We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castlemead Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$163
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
$87
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (226)
Filter reviews
226 results
Traveler rating
114
68
24
15
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
114
68
24
15
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewrestaurant with roomslovely hoteldining roomexcellent foodhundred yardscomfy bedlambmanorbier beachspent one nightwould highly recommend this hotelvery pleasant staystayed here for nightslovely rooman evening mealwarm welcomerelaxing break
Filter
Updating list...
164 - 169 of 226 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

The food and reasturant were very good,the rooms were in dire need of decoration, some furniture needs replacing, baths need replacing (we tried two rooms) one of the baths was chipped , one toilet seat was broken,plug to bath broken , cistern handle broken, tap names missing(cold) table with tea/coffee was filthy, curtains were so thin they didn't stop the light getting through, drawers between bed were full of dirt, over all the place was dire, we checked out early just could not stay in a place so bad..

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BeagleToby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Did not stay in Hotel but had a meal in the restaurant over the August B/H weekend. Food was very good and service was also good. Great choice of food at a resnoble price. Views where fantastic out over Manorbier bay. Had a lovely evening highly recomended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Steve-Chivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We arrived on a sunny Sunday afternoon to the sound of live atmospheric music drifting from the neighbouring castle. When we located the owner we were swiftly shown to our room. The room was comfortable but perhaps a little tired. A cup of tea on the lawn was delightful. The views over the beach and up to the church are superb.
The food was generally of a high standard. Service was rather slow and although the waitresses were very accommodating and helpful it was difficult to catch one!
We enjoyed our stay but missed the interaction between staff and guests which we enjoy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greg1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This place is memborable: flanked by a 12th-century church and 11th- or 12th-century castle which make for magnificent views from the hotel's lovely lawns.. We stayed in a spacious double ensuite room. The dining room and experience also pleasantly surprised us: near-gourmet quality with the same magical views noted out the dining room's enormous windows: views of the church and looking west toward the sea.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiscerningAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The family room decor was very tired and dated. The shower was not upto standard, impossible to shower, no point showering the second morning, took far too long. The television was tiny. There was no wifi in room and on the sevond morning we discovered a fly in our coffee pot at breakfast, unfortunately this was after we had drank most of it. Could not wait to leave.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank claire f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews