We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“highly recommended”
Review of Hotel La Suite

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Suite
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, CA
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“highly recommended”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

October 13, 2012


We liked everything about this hotel. Open only a year, the building is completely renovated and decorated to a high standard. Everything about the hotel felt clean and fresh. This is partly due to the entire hotel being non-smoking and to the use of pavers rather than carpeting. We had a spacious room on the 3rd (top) floor which had a comfortable bed, nice linen, and a beautiful, modern bathroom. The room also had a minibar, safe, free wifi, English tv channels, and a motion sensor lights system. Secure parking is also free. Our double room cost 149€ a night which we found to be a good value for the level of comfort and services provided.

The decor throughout the hotel is a blend of modern and traditional. The stunning dining room is straight out of Architectural Digest. Equal attention has been paid to the grounds which contain mature trees, sculpture, a pool, a grape and wisteria arbor, and tables and chairs. When the weather is fair, breakfast can be taken outside. By the way, don't be put off by the 14€ breakfast they advertise. You can also chose a traditional continental breakfast for 7€ each. The elevator is primarily used for transporting your luggage. Be sure to let them know if you have mobility issues so they can accommodate you. Villeneuve-les-Avignon is just the other side of the river from Avignon (only 3 km. away) but offers a more tranquil setting for dining and sleeping. It's also an easier base for visiting other popular sites in the area. You'll find Steve, Sophie, and his dad, Serge, to be warm and attentive hosts. We highly recommend staying at Hôtel La Suite.

Room Tip: We only saw our own room so don't know what the others are like. If you have mobility issues, y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank outandabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    14
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
84
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level 6 Contributor
348 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Be sure to reserve well in advance! This is a gorgeous, family-run hotel in a great location. Traveling with a adult son, we booked one of the suites. Though on the ground floor, with the window facing the street, it was quiet and comfortable. The bathroom had both tub and walk-in shower and was immaculate. The building itself is a classic 17th century home just renovated as a hotel; the architectural features have been preserved. A lovely pool is in the back garden as well as private parking for the hotel.

The owner was so warm and helpful, making our stay even more enjoyable. An excellent restaurant, le Bistrot du Moulin, is just two doors down, and was a wonderful, relaxing way to end each day.

The lHotel La Suite is very convenient for day trips to St. Remy, Les Baux de Provence, Arles, etc. One avoids the congestion of Avignon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara_Antle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake District, UK
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Everything about this hotel is appealing. The 17th century building has been beautifully renovated and the decor is funky and stylish whilst still retaining historic features. Rooms are all unique and very well appointed and comfortable. The back garden is a little paradise with a pool and plenty of seating areas. The hotel owners, Stephan and Sophie are very friendly and helpful and will gladly give advice on places to eat, to visit etc. The hotel's location is lovely - Villeneuve is just across the river Rhone from Avignon - easily reached by the regular buses or even on foot. Whilst Avignon is the main attraction, Villeneuve itself is not short on attractions to visit - the Chartreuse and Fort St Andre are both well worth a trip and only a short walk from the hotel. There is a good range of restaurants locally and in Avignon there are any amount to choose from. Check out the brocante market on Saturday mornings in Villeneuve for a fantastic range of antiques and collectables - barely any repro that we could see - all genuine pieces. We would definitely recommend both the hotel and Villeneuve/ Avignon - a lovely stay that passed too quickly!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely but the terrace suite is, in our view, the best one - Stephan showed it to us a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny_D_12814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

La Suite is a new hotel perfectly located for exploring Avignon and yet providing a haven of tranquility outside of the more commercial/tourist centre of Avignon. Unique rooms in an old 17th centruy building have been rennovatedto the very highest standards. Behind the hotel is a beautifully kept gerden and pool. A perfect place to unwind and ret after poundign the streets of Avignon. Plently of varied restaurants in Villeneuve itself ranging from a Michelin starred priory to hidden gems in the centre of the town make this an ideal location for visitng the area and relaxign at the end of the day. Avignon itself is well served by public transport during the week and Saturday but is also very easily reached on foot.
I would certainyl reccommend La Suite!

Room Tip: We had a room at street level and literally on the pavement if you opened the window. Absolutely no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Voyageuer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaprun, Austria
2 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We enjoyed our stay a lot. The location is perfect. It is in old but very good renovated building. The hospitality of Steve and Sophie is amazing. Very highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Hotel La Suite complements any visit to Provence... Perfectly located in the tranquil town of Villeneuve Lez Avignon with several historical sites of interest and a good selection of restaurants.

The owners Steve and Sophie have converted a 17th century house with great attention to detail. The unique blend of old and contemporary has been accomplished with a great sense of style and good taste. A beautiful garden and swimming pool enriches your stay at the hotel.
It is not just the hotel's aesthetic features that are impressive but also the proprietors attentive ( never intrusive ) service. They provided invaluable recommendations for local restaurants and do everything possible to meet their clients needs.

Avignon is a short bus ride away so this 'car less' experience made a refreshing change to our normal holiday routine.

We were really pleased to have selected this delightful hotel for our short trip and can recommend it without hesitation.

We stayed in a Standard Room 'A' which was very comfortable with a large walk-in shower, and a in room fridge/mini bar

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rodbillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bram, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Great location, Steve and Sophie were very helpfull, enjoyed our one night, should have stayed longer!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villeneuve-les-Avignon
0.2 mi away
Le Prieure Hotel Restaurant
Le Prieure Hotel Restaurant
#2 of 6 in Villeneuve-les-Avignon
452 reviews
0.4 mi away
Najeti Hotel la Magnaneraie
Najeti Hotel la Magnaneraie
#4 of 6 in Villeneuve-les-Avignon
352 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Atelier
Hotel de l'Atelier
#1 of 6 in Villeneuve-les-Avignon
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
956 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Les Cedres
Hotel Restaurant Les Cedres
#6 of 6 in Villeneuve-les-Avignon
132 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#6 of 69 in Avignon
1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Suite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Suite

Property: Hotel La Suite
Address: 65 rue de la Republique, 30400 Villeneuve-les-Avignon, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Gard > Villeneuve-les-Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Villeneuve-les-Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Suite 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel La Suite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing