We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some thing we look forward to.”
Review of Hotel Azur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Azur
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in La Grande-Motte
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Some thing we look forward to.”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We could stay in any hotel we choose but we have returned to the Azur four times.
Our friends have also been numerous times.
We all keep coming back because it is a constant in a changing world.
The staff are also a constant with most of then having been there for the last eight years.
The air conditioning works well, the pool is quiet and the service and knowledge of local affairs is excellent.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shirley g, Propriétaire at Hotel Azur, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear M & Mrs M.

It is always a pleasure to accommodate you in our small establishment.
We would work hard to keep improving ourselves and still surprise you year by year.
I hope next time I will manage to schedule you new day trips to great places around la grande motte.

With my best wishes,

Shirley Guillemain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    47
    18
    14
    10
See reviews for
40
94
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The Azur was our relaxing part of a motor holiday around France and it certainly was. A thoroughly enjoyable stay. Very knowledgable English speaking reception who gave us some great advice on local gems. Would go again but would fly to Montpellier.

Room Tip: Our garden room was excellent but didn't see the inside of any other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We can across Hotel Azur by a stroke of luck, We had no reservation and were desperate to find somewhere nice to stay. From the moment we walked in, we were greated by the warmest of welcomes from Shirley, a very accomodating lady who we found out later was the co-owner. From then on things only improved where nothing was too much. For example, booking tables for Dinner, organising lunch (sandwiches) for us and especially assisting in altering our travel arrangments for our journey home. The rooms were spotless, as was the remainder of the hotel. The staff, especially samantha, were the most pleasent people you could wish to meet. So thank you Shirley and Mariea, we hope to be back next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shirley g, Propriétaire at Hotel Azur, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear C. & B. family
it was a real pleasure to receive you in our little place.
To make you feel confortable like at home was our main goal and
I'm happy if we managed to do it. We're looking forward to receiving you
"maybe next year" and to make you discover more of our great area.
With our best regards

Shirley & Marie, and all their staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackettstown, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Azur during a recent business trip and was very impressed with the friendly and accomadating staff. I had a beautiful view of the dock from my room and could not ask for a hotel in a more convenient location, everything was within a very manageable walking distance. I especially loved the croissant and scone breakfast with the wonderful assortments of jams, cheeses and whipped honey. It was a nice way to start your day!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the dock have the nice, cool, ocean breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gladys B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is one of those hotels that make a trip memorable. Covered in vines and built in a semi-circle around the pretty pool area, this small family-run hotel is perfectly positioned on the port, with beaches close by. Our de-luxe room was large and comfortable, with a relaxing start to the day provided by breakfast on the balcony enjoying the beautiful view of port and sea. Breakfast was good, though pre-packaged for practicality. There would be more fresh selection from a buffet, but it was a small price to pay for the luxury of breakfast in our room. The area was very quiet during the week but there was some noise at the weekend. The owner and staff were charming, friendly and ever-helpful. The attention to detail was impressive: a mosquito screen door (much appreciated), humidifiers round the pool (for the hot months), umbrellas by the door (luckily not needed). It is worth paying for the hotel parking. It was blissful to spend the last four nights of our trip at this peaceful, charming hotel - we hope to be back.

Room Tip: There are a few very reasonably priced garden rooms, but they have no view and seem a bit dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

If you are not French or knowledgable of French Hotel rating system you are well advised to discount at least 1 if not 2 stars to manage your expectations as to the quality you will encounter.

The property is at a great location in front of the harbor and has a small pool. We stayed during a sunny winter day and enjoyed the view of the ships. The room was indeed clean.

The bathroom shower & toilet modules was awkwardly fit into the bathroom and you have to squeeze yourself into those modules if your body mass index is just in balance. the remaining room facilities are very basic and seem to lived there best days long ago. The computer at disposition of guests is a rare example of nostalgic times and will require quite some patience if you wish to use it to plan your ongoing trip.
As we made our reservations per blackberry we were unable to read the small print and had to pay 20 E for a baby cot. Everyone is free to charge for whatever they think is right most Hotels will not charge for a cot. The lady´s defensive attitude that all was in writing did not make me feel better, the more so as the cot came without cute french child linens but some improvised arrangement of linens they could come up with. It did feel like a rip off.
Although we stayed there at low season and parking around the hotel was available in abundance and free of charge, we ended up paying 8E for sure a good rate in hot summer days yet uncool during empty winter season. In summary, 128E for something not worth 60E will certainly keep us at a safe distance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UdoHamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shirley g, Propriétaire at Hotel Azur, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Google Translation
Monsieur,

Tout d'abord nous vous remercions d'avoir séjourné chez nous et de faire partager votre opinion sur cette nuitée.
Vous parlez d'étoiles, mais en effet en tant qu'étranger vous n'avez peut être pas été mis au courant de la nouvelle législation française qui a modifié les classements des étoiles depuis 2 ans. En effet ancien 3 étoiles, nous sommes passé 4 étoiles, suite au passage d'une commission de contrôle. Tout ceci est donc bien réglementé. Concernant l'espace de la chambre et de la salle de bain, elle est en effet approprié pour deux personnes puisque c'est une chambre double que vous aviez réservé. En arrivant à 4 personnes, soit deux adultes et 2 enfants, sans aucune précision au préalable, et ne souhaitant pas visiter nos spacieuses chambre familiales adaptées pour 4 personnes, il est justifié que vous vous soyez senti un peu à l'étroit. Vous avez d'ailleurs demandé un lit parapluie, qui a un cout additionnel comme dans de nombreux hôtels en France.
Le parking privatif fermé et surveiller est en effet en supplément mais comme vous l'avez bien précisé il n'en est aucune obligation puisque un large choix de place s'offre à vous sur le parking municipal gratuit. le choix est donc le votre de vouloir accéder à un service supplémentaire, soit faire surveiller et garder votre véhicule.
Nous pensons également qu'à l'heure actuelle, la plus part des voyageurs ont un ordinateur portable, une tablette ou un smartphone; c'est pourquoi nous avons préféré mettre l'accent sur un réseau wifi gratuit. Mais comme nous pensons également à ceux qui n'aurait pas amené leur appareil de connexion, nous mettons à disposition un petit coin internet avec un ordinateur de bureau qui certes n'est pas le dernier modèle sorti, mais qui fonctionne parfaitement.
Nous espérons avoir pu répondre à vos interrogations.

Cordialement

Shirley Guillemain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 14, 2012

This is a small hotel, lovingly run by a family, who strive to make visitors feel welcome and at home. The room was comfortable with a beautiful view and the bathroom was thoughtfully equipped with good quality toiletries. Breakfast in the room was carefully selected and pleasantly served. Thank you especially to Shirley for her lovely manner and helpful advice.

Room Tip: Request a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anonymous983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Grande-Motte hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure La Grande Motte Port
Mercure La Grande Motte Port
#1 of 16 in La Grande-Motte
842 reviews
1.4 mi away
Novotel La Grande Motte Golf
Novotel La Grande Motte Golf
#5 of 16 in La Grande-Motte
708 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Golf Hotel
Best Western Golf Hotel
#6 of 16 in La Grande-Motte
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Quetzal Hotel
Le Quetzal Hotel
#2 of 16 in La Grande-Motte
190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Saint Clair
Hotel Saint Clair
#8 of 16 in La Grande-Motte
142 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Les Corallines
Hotel Les Corallines
#10 of 16 in La Grande-Motte
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Azur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Azur

Property: Hotel Azur
Address: Place Maurice Justin | Presqu'ile du Port, 34280 La Grande-Motte, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Herault > La Grande-Motte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in La Grande-Motte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Azur 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Azur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing