We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent setting, spacious camp sites, marvelous mountains”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mont-Louis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camping du Pla de Barres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 12, 2013

As you should know many French „camping municipale“ lack in services. Here the few services offered are great: always recent weather forecast every morning and if you prefer to look up the weather yourself: affordable WiFi at the reception area. Food supply is even less than emergency level. Ice cream is available. During at least in august a baker comes every morning to sell croissants and baguette.
And to your surprise bathrooms / rest rooms are “unisex”.
These were the only set-backs. For food supply: At least in august a baker comes every morning to sell croissants and baguette out of his mobile shop. The people running the camp ground are very friendly and service oriented.
The landscape is marvelous. Most parts of this camping place are located in the wood with really spacious camp sites. There were 20 meters to ours neighbor’s tent and we could set up the tent more than 8 meters back from the camping place road. The sanitary rooms were cleaned well. And the river running along the camp ground was end of August a nice place for swimming.

Across the street the shuttle bus for Lac des Bouillouses departs during the summer month. This offers easy access to the back-country with great hiking trails. If you avoid the “hiking highways” in the area you easily can find trails where you can enjoy the mountains without the “crowd”.
The camp ground is crossed by a number of hiking and mountain bike trails. And the local tourist information offer maps of these trails. You should be aware of the fact that this camp ground is situated at 1600m a.s.l., thus the night can be fairly cold in the beginning of September. And yet the river is fine for swimming.
In case you are looking for a campground in a quiet surrounding this place is close to perfect, especially if you can catch a pitch on the river banks.

Room Tip: Try to get a place away from the access road to Lac des Bouillouses - or bring ear plugs with you: t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MFKetterer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 55 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed on this site in July 2012, booked our pitch months before with low expectations, with it being a municipal site, as their website is very modest.
But when we finally arrived there to stay, we where totally stunned by its beauty and location. Wonderful facilities, very generous pitch sizes, low price, quietness and lovely river to splash about in. Even made friends with a local red squirrel, who visited us every evening.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bonanza75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank uxmal13000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Frederic B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 188marylineg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank merlina79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mont-Louis
1.5 mi away
Le Clos Cerdan
Le Clos Cerdan
#1 of 2 in Mont-Louis
417 reviews
3.2 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Pedrou
3.1 mi away
Pyrenees Hotel
Pyrenees Hotel
#9 of 16 in Font-Romeu
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Maeva Residence Les Balcons du Soleil
2.9 mi away
Residence Le Pic de l'Ours
Residence Le Pic de l'Ours
#6 of 16 in Font-Romeu
146 reviews
3.1 mi away
Le Grand Tetras Hotel
Le Grand Tetras Hotel
#2 of 16 in Font-Romeu
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping du Pla de Barres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping du Pla de Barres

Address: Route des Bouillouses, 66210 Mont-Louis, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Pyrenees-Orientales > Mont-Louis
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Mont-Louis
Price Range: $12 - $14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 162

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing