We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place to Stay”
Review of Le Mas Trilles

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Mas Trilles
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ceret
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
446 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Excellent Place to Stay”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This was our second hotel on an extended French holiday. The welcome was warm & friendly from the 2 young owners (who will do well here) who took over this year.They were very helpful with information on the area and places to eat in Ceret (which is worth exploring).Their advice on where to buy wines was also very useful and knowledgeable. The place & location is ideal for a relaxing & peaceful holiday while not being far from sightseeing sites and Ceret for evening meals. The garden; river walk and pool are great. Our room was small but fine ( we knew we were booking a smaller room due to lack of availability of a large room) and the bathroom could probably do with a face lift but everything was clean. The public areas in the main building are very nice as are the relaxing areas around the gardens and pool.Breakfast on the terrace was very good( fresh fruit;croissants;breads and confitures) but maybe a little variety could be introduced from day to day ( hams ;cheeses;cooked eggs etc') like we had at our previous hotel- the offering was still good though. We would return to Le Mas Trilles.

Room Tip: Go for a larger room in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greecophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    38
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
31
107
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

It is always nice to be welcomed with a smile when you arrive at a new hotel and this lovely hotel is certainly run by a welcoming and attentive family. Nothing is too much trouble....
Our room was confortable and tastefully decorated. The pool and the gardens were well looked after and surrounded by nice sitting areas.
Breakfast was served on the terrace and overlooking the river.
The family recommended an excellent restaurant in Ceret and the town itself is filled with interesting places and well worth a visit.
We would definetely go back there on our next visit in the area

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucinda56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, Calif
Level Contributor
186 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Our large room was a beautifully decorated located on an upper floor with windows on 3 sides. It had a very large bathroom.
The hotel is nicely sited above a river on one side, an orchard on another, and the pool and lawns on a third.
The couple who have joined his parents to run this charming hotel are most kind and helpful. We had a terrific recommendation for a restaurant in Ceret. We were accomodated for special requests for breakfast.
We like to hike and found a really nice quiet route across the river and up into the mountain.

Room Tip: We liked our panorama room.... with the windows on 3 sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oski80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

I just spent 5 days at Le Mas Trilles with my husband and our two children. We had the most wonderful time: not only the place itself is a delight with simple and tasteful rooms, a wonderful garden that goes all the way down to the river, dotted with lots of beautiful flowers and cherry trees. This lovely setting, in itself, could be enough. But the generous, kind and thoughtful attention and care of the Bukk family is pretty incredible. They spoiled us all along and our kids keep asking to go back. Thanks to them, we had a really amazing Jubilee weekend in France.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

We stayed two nights with my wife whilst travelling through the region. The owners and staff were so friendly, that they made us feel very welcome. We stayed in the Panorama room which is located in the main building. The room was quite spacious and nicely decorated. The building and grounds are quite beautiful and more impressive when you see the pictures of how it was when the owners bought the property!! There is access to the river bend which makes for a relaxing afternoon stroll and of course there is the pool where we were able to enjoy the sun and weather. The village of Ceret was very interesting and we definitely recommend a visit to the Picasso museum. Overall, our stay was just what we needed - some time to relax and enjoy the summer in a fabulous setting with great service. If you are considering a trip to this area, I would strongly recommend this beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

We chose this hotel on our France/Spain trip as it was recommended in the "Guide de charme" which also contains lots of really good hotels. This one however does not belong to them.
We had booked our stay via phone as we did not have internet access in our previous hotel. We mentioned several times on the phone that we would stay one OR two nights, depending on our further planning. The owner agreed and so we arrived the next day. We must say that the building itself and the garden are really beautiful. However we didn't like the following facts:
- The hotel is not located in Ceret, but several kilometers away in a very small village
- The main street can be heard all the time when you're on the terrace or at the pool. No mentioning of this anywhere
- Yes, there is a river and picknick tables, but you can't walk there (maybe in a survival outfit) and the picknick tables are very dirty
- The welcome was friendly, but not especially charming. We asked for freshly pressed orange juice and we simply got a concentrate, despite the owner saying it was fresh!
- Our room had a small terrace, but as said you could hear the street noise, and the room decoration was very average quality. We didn't like at all the paintings (cheap Matisse repros, one painting seemed to stem from the owner herself...). Bathroom was simple, but clean. However not even a soap dish was provided. Towels very simple, too.
- The pool was quite nice and the hammock in the garden a relaxing treat.
- Breakfast was o.k., but especially croissants didn't have proper quality.

As we discussed our plans in the early evening, we decided to inform the owners that we would only stay one night. When my husband - who is fluent in French as he lived there for 20 years - told the owner, he freaked out completely and shouted at us. He called us liars, cheaters and much more, also his wife said we would have been dishonest. I said that this is a simple misunderstanding, but we would like to leave the next day - all of which just made the owner again shout at me that I wouldn't understand French anyway (not true, sorry, I have a degree in this language so I understand perfectly well; I just don't bother people with my accent ;-)) and he wouldn't speak with me.I felt very much intimidated and discriminated against. We were thinking of calling the police when he suddenly said that he "as a gentleman" would only charge us the 1 night and we would have to pay immediately, which we did.
We very so embarrassed and just happy to get out of sight. We spent a beautiful evening though in Perpignan and left the other day after breakfast (as we had agreed to have it there).

Overall and despite the nice building/garden, it was a terrible experience and even without this aggressive behaviour I would only rate the hotel as average as it doesn't live up to the promises and the price is simply too high.

And I really hope that the owners are working on their service attitude towards their guests.

Room Tip: Not sure if there's a room without street noise. Try to get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Minnie_Mandelauge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mastrilles, Owner at Le Mas Trilles, responded to this review, December 28, 2011
Madam,

I would like to take this opportunity to comment on your review of Le Mas Trilles.We have been a successful small boutique hotel for the past 20 years, forming part of various guides such as the above mentioned “Guide de Charme” as well as Chateaux Hotels de France, Alastair Sawdays and many others, and always had an excellent reputation.

We cannot please everyone and but I feel sorry that you express so much resentment. However, I would like to clarify some points.

Nowhere do we say that the hotel is in < central > Ceret. We are situated in a small hamlet 2 to 3km drive, away from the centre.

- Our location does provide us with the privilege of offering our guests lovely outside space including pool, gardens and access to the river Tech. Le Mas Trilles is one of the most remarkable country house of the area dating from 14th century.
- The hotel buildings stand 100m away from the secondary road, reducing the negative effects of it. And I would like to let the readers know that all rooms are perfectly sound proofed we also offer rooms facing the garden and river side if this is of any concern.
- I would like to emphasize how peaceful it is in the garden and pool area where you can hear the water softly cascading down when having your breakfast on the terrace by the pool or reading a book in a hammock.
- Let me also add that the orange juice served for breakfast is made of 100% natural fruit, we never did serve orange juice made of concentrate.
- The path to the river is not paved, however it is far from requiring a survival outfit as you said. Many children and adults enjoyed the walk This year in particular the river covered the banks with lovely sand and pebbles...See picture on our website
- Given that the picknick tables are placed under the trees they may at times have some debris regardless of the fact that these are cleaned everyday.
-The decoration of the rooms may or may not please everyone but it is far from average quality. My wife, having a background in art and fashion design, has taken great care and pride in selecting high quality Editor's fabrics. Given her passion for art, we do have many of her paintings in the hotel. The Matisse prints ...They have been chosen from the recently edited <Matisse Jazz folio>.
- Finally in regards to your comments of either my wife or I shouting or “freaking” out, I believe these to be a bit of an exaggeration.

We did have a discussion as to how many nights you had agreed to stay. We disagree on your version. As for us, the day previous of your arrival, you made a phone reservation for 2 days.

You booked in at 12.30pm and announced departure at 7PM. We always try to arrange situation when taken in time. But in this case we had a situation with a lost income that we did not take lightly. Let's call it a misunderstanding if you prefer.

I can assure the readers that at no point were were aggressif. I have been in the hotel business for my all working life. It has now been 20 years that we have run this hotel during which time we have always strived to offer our guests the best services possibles so as they may have a relaxing and enjoyable stay with us. Given the number of repeat customers we have, I can happily say that we have succeeded in this.

I would like to end with a final apology if you felt in any way discriminated against because of your accent in French. Myself being a foreigner and having a strong foreign accent when speaking French, I would be the last person to intimidate, discriminate or embarrass anyone because of their accent.

My wife and I would like to wish you all the best in your future holidays.

Best regards

Laszlo Bukk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
witney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Marie-France and Laszlo are the perfect hosts for this charming bijou hotel with spotless rooms,lovely breakfasts in the gardens with lots of french coffee and croissents. Located only 10 mins from the local town of Ceret with good choices of restaurants. The relaxed setting of the hotel is perfect and everyone who stays there will love it! Stuart and Gwenda Brown.

Room Tip: very clean rooms ,lots of hot water and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stuart b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ceret
7.3 mi away
Le Relais Des Chartreuses
Le Relais Des Chartreuses
#1 of 4 in Le Boulou
288 reviews
3.3 mi away
Appart'hotel Castel Emeraude
Appart'hotel Castel Emeraude
#1 of 7 in Amelie-les-Bains-Palalda
122 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Vidal
Hotel Vidal
#3 of 5 in Ceret
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel des Arcades
Hotel des Arcades
#2 of 5 in Ceret
85 reviews
19.6 mi away
Chateau De Riell
Chateau De Riell
#1 of 2 in Molitg-les-Bains
239 reviews
18.0 mi away
Hotel Les Mouettes
Hotel Les Mouettes
#1 of 21 in Argeles-sur-Mer
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Mas Trilles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mas Trilles

Property: Le Mas Trilles
Address: Le Pont de Reynes, 66400 Ceret, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Pyrenees-Orientales > Ceret
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ceret
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Mas Trilles 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Mas Trilles is a 14th century Catalan manor house, renovated and transformed into a family runned boutique hotel.Set by river Tech in the heart of Romanesque Roussillon, Le Mas Trilles will seduce you with its relaxing swimming pool and flower scented garden in the famed Céret light. The hotel features 10 individually decorated rooms with most of them having a private terrace. 9 out of our 10 rooms are equipped with air-conditioning. Le Mas Trilles offers guests an ideal location where they can discover the wonderful area of Pyrennes-Oriental. From the beach side with beautiful pebble creeks or picturesque port villages such as Coullioure, to medieval villages in the Pyrenees mountains. Our proximity to Spain allows our guests the opportunity to do day trips into Spain's Catalan area with sites such as Cadaques or the Dali Museum in Figueres only 45mins away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Mas Trilles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Mas Trilles céret

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing