially in the restaurant which, according to my youngest daughter, who is our resident expert in these things, was one of the highlights of our trip. The food was fresh and lovingly prepared, the portions were perfect. All in all, a great place to stay and dine.

  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2018

Rarely write reviews but enjoyed our stay here so much that we felt we needed to this time. Must be one of the best 3* hotels in the Pyrenees. The owners could not do enough to help and the hard working Tomas speaks very good English. Rooms were roomy, very clean and wonderfully decorated. We had a family room for 3 and a double. Shower was great with powerful endless hot water. Tea and coffee facility in the room (with nespresso machine and capsules) was a bonus compared to other hotels we have stayed in. We didn’t eat in the restaurant but it must have been good as it was full every night and you need to book. Tip for the rest of the resort restaurants - book if you are there during French school holidays. One slight downside - the breakfast room is not large enough to seat all guests at the same time so you could end up waiting for a table. Freshly squeezed orange juice and according to grandma the best marmalade she has ever had were the breakfast highlights. Plenty of choice and always being replenished. Bar and family games also available. Just ask if you want a drink - the bar is not always manned but ask and nothing is a trouble. Vin Chaud and chocolat chaud are worth a try. Plenty of tv channels. Tip most USA tv series / movies can be watched in original language if you use the tools on the tv!

Room Tip: Rooms on top floor will be quieter. Wooden floors do mean you can hear footsteps from above. But not a major issue.
Stayed: February 2018, traveled with family
2  Thank PaulS7794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liondorcauterets, Propriétaire at Hotel du Lion d'Or, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2018

Thank you so much for this long and friendly review. We are very proud about the grandma marmalade reward.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews