We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private bungalow”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Les Cedres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in one of the outlying rooms, not in the main part of the hotel, as the rooms were larger, and we didn't want to drag our heavy bags up the narrow stairs in the main building. We had a private bungalow with a separate patio, which we would have used if the weather had been a little warmer. The manager was very helpful and told us the easiest place to park for free, with an easy walk over the bridge to get to avignon. He also gave us really helpful info on where to go for dinner. We chose to get coffee here in the morning and skip breakfast, choosing to drive one minute down the road to stop at one of the two boulangeries. The bathroom was unusually large for Europe, with a tub, shower combo. e never got a chance to use the beautiful pool though, as the weather didn't cooperate.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gabrielle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 136 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

We chose this place as it had parking and was close to Avignon. The person running the hotel was very helpful and our bungalow looked out onto the pool. It was nice to get a fridge in the room and air conditioning, very unusual in French hotels. We liked Villeneuve and the centre is very quaint. Parking on the island in the middle of the river was an easy walk or shuttle into Avignon which is a beautiful city but one to be avoided in August because of the crowds.

Room Tip: Choose a bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The house is an old "maison de maître", turned into a hotel.
I was there during the festival d'Avignon, when the prices usually rocket, but here they stay reasonable compared to other places.
I have been going there for the last couple of years, and every time there is an improvement of some kind (new chef, AC in the rooms, wifi in room etc...).
The host, Christophe, will move mountains if necessary to make sure your stay goes perfectly.
There is a new chef since this year and a lot of improvements have been made on the food.
Rooms are clean and vary from (very) small to big and the city Avignon is 5 minutes away by car. Possibility to rent bikes at the hotel and chill at the pool.

Room Tip: Rooms vary in size and can be very, very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arnaud D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This little hotel is a bit too far out of town for us, but it was comfortable and welcoming and the food in the restaurant was superb. Like many small hotels in France, the rooms vary dramatically by location. Some are in the main house, while others are spread around the property. First hint: if you want something specific, say, no stairs, make that clear. We had a family group and were in all parts of this approximately 20-room establishment. Bathrooms, while modern, often had hand held showers. Ask for a standing one if that's important. If you have a car, this place is fine, as there's parking. To get into Avignon, we walked left out of the hotel to the traffic circle to the bus stop on Avenue LeClerc. There you can pick up one of four buses (4, 16, 40) for €1.30 (change provided) and go to the old town in Avignon, about 10 minutes away. Breakfast in the garden was lovely; although it cost €11, there isn't much other choice immediately nearby. There was excellent coffee and other hotel drinks, a huge selection of rolls, croissants and breads, nice ham and cheeses, and make your own hard boiled eggs. Dinner here is to die for. Try the Menu Gourmand; we had a long, leisurely 3-hour dinner for a family birthday. They made a wonderful cake (we contacted them in advance) and the house wine was wonderful. A fair amount of English is spoken (the owner speaks it well, and in the restaurant enough is spoken to help you although the menu in French is understandable to anyone who has eaten in good French restaurants at home). I'd definitely recommend this hotel as long as you know you'll be out of town; it's quite adequate. But the food and setting by the pool is even more enjoyable.

Room Tip: Be specific in your booking. Rooms in the hold house involve stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EC13091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is my second time here, after a 4 year hiatus. The hotel is even better than before, since they had some work done: new bathrooms. If you're looking for a "chain standard " kind of hotel, this is not for you. It's a very comfortable and cosy hotel, and unique. Being there as a part of a Chain Gang Cycle Tour group makes the experience a lot more special. Christoph, the owner and manager couldn't be more hospitable...he really makes you feel at home.

Room Tip: Too much luggage: the bungalow is for you. But to stay in the mansion it's an unique experience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobPeixoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Our bungalow faced the pool, and opened to the restaurant terrace. The room was cozy, yet quite comfortable. We especially appreciated having a full size bed (no split in the middle from shoving two twin beds together). As we rented a car for the trip, the gated parking area was nice, though it was quite crowded around dinnertime.

Room Tip: The bungalows are lovely, with full size (not two twin shovd together) beds. The only drawback is th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rsteele15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Very pleasant stay in a family run small hotel outside of Avignon. Very friendly staff, always helpful and very relaxing pool area to escape the bustle of Avignon. We had room 17 overlooking the pool with small terrace. Pool area is good and wasn't at all noisy, so easy to sleep at night and lie in if you wish. Our room was small, but fine if you're going to spend your day in Avignon and then lie by the pool to recover. Those of you who like spacious rooms would probably be best elsewhere. Breakfast was good value at 11€. Restaurant was fairly popular at night but we chose to eat in Avignon itself. We paid £65 per night and consider it to have been value for money. If you like a bit of luxury rather than a rustic/real feel then double the budget. I would recommend staying outside the city walls and the 5 minute drive to free parking and 3 minute free shuttle bus to the city walls. Strongly advise you not to drive inside the city walls- Very narrow streets, the satnav loses signal constantly and awful parking problems. Avignon is built for walking.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rob-jock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villeneuve-les-Avignon
0.9 mi away
Hotel de l'Atelier
Hotel de l'Atelier
#1 of 6 in Villeneuve-les-Avignon
256 reviews
0.5 mi away
Najeti Hotel la Magnaneraie
Najeti Hotel la Magnaneraie
#3 of 6 in Villeneuve-les-Avignon
366 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Prieure Hotel Restaurant
Le Prieure Hotel Restaurant
#2 of 6 in Villeneuve-les-Avignon
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
O'Cub Hotel
O'Cub Hotel
#4 of 6 in Villeneuve-les-Avignon
285 reviews
17.8 mi away
Le Clos de Pradines
Le Clos de Pradines
#1 of 1 in Saint-Quentin-la-Poterie
350 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel La Suite
Hotel La Suite
#5 of 6 in Villeneuve-les-Avignon
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Les Cedres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Les Cedres

Address: 39 avenue Pasteur, 30400 Villeneuve-les-Avignon, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Gard > Villeneuve-les-Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Villeneuve-les-Avignon
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Les Cedres 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Les Cedres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing