We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very friendly staff”
Review of Hotel Azur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Azur
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in La Grande-Motte
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Azur during a recent business trip and was very impressed with the friendly and accomadating staff. I had a beautiful view of the dock from my room and could not ask for a hotel in a more convenient location, everything was within a very manageable walking distance. I especially loved the croissant and scone breakfast with the wonderful assortments of jams, cheeses and whipped honey. It was a nice way to start your day!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the dock have the nice, cool, ocean breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gladys B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 201 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is one of those hotels that make a trip memorable. Covered in vines and built in a semi-circle around the pretty pool area, this small family-run hotel is perfectly positioned on the port, with beaches close by. Our de-luxe room was large and comfortable, with a relaxing start to the day provided by breakfast on the balcony enjoying the beautiful view of port and sea. Breakfast was good, though pre-packaged for practicality. There would be more fresh selection from a buffet, but it was a small price to pay for the luxury of breakfast in our room. The area was very quiet during the week but there was some noise at the weekend. The owner and staff were charming, friendly and ever-helpful. The attention to detail was impressive: a mosquito screen door (much appreciated), humidifiers round the pool (for the hot months), umbrellas by the door (luckily not needed). It is worth paying for the hotel parking. It was blissful to spend the last four nights of our trip at this peaceful, charming hotel - we hope to be back.

Room Tip: There are a few very reasonably priced garden rooms, but they have no view and seem a bit dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

If you are not French or knowledgable of French Hotel rating system you are well advised to discount at least 1 if not 2 stars to manage your expectations as to the quality you will encounter.

The property is at a great location in front of the harbor and has a small pool. We stayed during a sunny winter day and enjoyed the view of the ships. The room was indeed clean.

The bathroom shower & toilet modules was awkwardly fit into the bathroom and you have to squeeze yourself into those modules if your body mass index is just in balance. the remaining room facilities are very basic and seem to lived there best days long ago. The computer at disposition of guests is a rare example of nostalgic times and will require quite some patience if you wish to use it to plan your ongoing trip.
As we made our reservations per blackberry we were unable to read the small print and had to pay 20 E for a baby cot. Everyone is free to charge for whatever they think is right most Hotels will not charge for a cot. The lady´s defensive attitude that all was in writing did not make me feel better, the more so as the cot came without cute french child linens but some improvised arrangement of linens they could come up with. It did feel like a rip off.
Although we stayed there at low season and parking around the hotel was available in abundance and free of charge, we ended up paying 8E for sure a good rate in hot summer days yet uncool during empty winter season. In summary, 128E for something not worth 60E will certainly keep us at a safe distance.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank UdoHamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shirley g, Propriétaire at Hotel Azur, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013
Google Translation

Monsieur,

Tout d'abord nous vous remercions d'avoir séjourné chez nous et de faire partager votre opinion sur cette nuitée.
Vous parlez d'étoiles, mais en effet en tant qu'étranger vous n'avez peut être pas été mis au courant de la nouvelle législation française qui a modifié les classements des étoiles depuis 2 ans. En effet ancien 3 étoiles, nous sommes passé 4 étoiles, suite au passage d'une commission de contrôle. Tout ceci est donc bien réglementé. Concernant l'espace de la chambre et de la salle de bain, elle est en effet approprié pour deux personnes puisque c'est une chambre double que vous aviez réservé. En arrivant à 4 personnes, soit deux adultes et 2 enfants, sans aucune précision au préalable, et ne souhaitant pas visiter nos spacieuses chambre familiales adaptées pour 4 personnes, il est justifié que vous vous soyez senti un peu à l'étroit. Vous avez d'ailleurs demandé un lit parapluie, qui a un cout additionnel comme dans de nombreux hôtels en France.
Le parking privatif fermé et surveiller est en effet en supplément mais comme vous l'avez bien précisé il n'en est aucune obligation puisque un large choix de place s'offre à vous sur le parking municipal gratuit. le choix est donc le votre de vouloir accéder à un service supplémentaire, soit faire surveiller et garder votre véhicule.
Nous pensons également qu'à l'heure actuelle, la plus part des voyageurs ont un ordinateur portable, une tablette ou un smartphone; c'est pourquoi nous avons préféré mettre l'accent sur un réseau wifi gratuit. Mais comme nous pensons également à ceux qui n'aurait pas amené leur appareil de connexion, nous mettons à disposition un petit coin internet avec un ordinateur de bureau qui certes n'est pas le dernier modèle sorti, mais qui fonctionne parfaitement.
Nous espérons avoir pu répondre à vos interrogations.

Cordialement

Shirley Guillemain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

This is a small hotel, lovingly run by a family, who strive to make visitors feel welcome and at home. The room was comfortable with a beautiful view and the bathroom was thoughtfully equipped with good quality toiletries. Breakfast in the room was carefully selected and pleasantly served. Thank you especially to Shirley for her lovely manner and helpful advice.

Room Tip: Request a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anonymous983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

This was our third stay at this hotel and I cannot fault it in any way. From the moment I walked into reception I felt I had come home. The reception staff speak fantastic English and are warm and welcoming and would bend over backwards to make your stay a good experience. The views from the room are to die for, overlooking the harbour, the sea and the pool. There are always planty of sunbeds around the pool no matter what time you come out and the misters keep you cool in the heat of the day. You can order drinks and snacks and these are bought out to you on your sunbed. The Pool is always covered over in the evening to keep the heat in and keep it clean as it was not heated but always was a constant 28 degrees.

The standard rooms are basic and clean with no frills but have everything you are looking for and great airconditioning for when its hot. There is a flat screen TV with a selection of channels. It is a very quite hotel so if you are looking for time out in the piece and quite this is the place to come with the added bonus of having breakfast on your balcony or the option of sitting by the pool.

The hotel is a short 5 minute walk to all the restaurants and shops and the beaches are clean and not over crowded and if you like you can sit on the rocks and watch the boats coming and going and the fishermen sitting with 3 or 4 rods hoping for a catch (I didn't see anyone catch anything but they were enjoying themselves).
I hired a bike at very reasonable cost and rode all around Grande Motte, Its all on the flat so easy and is a great way to explore the town and surroundings, there are plenty of cycle ways so you never need to go onto the road.

When we come back next time we hope to be more proficient in French!!!

Room Tip: 1st and 2nd floor rooms have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wilnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

This has been our fifth visit to the Azur and yet again we haven't been disappointed. Shirley and her staff were attentive and all our needs met. The location is superb, being secluded but also within a short distance to excellent restaurants and bars.
We look forward to returning in the future...definitely!

Bernard and Laraine Hunt

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larainehunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelazur34, Propriétaire at Hotel Azur, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Dear Laraine & Bernard,

its always a pleasure to receive you and we really do our best to improve and renew our home and services, to make you feel home as possible as it is.
We warmly thank you for your fidelity and kindness.

Shirley & all her staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

All what you need to feel fine. I had an excellent stay!

Room Tip: you get your breakfast in the room on the terrasse viewing the sea. A beautiful beginning of the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank felicita3011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Grande-Motte hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure La Grande Motte Port
Mercure La Grande Motte Port
#3 of 16 in La Grande-Motte
931 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Plage Art et Emotions
La Plage Art et Emotions
#1 of 16 in La Grande-Motte
358 reviews
1.4 mi away
Novotel La Grande Motte Golf
Novotel La Grande Motte Golf
#5 of 16 in La Grande-Motte
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Quetzal Hotel
Le Quetzal Hotel
#2 of 16 in La Grande-Motte
272 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Prose Hotel
Le Prose Hotel
#10 of 16 in La Grande-Motte
56 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Saint Clair
Hotel Saint Clair
#7 of 16 in La Grande-Motte
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Azur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Azur

Address: Place Maurice Justin | Presqu'ile du Port, 34280 La Grande-Motte, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Herault > La Grande-Motte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in La Grande-Motte
Price Range: $85 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Azur 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Azur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing