We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Hotel - Mercure Thionville Centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Thionville Centre
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Thionville
Reviewed August 18, 2009

The Hotel was renovated in the beginning of the year and is now called Mercure Thionville Centre, and no longer belongs to the Best Western Chain. The breakfast room is now a "suite" with a panoramic view, and the breakfast room and the bar are entirely renovated. We also had the pleasure to discover brand new bathrooms. The air-conditioning was good and the rooms are now equipped with new TVs, minibar, safes, and kettles, which were a pleasure after a long night work. Fully recommended !

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JWRothman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 215 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2008

We were going to the Netherlands (end of vacantion) with our car fully packed. So we were looking for a nice hotel with secured parking. We booked the Best Western Hotel at a French Reservation number. The person told us that there was Secured parking.
At the hotel the man behind the desk told us that there was no secured parking. And because it was friday night, we waited more than a half an hour before we got a parking place.
In our room the temperature was set on more than 30C/86F, pfff. We turned the airco to 21C/70F, but...the airco was not working. So we opened the window (outside it was 15C/60F). The room was situated on the front near the street, so we could not sleep because of the noise. After the room was cooled down, we close it and slept well in the comfortable bed.
The room was clean and nice.
You must pay for WiFi (The Best Western Hotel in 'Villefrance sur Saone' had free WiFi).
The breakfast was very simple, but good enough.
Every Best Western Hotel gives a 10% discount if you show 'Show your Card', but the guy at the desk never heard of it.
We got or 10% finally.
B.t.w. Thionville looks like a nice place to visit. But we didn't had the time.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank FrankLEnschede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2007

Stayed here for just one night, needing to be close to Thionville and Luxembourg. The location of the hotel is quite attractive as it is very central for Thionville, faces the river and has easy access to the highway. There's public parking at the front of the hotel and on the opposite side of the street and we had no problem finding a place.

We booked a room for three people which was a good choice as we had one of the slightly larger rooms with a larger window facing the river. The room was slightly better than what you would expect from a Best Western in France - a little on the small side with very basic furniture but reasonably clean. I'm not sure there was air-conditioning and the window didn't close well so there was some noise from the busy road outside.

Overall I would recommend this hotel for a stay in Thionville as it is quite decent and good value by french standards.

Property: 3/5 - Service: 3/5 - Cleanliness: 3/5 - Location: 4/5
Room: 3/5 - Amenities: 3/5 - Views: 4/5
Value: 4/5 (paid 80 euros incl tax)
OVERALL: 3.5/5

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank jpl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2006

We recently stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. We found all staff to be very friendly and helpful. The hotel is an 'odd' looking building from the outside but everything was fine once inside. It has a good bar open late. Breakfast is a typical Best Western one. Plenty of restaurants around, the best was Le Mississippi, across the Place de Marche from the hotel. We use this chain of hotels quite a lot and would recommend this particular one for closeness to Luxembourg, Verdun, and Strasbourg.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samos-fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
318
Reviewed October 17, 2004

This hotel is a great alternative for those who want to visit Luxembourg and don't want to pay the 300-500EUR/night, since it's only a 15 min drive to downtown Luxembourg. The hotel is also centrally located in the city of Thionville and within walking distance of good little cafes and brasseries as a dining alternative. There is a Mexican restaurant next to the hotel lobby called Iguana's and it is GREAT! I lived in Mexico 2 years, and was very surprised to find such authentic and VERY reasobly priced mexican food in the middle of Europe. The rooms are average sized for France standards (not too big, not too small), and are clean and comfortable. The hotel offers a Continental breakfast for 8.50EUR which was only OK for the price (croissants, cereal, milk, juice, jams, coffee, cheese). Reception desk clerk was very friendly and they offer Internet access at the lobby for free (very rare in Europe).

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled on business
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIRGINIE D, Directeur général at Mercure Thionville Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Thierry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thionville hotels
0.2 mi away
Kyriad Prestige Thionville Centre
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Parc
Hotel du Parc
#5 of 11 in Thionville
68 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Oliviers
Hotel des Oliviers
#2 of 11 in Thionville
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Kyriad Design Enzo Thionville
0.1 mi away
Qualys-Hotel Le Concorde Panoramique
0.8 mi away
Premiere Classe Hotel Thionville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Thionville Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Thionville Centre

Address: 2 rue Georges Ditsch, 57100 Thionville, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Moselle > Thionville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Thionville
Price Range: $73 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Thionville Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the crossroads of Europe, between Germany and Luxembourg, the Mercure Thionville is ideally located. On the banks of the Moselle, 5 minutes from the TGV station and in the heart of downtown and the historic district ideal for a weekend leisure or business travel. Near the A31 motorway linking Metz in Luxembourg and just 30 minutes from the international airport of Luxembourg. Mercure Thionville welcomes you in its 47 air-conditioned and equipped with Wifi offered. Public parking and many restaurants are nearby the hotel. Discover the history and entertainment by combining visits: Castles of the Dukes of Lorraine, Malbrouck Castle, Amneville Zoo, Walygator amusement park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mercure Thionville Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Thionville
Thionville Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing