We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful surprise”
Review of Hotel des Arcades

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel des Arcades
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ceret
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delightful surprise”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We spent one night here on our way back to Barcelona (last week in August 2011). We hadn’t booked and drove into Ceret simply because it didn’t look too big a town on the map. Turned out to be a delightful short stay. We had a triple room – S8 - which opened up to a lovely view of the Arcades. Staff friendly, professional, hotel very good value. Free wifi which sometimes worked in the room but good connection in lobby. Free carparking a within easy walking distance. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Triple room facing the Arcades definately worth the small extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lad3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    37
    21
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
44
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
421 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 356 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Les Arcades is about as central as you get in Ceret and has really helpful people on the desk. It's not the world's most luxurious or best-appointed hotel. But in terms of value it rates very highly. Our room was quiet, comfortable and clean. The breakfast was basic French but none the worse for that. There is a lift (tiny). The little parking garage below the hotel is useful and not too expensive. Ceret is a town that takes art seriously and the owner of the Arcades does too - the walls are covered with a nicely quirky collection of posters, prints and photographs (look out for the photos of Dali in the lobby). We stayed here on a Friday - so that we could stock up on food at the fabulous street market right outside the hotel before driving off to our gite for a week. On the advice of the hotel we had dinner at La Fontaine, a few steps away in the Place Neuf Jets (I think that's the name), and I'd recomend this too. I wish there were more places like Les Arcades. If only it had wifi it would be even better.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JM49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2011

This was a really well-run and friendly hotel. It has a small amount of car parking underneath in a garage accessed from around the block at €6/night, though there are also large car parks within walking distance and (if you're lucky) parking just outside. Breakfast was €6 with a seemingly unlimited supply of coffee. We stayed in a triple, and were put up in room S11, which overlooks les Arcades themselves (see pic). A little noisy on Saturday morning because of the market, but to be expected.

Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank iljumittajjeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2011

We stayed here in Jan 2011 and had the most pleasant surprise. The location is just wonderful and we were lucky enough to have a window to the street. We watched the markets set up early on the Sat morning and enjoyed strolling to nearby restaurants to eat. Although a lot of places were closed at this time of year we thoroughly took in the local atmosphere. Coffee or wine at the Hotel downstairs and the service was second to none. The rooms are a little dated but roomy. Breakfast was traditionally French and more than enough. Looking forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulesandPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2010

Enjoyed a lovely two day break in ceret. Very pretty town .hotel clean efficient, big rooms and breakfast adequate. Would definately recommend to friends & hope to come back ourselves

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeNe72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2010

This is a very well placed hotel at the centre of the splendid artist colony and cherry town of Ceret. The rooms seem a little tired, coloured bathroom suite(!), but the level of the service makes it irrevevant. Breakfast is very pleasant. I would use this moderately priced hotel anytime.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nymca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plockton
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2009

we stayed one night- to visit the Modern Art Museum. Pleasant staff. Welcoming. good value. couldnt be easier acess for wondering through the attractive interesting town and visiting the museum. disabled parking just outside and a lift made it perfect for my mum who walks with a stick. The usual continental served in spacious dining room. Would definately return. easy stroll to great wee restuarant- La Fontaine.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miriamclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ceret
0.0 mi away
Hotel Vidal
Hotel Vidal
#3 of 5 in Ceret
44 reviews
2.0 mi away
Le Mas Trilles
Le Mas Trilles
#1 of 5 in Ceret
152 reviews
4.7 mi away
Appart'hotel Castel Emeraude
Appart'hotel Castel Emeraude
#1 of 7 in Amelie-les-Bains-Palalda
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hotel La Pergola
Hotel La Pergola
#4 of 7 in Amelie-les-Bains-Palalda
14 reviews
5.2 mi away
Inter Hotel Le Grillon d'Or
0.1 mi away
Le Ceretan Hotel
Le Ceretan Hotel
#12 of 12 in Ceret
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Arcades? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Arcades

Property: Hotel des Arcades
Address: 1 Place Pablo Picasso, 66400 Ceret, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Pyrenees-Orientales > Ceret
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ceret
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel des Arcades 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel des Arcades is located in the heart of Céret and is a charming property with several types of rooms. The presence of two terraces including a panoramic allows the guests to enjoy a moment of calm. Near by car (about 30 min) from beach, Spain and mountains. Céret offers visitors a range of activities such as the famous museum of modern art, the museum of music or even walks in the footsteps of the painters who have lived there and many walks. The hotel proposes to provide you with informations on the differents activities available for adults and children in the Vallespir valley and the surrounding area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel des Arcades reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing