We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal - be it German or not!”
Review of Der Apfelstrudel

Der Apfelstrudel
Ranked #7 of 135 Restaurants in Blagnac
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $17
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Description: Bienvenue au "Der Apfelstrudel"! Nous vous proposons une large gamme de gâteaux typiques allemands, tels que notre Strudel aux Pommes ou notre forêt Noire, ainsi que des douceurs d'ici ou d'ailleurs. Pour le déjeuner vous pourrez déguster notre plat du Jour, plat que nous choisissons celons les produits du marché dans une vaste gamme de recettes typiques allemandes. Durant la saison froide vous trouverez tous les dimanches notre choucroute garnie au Riesling! On offre également une large gamme de bières allemandes et une grande sélection de thés Bio (Jardins de Gaïa) On accepte les commandes spéciales de Gâteaux pour les anniversaires (ou même juste pour les gourmands) que vous pouvez choisir parmi notre carte de Gâteaux ou composer vous même, votre imagination étant la limite! (pour les gâteaux a la carte il faut prévoir jusqu'à une semaine de délai celons les ingrédients choisis) A Bientôt! L'équipe "Der Apfelstrudel".
Reviewed August 19, 2018 via mobile

Had to go to the airport but didn’t want eat at the airport or go into downtown Toulouse - found this place by chance (thank you TripAdvisor).

This is an excellent little cafe restaurant that proposes, on top of those wonderful and authentic German cakes, some hearty burgers, raviols and salads, AND they are open on Sundays in the middle of August, which is quite rare!!

We had under-estimated the volume of the burgers and I had no space for deserts but the cakes truly looked good (and my husband confirmed it was).

You may argue the “German-ness” of their classic menu of burgers, but be it German or simply “international,” their burgers and fries were juicy, meticulously prepared, and done exactly as they should be. The variety of tea and beer excellent. The little square is cute (in a newly developed artificial neighbourhood).

The only drawback being the price level that’s pretty much the same as Paris, which is probably the same for good Toulousain restaurants but coming back from the mountain side in the Pyrenees they felt a bit too high, e.g. burger and fries 13-14€.

In any case an excellent little gem in this otherwise un-charming area near the airport. It was a great positive surprise for me.

Reservation recommended for the terrace. Be strategic for your orders if you want to enjoy all the way to deserts, which are definitely their forté. Maybe a good idea to eat salty and take home the cake.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Tom_B_Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 106 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2018 via mobile

Great main course choices, nicely prepared and served. Deserts (cakes) to die for - best in France. Staff very pleasant and helpful; speak English, German and French.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2018 via mobile

The dishes were good, but nothing exceptional either. Good selection of German cakes.

To be honest the service brings the grade up in my opinion.
Very nice and friendly personnel.

The servings are fine but nothing out of the ordinary (in terms of quantity) as I've read on some reviews.

This is a place I would recommend, but I'm not sure I would go again.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank panicandfreakout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2018 via mobile

Walked to the place as we were staying overnight close by. Read the reviews beforehand but when we arrived we were told food was only served at noon. By now it was 2.30pm ! Am assuming they meant they start serving at noon but no info when they stop. Could therefore only have cake and coffee which were fine but would have liked more. Pleasant staff. Spoke good English.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank AgedMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth K, Owner at Der Apfelstrudel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2018

I'm Sorry you were disappointed that we didn't serve lunch at 14h30 anymore.
We don't advertise in detail at what time we stop serving because it's a commonly known fact in France that lunch is only served from 12h (some restaurants start at 11h30) till 14h unless stated otherwise.
I'm glad you weren't disappointed by our service although you wished for more in regards to the selection.
Im sad to admit that since we are mainly a Tea/Coffee shop that also serves lunch we don't have anything like sandwiches and the like. (It's the same with all "Salon de The" as far as I know).
Anyway, we would be glad to see you again another time, hopefully for lunch this time so you can taste our selection of savory dishes, and hope you had a wonderful stay in the area. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2017

We visited this place twice, one for a coffee/ tea with a friend and the other time was at lunch. You can feel the homey feeling by the warm hospitality of the staff and the presentation of the meals. My kid loved it here as well and sat happily for a long time. I personally love their The Noel (Christmas Tea) and the Hot Chocolate (Ancienne). Their deserts are a must-try and if you happen to be really hungry and want to have a filling meal, this is the place to be because the servings are big. Having stayed in France for over two months, this place was a nice break from the usual french style and portions.. nice to have tried something new. Over-all , the experience is. just so pleasant.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Der Apfelstrudel also viewed

Blagnac, Haute-Garonne
 
Toulouse, Haute-Garonne
Blagnac, Haute-Garonne
 
Blagnac, Haute-Garonne
Blagnac, Haute-Garonne
 

Been to Der Apfelstrudel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing