We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place for cyclists to stay in the Pyrenees”
Review of Au Primerose Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Au Primerose Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Argeles-Gazost
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best place for cyclists to stay in the Pyrenees”
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

A fantastic hotel, with an incredible level of personal service. There's even a bike storage basement with everything a cyclist will need, from hooks to store your bike on, storage for bike boxes, clean cloths for bike cleaning, tools, etc.
A great place to stay. I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    34
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
57
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Driehuis, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

If you are a cyclist and looking for a great stay in the Pyrenees I can strongly recommend Au Primerose!Together with 11 friends I stayed in this hotel in June 2013 and it was really pleasant: good service, pasta meal at 16 o'clock and fine dinner in the evening.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jurriaan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This visit in July 2013 was our second stay at hotel Au Primerose, the last one being for 5 days in 2011. Although this was a shorter stay, it was just as good. Philipe is a wonderful host and very helpful. The hotel is in a great position and has everything you need or could want as a cyclist (but would also be great for non-cyclists). The hotel is great value and a good place to meet other cycling guests. If you are looking for a cycling base in this area of the Pyrenees, I doubt you can beat it and it certainly is a great area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LJOld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

For a cycling holiday, location couldn't be better. No matter which road you choose from the hotel, you'll be going uphill soon. Big uphill. (Well, it's a matter of taste...).

Service is friendly and genuine, owners are very helpful. Food (breakfast & dinner) is tasty and excellent value for money. Rooms are a bit outdated, but clean and fittings in good condition.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fezekiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel for a cycling trip. Phillipe and Valerie are great hosts who made me feel comfortable from the start. Both speak English if you struggle with French as i do. Food is excellent and extra pasta for cyclists. Cycle storage is great with a workshop too. Rooms clean and comfortable with free wifi. I unreservedly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Dave_Lewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

It's easy to see why this friendly little hotel is so highly regarded by other reviewers. Our room was spacious, quiet, spotless, with a good bathroom and decent shower and a good bed. The hotel's owners are very friendly and did all they could to make our stay enjoyable. We were on a cycling holiday and appreciated all the facilities and the maps and other information they had available. The cyclist meal options were just what we needed to fuel our holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The most charming hotel offering everything a cyclist could want. Perfect location close to all the major Cols, storage shed with tools out the back for your bike, Philippe and family are the most charming, helpful hosts - nothing is too much for them to do. The cyclists option with both breakfast and a very tasty & satisfying dinner makes for a great way to meet new friends if you are travelling on your own. All in all, this was the best week of my French adventure, thanks in no small part to my experience staying at Au Primrose Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Argeles-Gazost
0.8 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Les Cimes
Hotel Restaurant Les Cimes
#3 of 11 in Argeles-Gazost
95 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel le Miramont
Hotel le Miramont
#2 of 11 in Argeles-Gazost
133 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Beau Site
Hotel Beau Site
#7 of 11 in Argeles-Gazost
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Soleil Levant
Hotel Restaurant Soleil Levant
#5 of 11 in Argeles-Gazost
69 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Chez Pierre d'Agos
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Arrieulat Hotel
#4 of 11 in Argeles-Gazost
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Au Primerose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Primerose Hotel

Property: Au Primerose Hotel
Address: 23 rue de l Yser, 65400 Argeles-Gazost, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Hautes-Pyrenees > Argeles-Gazost
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Argeles-Gazost
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Au Primerose Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open from May until October, Au Primerose is a family run comfortable 2 star hotel restaurant belonging to the Logis de France network. We are off the main street, in front of the Casino's big park and just down the road from the town centre. We have 26 sound proofed rooms all with en suite facilities, satellite TV, telephone, safe, alarm clock and hairdryer (on request from reception). Free access to Wireless Internet is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Au Primerose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing