We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming hotel close to everything”
Review of Truffe Noire

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Truffe Noire
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Charming hotel close to everything”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for three nights and loved it. Close to everything with restaurants and coffee shops nearby. There is an ATM next door with good rates should you need cash. The hotel is old but with great charm. Breakfast was average for France, but enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katenbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    72
    39
    19
    7
See reviews for
27
89
9
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
271 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

This hotel is pleasant with good service and adequate meals. The room was small and the air conditioning not good. The reception staff were helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
134 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

to mirror the comments of other contributors, this is a lovely traditional hotel, undergoing some unintrusive renovations, with a real sense of character to it. room was very clean, nice bathroom, nice staff. ideal location for exploring the town, free parking a bonus. we had breakfast, which overall was good with loads of choice, the only down side being the "hot" food was lukewarm. That aside, this was a great place to have a stopover.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bigcheuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We agree with several of the other reviews here in that this is a genuine 3 star old style French hotel. It has charm and old style elegance, but for some it might look and feel a bit too 'old style' and not slick enough. i love it, and find the staff although some look a bit austere, extremely helpful and friendly; and we have eaten there several times. As other reviewers have said the open fires are very warm and inviting, and the gardens, for eating or having a drink, are both comfortable and welcoming with good outside furniture. The interior restaurant is als comfortable but a bit '70's' but it is quirky and when busy has a wonderful atmosphere. Very French and very enjoyable, and good value for the style of food.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murff1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra ACT
Level Contributor
208 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

This is an oldish, genuine 3 star (no more) hotel which has three floors. It is a rustic sort of place with a big fireplace in the downstairs area.

We found the rooms clean and neat witha good comfortable bed. The air con is only average buts works satisfactorily. there was no street noise .

The staff were helpful, courteous and friendly with good english.

It is in a very handy location in the town area with a number of eating places closeby.

At the time of our stay the hotel was in the process of renovation with an upgrade of the fire exits etc. but we were not inconvenienced.

The hotel has a good restaurant and you would need to book a table to eat here. It is very popular with the locals and supposedly has been written up in the Lonely Planet. We found drink prices in the bar quite reasonable and the bar service good.

The lift is small and only hold s 4 people at a time - so a bit slow in getting to your room if you don't want to use the stairs.

There is no room safe. Windows in the rooms can be opened if you wish.

We enjoyed a comfortable 2 night stay here and I would stay again. My rating is a 6.8/10.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rovingrabbit2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sale
Level Contributor
93 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

La Truffe Noire is an attractive building situated in the heart of the old centre of Brive. We stayed 3 nights whilst attending a rugby match. The reception and the dining/breakfast areas were very traditional with a large fireplace which was lit in the morning and the evening making the whole space very warm and welcoming. We were put in a room at the back of the hotel without any view, which was disappointing although adequate. There was a delightful terrace at the front of the hotel with table and chairs which is probably a great place to sit and take a drink during the summer. The hotel is within the perimeter of the medieval city and is close to many shops and restaurants and all the main points of interest. We didn't use the restaurant as we were involved in the rugby activities, however, the menu looked very good but perhaps a little expensive. Overall if we found ourselves in Brive again we would use the same hotel, yet I felt it was expensive for the amenities provided.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SaleBazzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
418 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We have stayed at this hotel several times and always appreciate the helpfulness of the staff. As other reviewers have said, the hotel is older and lacks the "spiffiness" of a newer property. That said, I love the location and the rooms are good size;. We slept well on the comfortable bed. I will stay here again if we return to Brive.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barbgoodkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brive-la-Gaillarde hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel le Collonges
Hotel le Collonges
#1 of 20 in Brive-la-Gaillarde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Quercy
Hotel Le Quercy
#2 of 20 in Brive-la-Gaillarde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.6 mi away
Adonis Hotel Brive
Adonis Hotel Brive
#5 of 20 in Brive-la-Gaillarde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Chateau de Lacan
Chateau de Lacan
#3 of 20 in Brive-la-Gaillarde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Chapon Fin
Hotel Le Chapon Fin
#11 of 20 in Brive-la-Gaillarde
3.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Brive
Ibis Brive
#8 of 20 in Brive-la-Gaillarde
3.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Truffe Noire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Truffe Noire

Property: Truffe Noire
Address: 22 boulevard Anatole France, 19100 Brive-la-Gaillarde, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Correze > Brive-la-Gaillarde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Brive-la-Gaillarde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Truffe Noire 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Truffe Noire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Truffe Noire France/Brive-La-Gaillarde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing