We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Swan Hotel Whalley
Ranked #1 of 1 Whalley B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 4, 2013

No fault at all to find with this pub. Just enjoyed a lovely lunch quickly served by very pleasant staff. The food was excellent. My husband had steak which was cooked and served perfectly and I had salmon served with vegetables a meal which was also cooked to perfection. Another plus is that our dog was allowed in the bar though there is a restaurant which we could have used if we didn't have our dog with us. This is a place I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelle b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 103 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2013

We had lunch here and, if we had known about it, would definitely have booked our accommodation here as well. Whalley is a great town, very upmarket, with 4 pubs that are all good. Our lunch at the Swan was excellent. Great value for money, delicious food and nicely presented. TheStaff were really friendly and cheerful. Spotlessly clean with good table arrangements and plenty of room. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

A lovely hotel in the heart of Whalley! My room was nicely decorated and very clean, the staff were lovely and helpful and the Lancashire breakfast in the morning was yummy!!!!!! Can't fault the place!!!!!

Stayed: June 2013
Thank vickifairbang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Located underneath the hotel, we thought the restaurant would be a great find. We were unfortunately left very disappointed.
I had the burger from the menu. There was no salad on the burger, it was incredibly small for the price, not enough chips and the salad on the side was a measly few lettuce leaves with an abysmal amount of dressing.
The waitress' were not helpful at all, nor did they exchange any 'thank you's' or smiles.
Will not be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Veronica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

What a great place. The bar area is to welcoming and comfortable. It was a pleasure to be served by such pleasant staff. Very clean and nicely decorated. The food menu is great. Plenty choice even for the fussy eaters amongst us. Would definitely make a return trip

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happywalker1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed here for one night whilst attending a wedding at Whitewell. The pub is in a central location in Whalley with plenty of parking. The pub is nicely decorated inside with a good selection of beers (including tim taylors landlord). The room we got was very spacious with a very nice bathroom. For some reason the room and corridor appeared to be overheated and perhaps the owners should moderate this to avoid the wasted cost. However, eventually we managed to turn the radiator in the room down. Overall we were happy with our stay.

Room Tip: Cannot remember faced the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at the Swan over night and found the level of service from check in to check out very good and friendly. The room we stayed in looked like it had recently been refurbished, was spacious and clean with a big comfy bed. One of the staff recommended a visit to whalley abbey as we had never been to the village before. We had an evening meal and a bottle of wine, I would recommend the cheese pie to anyone, candles we a nice touch. Only negative comment would have to be that our room was on the front of the building so there was a little noise from passing cars. Would stay again but maybe request a room at the back.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Woofwoof24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whalley
1.6 mi away
Best Western Mytton Fold Hotel & Golf Club
3.7 mi away
The Old Posthouse Hotel
The Old Posthouse Hotel
#3 of 4 in Clitheroe
225 reviews
1.3 mi away
Foxfields Country Hotel
Foxfields Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Billington
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Shireburn Arms
The Shireburn Arms
#2 of 4 in Clitheroe
317 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Avenue Hotel at Brockhall
2.7 mi away
Best Western Higher Trapp Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Hotel Whalley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel Whalley

Address: 62 King Street, Whalley, Clitheroe BB7 9SN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Clitheroe > Whalley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Whalley
Price Range: $116 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan Hotel Whalley 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historically named a "Hotel", but in modern terms "a pub with rooms"! A 17th Century coaching inn located at the heart of the beautiful and vibrant Ribble Valley village of Whalley. Lovely and individual guest rooms above our quirky village inn. Proper food, cask ales and friendly service in one of Lancashires nicest villages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Swan Hotel Whalley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing