We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful views” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of O'Cub Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
O'Cub Hotel
warrnambool
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Sometimes you would love to see a place painted and thoroughly cleaned so it could live up to its true potential. We had lovely views but the room had many dirty marks around fittings and needed an entire overhaul. We could cope with the stairs but it had such a tired feeling that the two night stay was certainly one night too long. The breakfast room, however, was bright and cheery and had a lovely view. The breakfast was refreshingly ample with a nice amount of variety considering the size of the hotel. The staff were also friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ritawbool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    114
    46
    6
    4
See reviews for
26
137
26
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Booked as part of a cycling tour.

Hotel was clean, staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included and was quite nice on the top floor with a nice view. Our room was quite large and would accommodate more than just the two of us easily. Security was fine.

A couple of things to consider about this hotel:
1. there is no lift/elevator -- only stairs. If you have mobility concerns, this is not for you as there are no rooms on the main floor (as far as I saw)
2. the hotel is in neither Avingnon nor in Villeneuve-les-Avingnon -- you must walk/bus/bike/taxi to the attractions. Avingnon is not far -- just a walk across the bridges which gives you a good view of the "Avingnon Bridge"

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bondersan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel on a tour through France. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful - but it couldn't make up for the terrible accommodation.
The rooms smelt of strong cleaning products, you could barely turn around in the shower and the bed and pillow was at least 20 years old.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sloanie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

We only stayed at Cube Hotel for a short time, but we found it nice and friendly.
The location is perfect, and we enjoyed the view of the Palace and the river from our room so much. We must say this hotel fits all who like to simple but fashionable place but intend to pay less on accomodation. Our room was cosy, possibly all others have the same size, but was quite enough.
The hotel is not located in the main turisty area, but close to everything that you might want to see in this beautiful town of France.
The staff is very friendly and always available for any kind of help.

Room Tip: Rooms on the river side have beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 325MW325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Cube hotel in mid August - when the hotel rate is high everywhere. The staff very friendly and helpful. I didn't have time to send review soon after I stayed and quite honest very surprised to see negative review on this hotel since.
I think 9 euro breakfast was quite good especially taking it on sunny terrace looking down Rhone. It was not stern "traditional French" i.e. only coffee and Croissant and baguette. They had boiled egg and ham cheese to go with it.
There is no lift in this hotel so if you cannot cope with climbing stairs, this is not the hotel for you.
Yes it is 20 min.walk to old town but there are bus service you can hop on. I thought it may be dangerous to walk back to hotel after bus service finished but there is some camping site between 2 river so the bridge was fairly populated with the family pedestrians I felt fine walking. Though not sure if I would enjoy the walk in winter + raining days!

So because of the distance the hotel gives you a good rate, it is easy to work out. The room is not the one you find in 5 star hotel but clean and functional. If you are not happy with these factors, yes you can stay in the old town paying almost double price for similar room...

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kikahopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nurmijarvi, Finland
Level Contributor
308 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

I was traveling alone and didn't want to pay too much of two nights stay at Avignon. Prices were high everywhere so I decided to pay little less and get hotel outside of the city. At least it advertised that it's a nice walk to Avignon old town. It is not a nice walk. Especially when it's dark and raining. You need to cross two bridges and it's quit long walk, especially when you have done sightseeing on foot.

Staff was nice and hotel room clean and very comfortable. Good selection tv-channels. There was a hot water problem on the evening I arrived, so they need to come check my bathroom twice, when I was trying to relax, so that was disturbing. But they fixed it eventually and I was able to take hot water bath.

There is railroad at the back of the hotel and light sleepers might get irritated of the noise of the trains, but I didn't mind. There weren't trains very often. No other noise from outdoors. The door of the room must be very thin, because I was able to hear all the noise from the corridors when people going up and down to and from the breakfast room. And people can be very noise at 7 am morning. They didn't mind that some of us might still want to sleep.

Breakfast was 9 euros and for that quality it was super expensive. No warm dishes like eggs or sausages. Just plain bread, fruits and yoghurt. Definitely not worth of 9 euros!

If you don't mind doing some walking or you have a car, this is a nice hotel to stay. But when walking with backpack, I wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Single rooms are have a bathtub and river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cadhlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is a small, inexpensive hotel and the services are typical of such a hotel.

The staff was great, helpful and friendly. They offered restaurant suggestions and assistance in making reservations, which we truly appreciated.

Some of the Rhone side rooms do not have a much of a view. There is a train that runs on the other side of the hotel. We did not hear it on the Rhone side, but when outside noted that the trains are relatively quiet.

I would stay here again if I was in the region and needed a good place to spend the night.

Room Tip: There is no elevator. One floor is accessible without many (any?) stairs. If you have accessibilit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank d b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villeneuve-les-Avignon
0.7 mi away
Hotel de l'Atelier
Hotel de l'Atelier
#1 of 6 in Villeneuve-les-Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Roques
Hotel Roques
#1 of 2 in Les Angles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Petit Manoir
Le Petit Manoir
#2 of 2 in Les Angles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#7 of 69 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
0.9 mi away
Najeti Hotel la Magnaneraie
Najeti Hotel la Magnaneraie
#4 of 6 in Villeneuve-les-Avignon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Cub Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Cub Hotel

Property: O'Cub Hotel
Address: 10 impasse du Rhone, 30400 Villeneuve-les-Avignon, France (Formerly Cube Hotel)
Location: France > Occitanie > Gard > Villeneuve-les-Avignon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Villeneuve-les-Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — O'Cub Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Villeneuve-Lez-Avignon, the O'Cub hotel overlooks the Rhone river and is decorated in both a modern and 70's design. The panoramic terrace offers stunning views of Avignon, the Palace of the Popes and Mont Ventoux. Equally, the hotel has 23 rooms with both a contemporary and colorful decor, a true elegance that leaves the guest with a feeling of being in a cacoon of peace and serenity, some of which have a private balcony. Air conditioned and soundproofed, they guarantee a high level of comfort and tranquility during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your O'Cub Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cube Hotel Villeneuve Les Avignon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing