We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, basic for a novotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Novotel Saint Avold
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Saint-Avold
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We like Novotels for the fact that most can accommodate two parents and two children comfortably in the same room. This was convenient as it is just off the A4 motorway between Metz and Strasbourg (if you're using a satnav type in Route de Carling (as the route nationale address takes you to the other side of town...) - it is literally almost immediately there on the St Avold side of the A4 motorway as you exit. We got a very good price too - £51 a night for the 4 of us, without breakfast.

This is one of the rather more old fashioned Novotels - they still have keys to the doors, and though the rooms have been spruced up a bit, they are not the ultramodern kind you find in some cities (cf Novotel Lugano, for example).

On the positive side, the service at the desk was very good, check in quick, and our problems dealt with to our satisfaction.

However, our kids' mattresses were incredibly lumpy - protruding springs in what was anyway a think mattress - I'd advise people to check them when they arrive in the room rather than leave it to discover that when everyone is undressed and ready for bed. Our kids both had a bad night's sleep. Novotel has offered to give us some bonus A Club points to make up for this as we didn't deal with it when we discovered the problem...

There are few places to eat locally, and the restaurant here was OK, but a little pricey for what it was.

We would come back and stay here - it's such a convenient location - but I'd check the mattresses as soon as I got in the room, and check out alternative places to eat locally.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The England Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (441)
There are newer reviews for Novotel Saint Avold
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 441 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012

Stayed here as a family of four on a motoring holiday to Italy. It's very good. Nice rooms, clean and modern hotel just off the motorway. It is an easy day's drive from Calais and therefore a perfect place to break a journey for those travelling South East from the Channel. As a result many of the clientelle are British. Food was good, especially breakfast. Kids enjoyed the pool (which is outdoor and unheated so only viable in hot weather) and also the communal XBOX in reception. All in all, like most Novotels, it does exactly what it says on the tin!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajbush485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Second year in a row we have used this hotel as a stopover. It is a great choice for our family because of its location - 4-5 hours of driving past Calais - its family rooms and its comfortable beds. This year we enjoyed breakfast on the terrace which was lovely, and the kids made use of the well sized (though a little dirty) swimming pool and play area. Hopefulle same again next time when we visit

Room Tip: Check to ensure you don't get a smoking room.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuckyLooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The hotel is clean and comfortable with friendly service and a good restaurant. It is very convenient for the motorway but this means it is out of town. It is a shame that when you put the address in a sat nav it does not come up with the correct location and we spent 15-20 mins trying to find the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rc_barnes7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Perfect as a stopover to the south after a very long day's travel we booked into the Novotel. Really pleasant staff, nice spacious room with air conditioning. In the evening we ate outside by the pool - food very adequate and good service. Would highly recommend this hotel if you're in transit. It's clean, comfortable and welcoming and well placed for the motorway. We would stay again if we take the same route on holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolineMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The-Browns999
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Have used this hotel for several years when travelling to Germany as a stopover. However, this year a small complaint because I usually enjoy the breakfasts and now I find the scrambled egg awful. Obviously made with some sort of instant mixture and other guests left theirs untouched, not just me. Otherwise, the hotel cannot be faulted and I shall use it again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wishyouwerehere17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Avold
0.8 mi away
Hotel Roi Soleil Prestige
Hotel Roi Soleil Prestige
#1 of 5 in Saint-Avold
165 reviews
0.8 mi away
Campanile Saint Avold
Campanile Saint Avold
#4 of 5 in Saint-Avold
131 reviews
9.1 mi away
Mercure Forbach
Mercure Forbach
#1 of 6 in Forbach
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
B&B Hotel Freyming Merlebach
22.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Metz Technopole
12.8 mi away
La Grange de Conde
La Grange de Conde
#1 of 1 in Conde-Northen
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Saint Avold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Saint Avold

Address: Avenue de Fayetteville RN 33, 57500 Saint-Avold, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Moselle > Saint-Avold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Saint-Avold
Price Range: $77 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Saint Avold 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Saint Avold is at the edge of a forest, amongst calm green surroundings, 2 km from the town centre and 23 km from Saarbruck airport. Nestled away close to the main route linking Metz, Strasbourg and Frankfurt, the hotel serves as the ideal stopover whether travelling on business or leisure. Comfortable modern rooms, contemporary cuisine offered indoors or al fresco together with 5 private modular meeting rooms make this place the preferred choice for your next conference or private function. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Novotel Saint Avold reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Saint Avold Hotel St-Avold
Novotel St Avold
St-Avold Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing