We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hosts”
Review of L'Horizon

L'Horizon
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
L'Horizon
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Thionville
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hosts”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We recently stayed at L'Horizon as a group of five retired army officers, visiting the Maginot Line. Jean Pascal and Ann-Marie Speck were just lovely, and absolutely made the trip. The hotel was charming, comfortable and well appointed. The rooms are nicely furnished and the bathrooms are considerably better than many French hotels. Ann-Marie looked after us with kindness and sincerity. Jean Pascal cooked like an angel. Not only that, but he arranged an outstanding visit to the local German fort which is not normally open to visitors. We celebrated my 50th birthday in style with great food and superb wine in their restaurant. I heartily recommend this family hotel for anyone with a passing interest in military history, or who just wants a break in this part of the world. Thank you Jean Pascal and Ann Marie!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    29
    16
    5
    6
See reviews for
12
39
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, AL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

This Inn was a wonderful experience for us. Largely because of the gracious and generous hosts Jean Pascal and Anne-Marie Speck. The hotel is well situated for touring the Maginot line and Verdun. Jean Pascal is an expert on this area. His help alone is worth staying there if this is of interest to you. The hotel is delightful, the rooms are large and well appointed. We had an excellent dinner and breakfast. We are experienced travelers and we can recommend this without reservation.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chasdian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardiner, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Having visited there in 2004, I wanted to revisit with my daughters as a base to see where my Dad (and their Grandfather) fought in WW2. The hotel was wonderful. Jean Pascal and Anne-Marie Speck were wonderful hosts - the rooms were well-appointed and very comfortable. I highly recommend a stay here. The only reason I didn't give it an excellent was because the shower/bath leaked all over the floor - no matter how I arranged the curtain.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have distinctive qualities - you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesdavidbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemstad
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Very warm welcome, very good service, big room, villeroi & boch bathroom. Beautifull view on the city. Cosy bar, also with a beautifull view. They have a sunny and shady terrace with nice trees and again: the spectacular view.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TomKok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed here in December 2011 en-route to the Alps. Our arrival was delayed due to a puncture and a delayed ferry, but Mme.Speck kept some dinner for us and the restaurant open so we could eat late. A lovely hotel and the service was 5 star. We've never been so happy to get a good meal and a comfortable bed after our journey. We hope to return again and definitely recommend L'Horizon - sorry it has taken us so long to write a review!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrellickBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Fantastic experience, we arrived late after a long drive and were so warmly greeted it made for a great start. The restaurant was about to close but they happily made our meals.

As we were following Maginot line sites and history staying at a place that where that was know and of much interest it was an even better experience.

But also a great room, amazing bathroom, beautiful building an overall really lovely experience
Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patrick f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koege, Denmark
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed here on way from Denmark to Limoges and after 11 hours driving and in some quite nasty snow arrived at 2130 to a genuinely warm and friendly welcome from Madame. Even though the kitchen closed at 2100 we were offered dinner. We ordered a salad and a glass of wine and it was delicious. We didn't feel rushed or an inconvenience. It was just what we needed. The restaurant is a little cold as are the rooms. The room and bathroom as well as the restaurant could do with an update however the beds are comfy and the from we stayed in was big. The decor is rustic and French which adds to the charm. Madame spoke good English and was sympathetic tomyawful French. The town of Thionville itself didn't look too exciting by day but looked prettier night from the restaurant. I would say that this is a great base for exploring and a comfy overnight stop. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose if you want a warm welcome and a comfy bed! Room 4 is big with an authentically French rustic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VictoriaWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thionville hotels
1.5 mi away
Kyriad Prestige Thionville Centre
2.0 mi away
Kyriad Design Enzo Thionville
1.5 mi away
Hotel des Oliviers
Hotel des Oliviers
#2 of 11 in Thionville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Premiere Classe Thionville
Premiere Classe Thionville
#3 of 11 in Thionville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mercure Thionville Centre
Mercure Thionville Centre
#6 of 11 in Thionville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel du Parc
Hotel du Parc
#5 of 11 in Thionville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Horizon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Horizon

Property: L'Horizon
Address: 50 route du Creve Coeur, 57100 Thionville, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Moselle > Thionville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Thionville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Horizon 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your L'Horizon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Horizon Thionville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing