We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Priced for its location only” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Opal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Opal
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Cap-d'Agde
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Priced for its location only”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We booked at very short notice and the double room was 108 euros with no breakfast included. The hotel does have a great location for the marina, bars and restaurants. Its on a small busy roundabout on the opposite side there is a huge free car park which makes it central, but has to be cleared for the Saturday morning market. There are a fair few large car parks on the same long street. The hotel charge 6 euros a night for private parking but it was not necessary. As you enter the hotel its very clean and tidy and we were warmly welcomed. However as you get to the lift that's when it all becomes a little dated. Our room was clean and the mattress tired, there was a machine on the wall which was either the air con or heater but it was ancient. We would not want to stay for more than 1 night. The free wifi had a very weak signal and unable to send emails. For the price i paid we were both disappointed. I would not go back to the hotel or Marina area which was like Blackpool, and its certainly not a place to people watch.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkslasstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    48
    23
    6
    12
See reviews for
24
70
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Stayed in the hotel in April (so out of season) for 3 nights. Clean hotel, clean room that was spacious and on the top floor but they had a lift for when you had cases! Staff are friendly and helpful and the place is literally a 2 minute walk from the harbour where there are plenty of shops, bars, restaurants. There was a car park directly across the road (limited parking on a saturday due to a small market) Breakfast was nice though not sure it's worth the 9 euros charge. Only 1 pillow each on a double bed and was quite chilly in the night but there was an extra blanket. Shower was amazing! Says rooftop terrace but we could not find, However. would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flowjoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Access to the hotel is easy from the road and parking. The room we had was nice and clean and faced the front street. It is a very short walk down to the port and most of the shops and restaurants.

We enjoyed the evening walks along the port watching the people and enjoying the boats. The staff at the hotel are quite friendly and helpful and able to guide you to anything you need in Cap.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel 4 days ago for 5 nights and it was great , they made us so well come and comfortable . Would stay again . Parking cross the road but no problem at all .
All the restaurant are so close by and shops, cash point as well .
Rooms are big and clean very friendly couple who run the hotel
Again thank you

Room Tip: Great and friendly people at the hotel , breakfast was good , fresh bread every morning great. Locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joemac52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diggle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Arrived mid afternoon two pleasant and helpful lady receptionist we had pre booked two nights the room was clean first floor at the front of the hotel I could not fault this hotel and would stay again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pierre d, Gérant at Hotel Opal, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for you comentaire,waiting for you next visit .
Cordially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Arrived late and was directed to the "annexe" part , more like a back yard, and a room built in converted garage with no window, not recommended for claustrophobics. Then at precisely 09:00 it sounded like a building site rather than a hotel with work men drilling and banging in the "room" next door, terrible start to the day. Then they tried to charge us twice for the pretty poor breakfast. Not recommended at all, would not put my dog in here.

Room Tip: Go find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stevemorgan124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellac, France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 days, June 13th and 14th 2012. Wonderful position, five minute walk to the harbour with the shops and bars. We did not book, and as there weren't any double rooms left, we were given a family room and they only charged us for a double. The room was large, clean and the bed was comfortable, breakfast was good, staff very friendly. A good hotel for the Price, would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tuilieres87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cap-d'Agde hotels
0.9 mi away
Gil de France
Gil de France
#3 of 29 in Cap-d'Agde
4.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Helios
Hotel Helios
#17 of 29 in Cap-d'Agde
3.5 of 5 stars 90 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Golf Cap D'Agde
Mercure Golf Cap D'Agde
#2 of 29 in Cap-d'Agde
4.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tennis International
Hotel Tennis International
#6 of 29 in Cap-d'Agde
4.5 of 5 stars 62 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Les Grenadines
Hotel Les Grenadines
#1 of 29 in Cap-d'Agde
4.5 of 5 stars 325 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Capao
Hotel Capao
#8 of 29 in Cap-d'Agde
4.0 of 5 stars 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Opal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Opal

Property: Hotel Opal
Address: 2 rue du Tambour, 34300 Cap-d'Agde, Agde, France
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Herault > Agde > Cap-d'Agde
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Cap-d'Agde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Opal 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Opal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Opal France/Herault

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing