We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brive-la-Gaillarde
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Logis des Penitents Blancs
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I can't say enough good things about this B&B and Gerard. He met us at the train station and took us to the B&B which was greatly appreciated. After just finishing the flight from the west coast of the US where neither of us managed to sleep and we barely stayed awake enough on the train to get off at the right stop, having someone help us get where we were supposed to be was fantastic. He had arranged a dinner reservation for that night per my request at a restaurant which proved to be amazing. The room is very comfortable with all you could need. The breakfast was so good. Plentiful and delicious especially with Gerard's homemade yogurt and jams. But the best part came later when he helped us out with a mixup with the rental car. Avis had not left it where it was supposed to be so Gerard contacted them on our behalf and not only cleared up the confusion over the car but also had them deliver the car to the middle of the city thus saving us a taxi ride and more time and confusion. I speak some French but I could never have managed that problem myself so quickly. Heartfelt thanks to Gerard for helping out 2 jet-lagged Americans!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShawnW885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 19 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed here for one night to break the drive to the South. What a lovely find and am so pleased we chose this. Gerard came out to guide us to the parking space and soon we were being led up a beautiful old stone staircase and into his apartment. The building is right in the heart of Brive, quiet and tucked away. Having unpacked we were asked where would we eat? Having no idea, Gerard took it in hand and booked us into a restaurant. A walk around Brive, a welcomed beer and onto supper at La Table d'Olivier which was delicious and just what we would have chosen if we knew it had been there!

Our room was large, clean and quiet. The shower area worked very well and was nicely thought out. The loo is outside the room but literally just outside the bedroom door. Breakfast is a feast of Gerard's home made yoghurt, jams, brioche, breads, pastries and coffee, all of which are delicious and eaten in the large comfortable room with numerous historical features. It makes a refreshing change from a hotel to stay somewhere like this, with the owner who cares about your comfort and takes pride in his home and hospitality. A short walk around the pretty town of Brive was enjoyed in the morning before getting back into the car. I can heartily recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skiffgirl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Very friendly former banker receives in historic environment; private parking & excellent breakfast included, even sometimes a wonderfull Malt-whiskey arriving and a glass of Bas-Armagnac after dinner.

Stayed: May 2013
1  Thank Criticus_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Couldn't have had a warmer welcome.

The B&B consists of one self-contained room (shower and washing area within room, toilet just next to the guest room) in a beautifully-designed apartment in a medieval building. The location is perfect - right in the centre of Brive's old town, next to the Collegial St. Martin and the main shopping area around rue Toulzac. Lots of good restaurants and cafes within a few minutes' walk.

The owner and his wife are excellent hosts, and really looked after me.

The proprietor offers to collect guests and drop them off at the railway station if they're not equipped with a car, and although I didn't make use of it, there are also possibilities to visit the surrounding area,

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TripAv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Les Logis des Penitents Blancs, offers a high value, elegantly refined and comfortable chamber d’hote (B&B) in a centuries old building in the very midst of medieval Brive-la-Gaillarde. The host offers complimentary pick-up service from the train station or airport.

Housed in a historic building with stone steps and carved stone doorways, the room was spotlessly clean, decorated with taste, homey and upscale at the same time. The bedroom was very roomy; the art deco brass bed was firm and comfortable, the linens new and first rate. The room included a deluxe private shower and sink; the toilet was just outside the bedroom door. Local jams, honey and homemade yogurt accompany your morning coffee and assorted baked goods.

I highly recommend hiring the genial host as a driving guide for some part of your visit. He is a very affable and charming gentleman, with extensive knowledge of regional history, and has special interests in photography and Romanesque architecture. I saw and enjoyed much more than I could have on my own, and I am a guidebook junkie.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MMcclrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank marie-c D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ludivine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brive-la-Gaillarde hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Le Colombier
Hotel Le Colombier
#5 of 8 in Brive-la-Gaillarde
9 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Coq D'or
Le Coq D'or
#7 of 8 in Brive-la-Gaillarde
32 reviews
3.0 mi away
Premiere Classe Brive La Gaillarde Ouest
Premiere Classe Brive La Gaillar...
#19 of 21 in Brive-la-Gaillarde
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Ibis Budget
Ibis Budget
#15 of 21 in Brive-la-Gaillarde
471 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Brive
Ibis Brive
#11 of 21 in Brive-la-Gaillarde
234 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Kyriad Brive Ouest
Hotel Kyriad Brive Ouest
#9 of 21 in Brive-la-Gaillarde
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Logis des Penitents Blancs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Logis des Penitents Blancs

Address: 4 Place Latreille, 19100 Brive-la-Gaillarde, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Correze > Brive-la-Gaillarde
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Brive-la-Gaillarde
Number of rooms: 1
Also Known As:
Le Logis Des Penitents Blancs France/Brive-La-Gaillarde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing