We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 summer nights” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure La Grande Motte Port

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mercure La Grande Motte Port
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in La Grande-Motte
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“5 summer nights”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I chose this hotel as our base to discover the region. I am writing this using the hotel wifi as I sit by the outdoor pool. It is in a great location with the beach and harbour practically on the door step. Parking on the street is free and pretty easy if you don't mind doing a bit of driving around. Hotel parking is also possible, but costs about 10 euros and in my opinion isn't necessary since we've managed to get a space within 5 mins walk each day.

We're here with our 5 month old daughter and there was a cot already prepared in the room on arrival. The rooms are perfectly spacious and I like the fact that no matter which room you have you'll always get a balcony with a sea view.

We haven't bothered with the hotel's 15 euro breakfast since you can get a coffee, juice and bread with jam in practically any restaurant for about 6 euros. The hotel does actually offer a reduced breakfast along these lines for 7 euros per person if you pay for it there and then.

I don't speak much French, and since this is very much a French resort, the staff around town generally don't speak much English. It doesn't matter to us since we have spent each day driving to the nearby towns of Nimes, Monpellier, Saintes Marie de la Mer and the national park La Carmague.

I'd recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a typical French beach holiday, with great sea food and facilities for young families.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Lascelless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    381
    117
    23
    5
See reviews for
195
352
34
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
133 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

looking for an overnight stop whilst travelling, we took the advice of the tourist office, who arranged a room for us here, after we decided against a more expensive yet inferior hotel.
we stayed in a lovely 9th floor room, with a balcony overlooking the harbour. spacious, clean, well furnished, comfortable bed, nice bathroom.
best thing of all were the extremely helpful and pleasant staff. even including the parking fee, this was great value for money and we wished we could have stayede a 2nd night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigcheuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
117 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

WE have stayed at this Mercure several times in the past, and are always well pleased.
A wonderful view from every room over the Marina; the rooms are quite spacious for a
French Mercure, very clean, and the beds and pillows are comfortable. The staff is
very friendly, speak English, and will accommodate your every command.

The main Marina and a quantity of restaurants & shops are all in walking distance, and the pool in the afternoon is quite refreshing.

The breakfast buffet is certainly grand and quite copious, with lots of varieties of fruits and
breads and meats...the only downfall is the awful awful scrambled eggs in a vat, that are
mostly pasty and flavorless!! everything else is good...what happend to real scrambled eggs
instead of this powdered variety that is turned into an egg soup with no flavor???? don't even
think about trying them...instead go for the real eggs you can soft boil in their cooker...and do
try the sweet fresh squeezed orange juice in the big circular machine...quite a show!

And the Cantelopes are the small and very sweet French variety, and great with the thin sliced
Parma ham (even tho it is in a round shape, it is quite good!)

Parking is difficult in this town, so do pay for the privilege of using their spaces.

Room Tip: Try for a room at the top...for a better view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bluemountain66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
307 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Easily found by car when arriving in La Grande Motte, with private car park (for a fee), the Mercure hotel is very well located by the harbour also close by the beach and most restaurants/bars. When going to our room we noticed that the hotel was a bit more worn down than expected judging by the pictures here, but although a small upgrade could be in its place, the rooms were spacious and nice. Ours also had a lovely balcony overlooking the harbour with great ocean views.

Despite the already great location by the harbour/beach the hotel also has a nice pool area, which wasn't too much used. Therefore it was a great and peaceful place to relax. Breakfast was good and I loved my own pressed orange juice. The option to sit outside was also very much appriciated and the selection I would rate average + but more than decent enough.

Service was good and the front desk members were always helpful if we needed something, although the sent us in the wrogn direction (or maybe it was a misunderstanding) once so we missed the bus to Montpellier. When coming back from the Bruce Springsteen concert we attended to the car park was packed, so the night manager took our car keys and kept control of the logistics and made sure that we had a parking the morning after. A nice touch instead of sending us to another parking lot.

In general we really liked the hotel and despite it being a larger chain hotel, we kinda felt "home" and as that is some of the main targets for a hotel, we must say that they delivered.

Room Tip: Pay a little bit more to get a room with balcony and ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas1406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

The hotel is cunningly designed so that pretty much all the rooms have a harbour view, which is delightful. On our first night (a Monday) a private function occupied the the restaurant, so we had the benefit of their cabaret singer for much of the evening. Staff are friendly and helpful, rooms a good size, with great views. La Grand Motte is an odd place with very distinctive architecture, the hotel perfectly placed to enjoy the centre of the town and the seafront area. Handy for Montpellier and the surrounding areas.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Partizanmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscany, Italy
Level Contributor
107 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 4 N -very good Location close to restaurants and beach.came here for a golf stay as the golf course only 15 min away from the center.As we did not want to pay for hotel parking-walked about 10 min for free parking! Nice clean rooms overlooking the harbour-quiet-friendly staff-would stay here again

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita-Nina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

The Mercure hotel is located right in the centre of La Grande Motte, with the marina and boardwalk directly below. As a family we were allocated a suite with two separate rooms on a high floor with balconies and beautiful views over the sea and town. You can walk outside the hotel to the shops and restaurants and beaches. One of the best boulangeries in town is right beside the hotel. The breakfast is a buffet with huge choice, from fruit, cereals, cheeses, pastries, cold meats to hot cooked foods, drinks and the staff are extremely helpful and welcoming. It can be expensive to stay during the high season, and very busy, but during quieter months it is very reasonably priced for what is included and the rooms are excellent. There are also extras such as the swimming pool and deck in summer, restaurant and gym. I'd definitely recommend the hotel to others.

Room Tip: Higher floors have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nyra22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Grande-Motte hotels
1.2 mi away
Novotel La Grande Motte Golf
Novotel La Grande Motte Golf
#3 of 15 in La Grande-Motte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel de la Plage
Hotel de la Plage
#1 of 15 in La Grande-Motte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Golf Hotel
BEST WESTERN Golf Hotel
#6 of 15 in La Grande-Motte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Azur
Hotel Azur
#11 of 15 in La Grande-Motte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Les Corallines
Hotel Les Corallines
#9 of 15 in La Grande-Motte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Europe
Hotel Europe
#4 of 15 in La Grande-Motte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure La Grande Motte Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure La Grande Motte Port

Property: Mercure La Grande Motte Port
Address: 140 rue du Port, 34280 La Grande-Motte, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Occitanie > Herault > La Grande-Motte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in La Grande-Motte
#2 On the Beach Hotel in La Grande-Motte
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Grande-Motte
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Grande-Motte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure La Grande Motte Port 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 star hotel with 117 rooms all featuring private balcony with harbour and sea views. The hotel is located in the town centre, 200m from beaches, the congress centre and the casino. The hotel also features 10 meeting rooms, a restaurant with regional cuisine and a bar with terrace and private outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Mercure La Grande Motte Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure La Grande Motte
Accor La Grande Motte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing