We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect balance”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of G'Day Ceret

Front View of Apartment at Night
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front View of Apartment at Night
Dining Room - seating for up to 10 Entry Vestibule
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Front View of Apartment at Night
Dining Room - seating for up to 10
Entry Vestibule
Kitchen - Cuisine
Kitchen - Cuisine
Lounge Room
Lounge Room
Chambre Picasso
Ensuite - Chambre Picasso
Ensuite - Chambre Picasso
Chambre Matisse
Chambre Matisse - Twin Single Configuration
Chambre Matisse
Ensuite - Chambre Matisse
Laundry
View from the rear of the Apartment
View to L'Canigou from Chanbre Matisse
Saturday Markets right outside the front door
Lunch in Place de Neuf Jets - 75m from Apartment
Museum of Modern Art
The Cherry Festival is held each May
La Feria Celebration each July
Flamenco Concert in the Square
New Outdoor Terrace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Ceret, Pyrenees-Orientales, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Christine...
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A perfect balance”
Reviewed November 11, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

This apartment combines the very best of old world charm with all modern amenities. We stayed here with our son and his wife and couldn't have been happier. The two large bedrooms with bathrooms functioned as two suites. Kitchen is great (and enormous by French standards). We felt very welcome and thoroughly spoiled by the experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space, ambience and the fact that absolutely everything had been thought about. Views are superb
Liked least: Only drawback is stairs which is the norm in France.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 17, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. When you booked the apartment you mentioned that you were using this stay to have a reunion with your son and his wife. We were very confident that our apartment and the village of Ceret would be perfect for you and we are so happy that you agree.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macbris
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Brilliant apartment & perfect location”
Reviewed October 21, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I can not praise the apartment more highly. My wife and 83 yo mother-in-law stayed during early October for a week. The apartment is huge and has been very tastefully renovated - separate kitchen with everything that opens and shuts, inculding dishwasher, microwave - and all the kitchen implements you can think of; separate large dining room; spearate lounge room with TV, cable (Sky and French), DVD & CD player - very comfortable lounge suite; hallway with free WIFI modem and free phone calls to land lines in France and Australia (this was really appreciated with an 87 yo mother at home); 2 enormous bedrooms, each with ensuites and king size beds (very welcome after the double beds we had been sleeping in!). The apartment also has a separate laundry with washing machine and dryer, opening onto a balcony at the front of building.

Very large opening windows from kitchen, dining and lounge rooms afforded beautiful views to the hills behind, and windows/shutters from bedrooms opened via baclonies on to the street below. Plenty of light and ventilation was possible.

Sally (property manager) met us with the keys and instructions upon arrival - she was extremely friendly and very helpful (from England) - a welcome pack of wine, butter, cheese, pate, baguette, salted peanuts and crackers was really 'welcome' beleive me, after the long 6 hour car trip to get to Ceret.

Ceret is a beautiful city with plenty of bars, restaurants - 2 supermarkets close by, 3-4 boulangeries/patisseries, 3 boucheries (butchers) and ATMs - everything you require. The Saturday market is not to be missed - it all happens right below the apartment on the street and throughout the town.

Parking is free if you are fortunate to snag a park 100m from the apartment - if not, there are an additional 2 large free car parks a further 100m away. It is very easy to drop off and load up luggage from in front of the apartment building before moving your car.

The only drawback with the apartment is that it does not have a lift and you go up to the 3rd floor. It is no problem - if you have an 80+ mother-in-law, you simply make she she has everything she needs before heading out for the day! Really, it wasn't an issue - but just something to be aware of. The apartment is in an original building (1800s?), so a lift is just not in keeping with the style and building of the time and would be nigh on impossible to install.

All the sights are very close at hand - Carcassone, Cathar castles, hill villages by the score - loved Villefranche-de-Conflent, the Mediterranean - check out Colliure (France) and Cadaque and Llafranc on Costa Brava (Spain). The Spanish border is only 8 kms away, with Barcelona a couple of hours - La Jonquera is a 'frontier' town on the border with ridiculously low prices for alcohol, perfume etc + a host of great supermarkets and designer clothing/shoe factory outlets if you are so inclined! Well worth checking out.

Would not hesitate to highly recommend G'day Ceret for a stay in SW France - we will definitely be going back sometime in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The presentation of the apartment, its size and facilities
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 17, 2014
When guests take time to write such a comprehensive positive review of our apartment we are very appreciative. The Team at G'Day Ceret thank you so much for your review and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back one day soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra P
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“entirely recommend this unique apartment”
Reviewed August 5, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This beautifully appointed apartment was beyond our expectations. Every room is tastefully appointed with exceptional views, right in the center of a quaint village. Easy access to many different village's full of history, wonderful restaurants and bars. Lots to do or just relax and soak up the atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 19, 2015
Thank you for your lovely review of our apartment. We think it is special and love that our visitors think the same. Look forward to you visiting again for another holiday. Cheers, The G'Day Ceret Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MazBrisba...
Brisbane Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Gateway to Southern France and Spain”
Reviewed May 23, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Position - located in the ancient village this apartment is on the third level of a Maison de Matrie built approximately 1750. It was originally a bank with the residence above. The marble entrance floor leads to a wide staircase.
The apartment is in the old part of Ceret so you feel like you are in a beautiful village where you can wander around and have a beer, have a coffee or a meal and browse the shops and say Bonjour to the locals. The surrounding town offers the convenience of modern living.
The apartment is huge and gorgeous. Two extra large bedrooms both with ensuites, separate lounge and separate dining room. The spacious, well appointed kitchen leads to a private terrace. There is also a washing machine and dryer!
It has fabulous countryside views and breezes from the windows.
From Ceret you can drive to Toulouse in 2 hours or Barcelona in 2 hours or 3 hours to Andora or 2 hours to Montpellier.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
74024
Ceretto Lomellina, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The apartment exceeded our expectations!”
Reviewed April 25, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

'G'Day, Céret' has been the perfect apartment for us. My wife and I are Francophiles, having visited la belle France on many occasions. With an eye to new discoveries, we set our sights on the Catalonian region near the Spanish border.

We researched the area and discovered an apartment called 'G'Day Céret'. Céret is a lovely village with about 7,000 inhabitants.

The apartment exceeded our expectations: two large comfortable bedrooms, each with an ensuite bath, an entry foyer, spacious living room, dining room, and kitchen. Four people could be very comfortable here. The apartment is beautifully appointed, and it is located in the heart of charming Céret. The distances around town are short, and parking is free.

The apartment takes up the second floor of a beautiful 250-year-old building. The owners remodeled the apartment in 2011; it is beautiful and very up-to-date. There are prints of famous paintings (e.g., Matisse and Picasso) in every room. The Wi-Fi has enabled me to get some research done and to keep up with my colleagues back home.

This lovely "home away from home" was a lucky find, and it has made our three-week stay peaceful, comfortable, and productive.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 9, 2014
We are thrilled that we "exceeded your expectations". It just confirms that the vision and hardwork put in by the team at G'Day Ceret is justified. This gives us confidence in sharing our dream. We look forward to welcoming you back someday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katobel
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A delightfully warm and welcoming light-filled apartment”
Reviewed December 22, 2013 for a stay in December 2013

Europe in winter can be a fantastic time to travel, especially pre-Christmas when all the shops and laneways are decorated so beautifully with Christmas lights. My 19 year old daughter and I had flown from Melbourne to Barcelona, where we stayed for 3 days. We then travelled from Barcelona by train to the town of Ceret. We had booked the G'day Ceret apartment for one week and had organised in advance with the owners to be met at the Perpignan train station by Jay, a local English speaking lady. Jay gave us a private taxi trip to the apartment which was a great service and meant we avoided carrying our luggage to catch the connecting bus. We were met at the apartment by another English lady, Sally. Sally had thoughtfully turned on the heating and had a delicious welcome hamper of baguette, cheeses, wine and assorted delectable goodies waiting for us. After giving us the keys and explaining the general easy care of the apartment, Sally left us to settle in. We immediately loved the apartment with it's spacious yet warm and inviting ambience. We had opted for the two bedrooms to be available. The large bedrooms, each with their own en-suite, were tastefully decorated and the beds were comfortable and cosy. We did have to ask Sally to provide an extra blanket each for the first night, and this was done promptly. After the apartment fully warmed up it was very toasty warm, which was welcome after being outdoors in the sunny, but chilly, December weather.
The Ceret market , which takes place every Saturday, was delightful and literally on our doorstep. After walking down two flights of internal stairs, a big wooden door opens on to the street. Stalls selling delicious foods were lined along the streets and exuded a terrific vibe. The local produce was fresh and delicious. We got in the French spirit and bought a basket which we filled and stocked the fridge in the apartment. The market seemed very genuine and it appeared many locals were doing their regular fresh food shopping there as well. Containers of olives, fresh sardines, cheese, breads were just some of the items we purchased.
The kitchen in the apartment was fully equipped, including pantry items that we were welcome to use but replaced if we finished. We made a memorable mussel, clam and fish in a red wine and tomato sauce baked in a French cast iron pot from one of the recipe books available for our use.
It was also a great bonus being able to use the clothes washing and drying facilities in the apartment, especially when travelling for a number of days.
We easily navigated the one Euro bus that we could conveniently catch in Ceret, a short ten minute walk from the apartment. We caught the bus to Perpignan station and then a train to Carcassonne, to stay two nights in the old walled city and enjoy the Christmas markets, hot wine (vin chaud) and the amazing food served at the Hotel de la Cite. After that short trip we returned to Ceret and it truly felt like coming home to return to the apartment.
Little touches such as an Australian power socket, the cable TV where we could watch shows in English, the general tranquillity and feel of the apartment made it a fantastic oasis for us before we headed off to the hustle and bustle of Paris. We look forward to returning to G'day Ceret apartment soon !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall experience
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 28, 2013
Wow, we are thrilled with your review. ! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and that our little touches are noticed. Thank you so much and we would love you to stay again some time. , The G'day Ceret Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ann-marie...
stockholm
1 review
“Nice views”
Reviewed November 15, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Nice village, nice house, spatial & elegant apartment, big bedroom with comfortable beds. The most unique feature is the views from the apartment - on one side towards the street with it´s very old platanes and its city life & on the other side the green countryside.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing