We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect 😊”
other travelers have booked this property
Feel at home at Happy Pyrenees
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Feel at home at Happy Pyrenees
Winter view from Happy Pyrenees Open plan living area at Happy Pyrenees
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Feel at home at Happy Pyrenees
Winter view from Happy Pyrenees
Open plan living area at Happy Pyrenees
And open plan dining area ata Happy Pyrenees
The park at Argeles-Gazost, 5 minutes from Happy Pyrenees
The Casino, Argeles-Gazost, 5 minutes from Happy Pyrenees
The Church, Argeles-Gazost, 5 minutes from Happy Pyrenees
Summit of the Hautacam in winter - 15 minutes from Happy Pyrenees
Kingsize comfort at Happy Pyrenees
Ensuite shower room at Happy Pyrenees
Room for 2-3 singles at Happy Pyrenees
Second shower room at Happy Pyrenees
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Argeles-Gazost, Hautes-Pyrenees, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Clairabel...
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect 😊”
Reviewed August 17, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at this beautiful gite for a week at the end of July beginning of August. Tim and Tracey ( and Eddie the dog) are perfect hosts and are very welcoming. The gite is close to all the famous "Tour de France" mountain climbs which my husband really enjoyed on his bike. The gite was clean and cosy and we loved our week there. Will definitely return. Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2017
Thank you C. It was a real pleasure to meet you and your lovely family - so glad you enjoyed your stay - looking forward to your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave A
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Superb Cycling Base in the Pyrenees”
Reviewed March 14, 2017 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was the second time my friend and I had stayed in Les Volets Verts, the first being 6 years ago. The gite and the area were just as good as we remembered.

The Gite:
The gite was very comfortable and spotlessly clean with everything we needed for a weeks stay including good fast WiFi and a very well equipped kitchen. Although there were only two of us I'd say there would be plenty of room for four owing to the open plan arrangement down stairs. We were in the area to cycle so secure storage for our bikes was important to us. There is a lockable store, attached to the gite, where we could leave the bikes when we weren't using them. There is also parking space to get your car off the street. Tracey and Tim are great hosts. They seem happy to offer help or information when required but, although the gite is basically at the bottom of their (very large) garden, are unobtrusive otherwise.

The Area (Food):
There is a large supermarket and other shops in Argeles-Gazost so we cooked some evenings. We ate out 3 or 4 times and there are several reasonable restaurants and little bars in Argeles. I'd say Argeles is walkable for the energetic although we used our bikes a bit since we had them with us. There is also a very good restaurant (Auberge Le Bouic) a few hundred meters away. It would be at the expensive end of the local restaurant offering but certainly of high quality.

The Area (Cycling):
Les Volets Verts is ideally placed for cycling and, depending on your energy levels, it is possible to cycle the whole week without moving the car. The gite lies at the bottom of the Hautacam with the Tourmalet, Aubisque, Luz Ardiden, Cirque de Gavarnie, Col de Tentes, Pont d'Espagne and more all easily accessible. If you have a car then even more climbs are opened up for you.

Summary:
I would have no hesitation recommending Les Volets Verts and the Argeles-Gazost area. I think the fact that we went back after six years for a second visit and found it just as good as we remembered speaks for itself.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 15, 2017
Thank you so much Dave for your great comments - really very much appreciated. I do hope you won't leave it another 6 years before coming back to visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susier34
Beziers, France
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb holiday home in stunning scenery”
Reviewed October 9, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We were 2 couples on a cycling holiday and could not have been more happy with our choice of accommodation. As previous reviews have stated the house was extremely well equipped, spotlessly clean and ideally situated. All modern conveniences whilst maintaining the character of the old property. Great wifi connection and very spacious for 4 adults.
The owners, Tim and Tracey, made us feel very welcome and had thought of everything that one could want from a self-catering holiday home. The lock up garage for bikes was ideal with plenty of room for our 4 bikes, tools etc.
We would love to return to Volets Verts one day!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruiser37...
1 review
“Perfect rental house in perfect cycling location!”
Reviewed August 28, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I stayed at Volet Verts for 6 nights in August 2016. Very comfortable, very clean accommodation, everything one could need in a postcard French rural location!

Contains a well appointed kitchen (I like to cook for myself - so was perfect) TV, high speed Wi-Fi, two bedrooms, two bathrooms, separate laundry (great for washing my cycling gear) has a separate lock-up for bikes, parking right outside front door, located on a very quiet road with just a 3 minute drive to a large supermarket, and 5 minute drive in same direction to the heart of beautiful Argeles Gazost town centre. I found it very good value.

Owners Tracey and Tim were very friendly, extremely helpful with directions and advice, just perfect hosts, they really made my stay very special. Volet Verts has a collection of maps and books on the Pyrenees which were great for reference each day before I set out too.

For cyclists (or anyone really) this is ideal accommodation in a perfect location.
Volet Verts Gite is right at the base of the iconic Hautacam, literally hop on bike and start clmbing!
It's also an easy picturesque ride along valley to Luz St Sauveur where you can tackle classic climbs such as Col du Tourmalet, Luz Ardiden, Col des Tentes, Cirque de Troumouse, or through Argeles Gazost itself to climb Col du Solour, Col d'Aubisque, Col de Couraduque etc. to name just a few. I found the French drivers most accommodating to cyclists.

Argeles Gazost is a perfect location not only for cycling, but hiking, trekking or touring the Pyrenees.
It just seems to be a post card photograph everywhere you travel!

I stayed solo, but could easily fit a family of 5 people.

When I return to Argeles Gazost, Volet Verts will be the first place I'll try to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great location, great value, great hosts!
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 4, 2016
Many thanks - it was a real pleasure to meet you and we hope you'll come back and see us soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
femck
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing, well-equiped gite in the perfect position for a Pyrenean adventure”
Reviewed August 25, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This beautiful, well-equipped gite is one of the nicest places we have ever stayed. Tracey and Tim were wonderfully welcoming and so helpful with local amenities and suggestions of things to do. The gite itself was very comfortable and had plenty space for our two young children to spread out. Everything we could have needed was provided on arrival - including a very welcome bottle of wine. The gite is positioned perfectly for mountain adventures and was no distance from the beautiful town of Argeles-Gazost. We cannot recommend this gite enough!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and how well equipped it was
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 4, 2016
Thank you for your kind words - and best of luck with your new venture!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DottyUK
UK
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a Pyrennean cycling holiday”
Reviewed June 25, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Volets verts was everything we wished for and more. We were warmly welcomed by Tracey and Tim who showed us round then discretely left us to ourselves, whilst always being there if we needed any help. The gite is really comfortable and well kitted out with everything you could need including wifi, laundry room and secure bike storage. It is surrounded by the most beautiful mountain scenery and yet only a 30 minute walk from the centre of Argeles Gazost and a 5 minute drive to the local supermarket. The cycling was fabulous and we were blessed with fantastic weather for most of the week. Unfortunately we didn't get to ride all the different mountains and routes in one week so hope to go back sometime!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2016
Many thanks for your comments. We certainly look forward to seeing you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalcolmWi...
Kingston, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Superb accommodation”
Reviewed November 3, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Volets Verts is superb: spotlessly clean, very comfortably furnished, filled with mountain light, endless hot water in the showers, fluffy towels, fully and thoughtfully equipped kitchen, laundry room, good supply of holiday-type novels to read and, to top it off, a superb location. The views of the Pyrenees from both the front and back are magnificent. But best of all are the hosts. Tracey and Tim are quite delightful and made me feel very welcome from the moment of my arrival. They were more than willing to provide local knowledge and whatever help was required. When Air France lost both my luggage and my bike box, Tracey made telephone calls (in French) to the airline on my behalf. The "welcome basket" of cookies, coffee and wine was very welcome at this point. And as a base for cycling, Volets Verts is perfect. The hosts provide a clean, dry shed for bike box and bicycle storage, and there's a bicycle repair stand and track pump for guests to use. The gîte is located at the base of Hautacam (in fact, you have to ride about 500 metres downhill to the start). It's a short drive (or a wonderful bike ride) to Luz Saint Sauveur for the start of Col du Tourmalet (magnificent) or, in the opposite direction, a short drive to Argeles-Gazost for the start of the ride up Col du Solour (tougher than it looks) and then Col D'Aubisque (simply beautiful). Thank you Tracey and Tim for your many contributions to a superb holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hosts, the location, the facilities.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing